We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sevenford House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sevenford House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 429: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Back again for another faultless visit. Nothing is too much trouble for Ian and Linda- tea and biscuits on arrival, torches for the walk to the popular pub serving a decent meal at the end of the road, wine glasses that magically appear in the room beside the wine we brought with us, fresh milk in the room for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hermit59
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Sheila & Dave, Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review of yet another visit to Sevenford House, it's always a pleasure to have you stay with us and so pleased you enjoy all the facilities here including Bambi!

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kath and I have just returned from staying two nights in this wonderful bed and breakfast in the lovely area of Rosedale Abbey. We were made very welcome by the hosts Ian and Linda. With a superb comfortable room, lovely food and a warm friendly atmosphere - it is hard to beat! We will be back! We cannot recomment it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swight
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Stephen & Kath, Many thanks for your glowing review, Linda and I are so pleased you enjoyed your break. Hope to see you again soon with some Haribo perhaps?

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We picked this B&B because we liked the look of it on the website and certainly weren't disappointed. Together with our friends we travel to the UK every year for at least a week and always book B&B's, so we have seen quite a few. Well, they certainly don't come better than this: a beautiful vicarage in stunning surroundings with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmw20172017
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you for posting a review of your new year break with us up here on the North York Moors. We are so pleased you felt welcome and enjoyed the "nibbles and treats", mind you if we had known you were playing charades we would have joined in!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Recently returned from a wonderful stay at Sevenford House which I call my 'little piece of Heaven.' I visit Yorkshire a few times a year and always stay here. Linda and Ian really pull out the stops for their guests and treat you like a member of their own family. As hosts they are knowledgable, formidable company, and also great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ms m
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us in our "Little piece of Heaven", Linda and I worked out a long time ago that Sevenford House was a great place to live and we really do enjoy sharing it with our guests. Hope to see you back here soon for some more "formidable company"!

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Linda & Ian are delightful hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. They are interested, interesting and personable. The house is amazing, with rooms - lounges, breakfast and bedrooms - that immediately bring on a serenity and relaxed mood. Been visiting occasionally for 20 years. You'll not better this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirelad64
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Paul, I have to say we feel very flattered by your review, thank you for your kind words, we really do appreciate them and hope to see you back here soon.

Leicester
Reviewed November 15, 2016

As always we had an excellent stay and made extremely welcome. The views despite the weather are always stunning.We appreciated the way we were all looked after so well.There are many local pubs and restaurants of good quality where food can be obtained for an evening meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarrowLeicester
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write yet another review of your visits to Sevenford House and so pleased you felt well looked after. Let's hope its a better year for those bees next year too.

Cornwall
Reviewed November 14, 2016

I've stayed at Sevenford House several times and it has always been a delightful experience. Beautiful location, superb decor in keeping with property, lovely people and great food. I travel extensively for business and stay in lot's of different b & b's and hotels etc. Sevenford House is absolutely my favourite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyCornwall
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us and lets hope we remain your favourite for some time yet.

derbyshire
Reviewed November 10, 2016 via mobile

This was our second stay at Sevenford House, and despite an 8 year gap everything that it made it special the first time was still there. The house is beautiful, with a large living room to relax in. The night we stayed the temperature had plummeted so it was great to sit in front of a real open fire. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the_wing_commander
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your second visit to Sevenford House and so pleased that you still found it "special", only one thing though please don't leave it for another eight years until you visit again!

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016

Two of us stayed in a double room for one night in October, and it was wonderful. It is perfectly located for walking and admiring all the beautiful scenery. We were well looked after by Ian and Linda, who were very friendly and more than willing to lend a hand with directions, things to do during the day, and where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L_heap6
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thank you very much for writing a review of your October night away with us and pleased that you thought it was "wonderful" and enjoyed the "delicious" breakfasts. Hope to see you back here soon.

Glan Conwy.UK
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We have just had our 4th visit this year at Sevenford House B & B, in the heart of the North Yorkshire moors. All rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished from the hall and downstairs rooms up to the bedrooms. The hosts, Ian & Linda will give you a genuine welcome and with their great knowledge of the local area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William Trefor O
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Trefor, Many thanks for posting your review, it is always a pleasure to welcome you and Chrissie back to Yorkshire. You certainly picked the right few days to visit as we have snow on the moors this morning, hope enjoy your favourite cheese too.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
627 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
13.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
9.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#4 of 49 in Pickering
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Price Range: $43 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sevenford House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms were excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles swight, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms have stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles BarrowLeicester, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are of excellent standard with stunning views over the moors”
 of 5 bubbles 584DS, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have an amazing view you are spoilt for choice. All rooms are quiet and have all the extras you could wish for.”
 of 5 bubbles 1940sdiva, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Book a room overlooking Rosedale Abbey. House a little difficult to find on hill”
 of 5 bubbles kathiIN, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question