We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Clarendon Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Clarendon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of The Clarendon Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Used this hotel a few times before and was great for accommodation and good food but now back after six months. The restaurant was bland tonight..guess I'm eating out tomorrow night. I was booked in for a £70 a night out of season and got a small basic room (No 21) that over looks the back of the hotel with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William Y
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great stay at the Clarendon Hotel, the room was huge, comfortable and very warm. The best thing about my stay was the staff, especially Calvin. He made me feel at home and was very friendly. I had a lovely sea facing room which was surprisingly quiet, despite the traffic passing outside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time out to give us such positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and i hope to welcome you back to The Clarendon very soon. Kind Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's good hotel and I can recommend it. Very good breakfast. Excellent service. Toilet was not so clean as I expected. Tea and coffee in the room. Kettle as well. Everything what is needed to survive is provided. Nice area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damian O
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and service. I have discussed your comments with regards to the toilet with our housekeeping team as we take all feedback seriously. I hope to welcome you back to the Clarendon Hotel very soon. If you wish to make another booking...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had 2 nights at this hotel (wowcher ), it was fantastic lovely room on the front. We ate here both nights and food was fabulous and the staff very friendly. The room was very clean and warm, with tea & coffee making facilities along with biscuits. We had a great breakfast with a good choice. You could even eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 851Mary
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to provide us with feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff, breakfast and food to be of a high standard. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarendon very soon. Kind Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fabulous stay for a Burns Night celebration. What a great night with great company and treated to a wonderful performance from Lockerbie Pipe Band! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and rooms were more than adequate. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cammy L
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to give us a review, i am glad you enjoyed our Burns Night Celebrations and that you found our food and staff to be of a high standard. I will pass the feedback on the rest of the team whom i'm sure will be pleased to hear. I look forward to welcoming you...

Prestohn
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four friends and ourselves spent New Years Eve at the Clarendon and had a wonderful night. The accommodation as always was lovely and the actual dining room and meal were spectacular. We have been staying at this hotel at least 3/4 times a year for quite a few years and have never had any cause to complain with the accommodation,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 139adelef
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Fitchie, Thank you so much for the kind words, i will certainly pass the message on to the rest of the team who will be pleased to hear! I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Clarendon this year. Kind Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't been for a while but decided to go and try it since the new owners had taken over it. Same staff as far as we could see which was nice. A massive improvement I would say in service and the food we all had the steak was fabulous. I don't have anything bad to say it was a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trace201525
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time to give us feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and that our staff met with your expectations. I will certainly pass the message on to the rest of the team whom i'm sure will be thrilled to hear. I hope to welcome you back to The Clarendon very soon!...

Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Firstly, the staff and service are excellent, no complaints there The bar, and the breakfast in the restaurant were also excellent The price I paid, £35 (for b & b) was excellent value The reason for my 3 out of 5 review is that the hotel clearly, in some parts has seen better days and needs attention. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain K
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to give us feedback. I am glad that you found our staff and service wonderful and that we are in a great location on the promenade facing Morecambe Bay. I am sorry to hear about the window in your room and problems with your shower. I have advised maintenance to have a...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Having booked late, we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the recently refurbished twin room was that we were given. Nice evening and good sleep. Lift working well. A pity that the restaurant was closed being Boxing Day but the staff prepared a nice enough buffet. Great to take breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the sea and watch the great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MandCF
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to give us feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that your experience have been a good one. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Clarendon soon. Kind Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager

Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 1, 2017

It's a beautiful old hotel on the seafront. The Sunday lunch is to die for. We all said the same all six of us. Traditional, white linen. Courteous and detailed serviced in an old fashioned dining room. Great value too - with views over the bay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul O
Clarendon H, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and i hope to welcome you back to the Clarendon very soon. Kind Regards Calvin Wang Deputy Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
2,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 11 in Morecambe
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#2 of 11 in Morecambe
263 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarendon Hotel affords spectacular views of Morecambe Bay towards the peaks of the Lake District. The Clarendon's 29 bedrooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard assuring you of a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Why not relax and enjoy a drink in our newly refurbished lounge bar before sampling some of the finest produce Lancashire has on offer in our Waterfront Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 74-76 Marine Road West | Morecambe, Morecambe LA4 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Price Range: $84 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Morecambe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Clarendon Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Penrith, United Kingdom
Carlisle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Accrington, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Clarendon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 11 had great views over the bay”
 of 5 bubbles 851Mary, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Sea view room or suite”
 of 5 bubbles 139adelef, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Try not to be above the bar below the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles r2uzenblot, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“Anyone arriving by car should beware the major roadworks east along Marine Road”
  • A tidy, comfortable room
  • This was the most spacious bathroom on my trip.
  • No wi-fi or functional TV but it's clean
 of 5 bubbles M0stly_Business, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles ayrtoday, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question