We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Swan Inn

Booking.com$172*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Swan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 654: English reviews
Start your review of The White Swan Inn
 Click to rate
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we stayed at the White Swan for 3 nights. we had a superior room with a separate sitting area so we could watch tv from a sofa and not laying n bed. the staff are very friendly and professional. the food in the restaurant is very good. there is also a big secure car park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annaram470
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Should you be wanting a break involving a trip on the famous North Yorkshire Steam Railway this could be the perfect place. Our room was in a newly built annexe of bedrooms which were furnished to a high standard. Also beautiful bath robes were in the wardrobe. The choice of food in the restaurant was excellent. The Aubergine dish being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beechwood24
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location to explore from. Rooms very clean and comfortable. We took out Border Terrier who was made very welcome in the room and bar area. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent both dinner and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatherineCAM64
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Good to receive such great feedback. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our fabulous staff. We look forward to your return. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a little gem in lovely little town of Pickering. Staff very friendly and helpful and food was top notch! Make sure you read the A to Z info in the room it's hilarious. Hope to return in the near future. Jan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such great comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you to The White Swan Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed, together with a friend, recently at The White Swan. We had a room in the converted block to the rear of the building and our friend was accommodated in the main building. We found the accommodation very pleasant and comfortable. The food was flavoursome and well-presented. One criticism may was that the temperature of food and drink was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blores
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us at The White Swan Inn. Thank you for your concern about food temperature which we will certainly take on board. We look forward to your return. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was bought a secret escape for one of the rooms at the White Swan and it was very good, unfortunately we had to take our dog on this occasion but it wasn`t an issue and the "dog friendly" room did not smell like a kennel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal was beautifully cooked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mh787
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such great comments. Happy to hear how pleased you were with your stay. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

preston
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay in Pickering at the White Swan on April 6th. We drank in the bar and ate a lovely meal in the restaurant. Staff were attentive and professional. The only downside was the breakfast, it could have been better but there was plenty on the plate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biancaPreston
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Good to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at The White Swan Inn. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we had our dogs with us our room was in the block of 'chalets' at the back of the property. My husband had stayed in the main house when he was here for business and, to be honest, he had really enjoyed that stay more than this. Our welcome was warm enough but I was disappointed with the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UkCaro
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your stay didn't meet expectations. I can assure you our policy is not to shut dogs in the car and we do pride ourselves on how dog friendly we are. Please do contact us about your concerns and we will do our very best to address each issue. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

Myself and partner stayed at The White Swan after booking through Secret Escapes. It really is a lovely hotel. The staff are amazing, very attentive without been over the top. We had only booked for one night but after having a look round we decided to book for a further night, which was absolutely no problem for the reception staff!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and to read your comments about our food, which we take great pride in. Thank you for choosing The White Swan Inn and thank you for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful room that was cozy and modern. Lovely views onto The Bothy and blosson trees. The staff were friendly and attentive and you couldn't ask for more. The hotel was quiet and relaxing with quirky nooks helping to create a lovely atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annaosha
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such great comments. Very much appreciated. We're very proud of our quirky nooks! We look forward to your return. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
213 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
487 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
13.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Price Range: $192 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Inn staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for the Superior room.”
annaram470, 5 days ago | Read review
“We had a ground floor room and there was a little noise from the upstairs room, people moving around etc....nothing too drastic”
mh787, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't take your pet and stay in main house”
UkCaro, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We had Room 2 which faced the rear car park so quieter than those overlooking the front street.”
Angieel, Apr 9, 2017 | Read review
“hideaway rooms very quiet”
ELLY3535, Mar 6, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$172* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$172
Priceline$172
Expedia.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates