We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Swan

96 reviews
Save
Traveler (8)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Other hotels you may like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good26%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“the pub”(11 reviews)
“beers brewed”(2 reviews)
“beef brisket”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
Other hotels you may like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (96)Write a Review
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
64
24
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
64
24
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbeers brewedbeef brisketcreamy mashreal alehigh standardnice sizefirst classlovely atmospheretwo nightswar weekendadded bonusan evening mealpleasant stayfriendly welcomesurrounding areaone night stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 95 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A lovely rambling old pub at the top end of the town and perfect for visiting Dolby Forest, North York Moors and the railway. Excellent food, great home brewed ales and a wonderful selection of gins! Surprised to find a lively cocktail bar tucked away...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 days ago

As a surprise to my wife I booked in at the Black Swan, Pickering for just one night, on Valentines day. The pub is old with a very inviting open fire in the lounge/bar area, which is a very pleasant place to sit and sample...More

Thank Sheptenelan
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

Having previously enjoyed good food and hospitality at the Black Swan we booked for Christmas Day Dinner 2017 only to be very disappointed. Dinners seated at 1.30pm therefore anticipated 2pm start. At 2.30pm bar manager apologised for and said starters would be out in 10...More

2  Thank Claire S
Response from Breworks, Owner at The Black SwanResponded December 28, 2017

Dear Claire and Alan - I'm so sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your food on Christmas Day but am really disappointed that you have chosen this medium to voice your disappointment, rather than contact us directly, given that you are local. When you...More

Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Amazing food amazing company service brilliant would highly recommend. Food would be equivalent to a city restaurant innovative menu lovely wine good choice of beer and wine staff very friendly and a cozy atmosphere!!

Thank Clarezoesophie
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Really good food excellent atmosphere would definitely recommend. We had a shared starter and steak - service friendly. Good choice of beers and wine. Menu good choices and better than average pub. Nice fire

Thank Gail R
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345619
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$109 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$109 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (8)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Black Swan staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"All recently re vamped to a high standard"
Read review
"All rooms are first floor we stayed at the rear which was very quiet, may be some traffic noise at the front."
Read review
"we didn't stay only eat"
Read review
"Never stayed but if as good as rest would be good"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing