We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dukes Folly Hotel

Hotel website
11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dukes Folly Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Room was cold and on the top floor but when we mentioned it to the helpful staff our radiator was fixed and when we came back in later they day it was piping hot .nly gripe wf have was that it was New Year and no Draft larger or Bitter was on offer said out of order very disappointing we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It's good to hear that your first issue was remedied immediately, it was a particularly cold winter season. Apologies for our two taps being out of service, it is a disappointment but as we were closed during January, it would not have been financially feasible to order the kegs in late December. That being said,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Was apprehensive about our booking after reading some of the reports. What a lovely surprise we had three rooms all were fairly newly refurbished clean and comfortable. The owners have clearly been trying very hard to improve this historic hotel.Beds were very comfortable with fresh linen. Breakfast was excellent well cooked and large portions.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am always glad to hear that our guests are pleasantly surprised, our reviews do tend to polarise on this website. We are continuing with our renovation work throughout 2016, keeping this antique building modernised, we welcome you back any time. Kind Regards, More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Very friendly & helpful staff,easy check in. Room was quite small but very clean and comfortable with great shower. Iron and ironing board provided at request. wifi ok, not brilliant but usable. Good location close to main street but very quiet. Breakast excellent and very good service. Great value for money

Helpful?
Thank rowdyruff
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that everything was to your taste, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

Should be a place of character and an enjoyable place to stay, sadly not the case. It looks alright from the outside. The room was also best from the outside, wish we had stayed outside too. Grubby fits the bill, apparently this was one of the better rooms, would have hated to see the worst ones. Tiny room, holes in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baconbuttie
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. I believe that you stayed with us, but we haven't had any bookings so far in December as we have had limited rooms, due to renovation. Our first arrivals this month came today, the 4th of December. The last booking we have had from Southampton... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

Welcome: I arrived to a very pleasant welcome from the young gentleman at reception (whose name I unfortunately didn't ask for), who was expecting me and managed my check in quickly, with no fuss whatsoever. Information: Information provided was simple but comprehensive. Wifi key given and also placed in room for reference Room:The hotel building was obviously a bit old,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review, it was a delight to have you here. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again. Kind Regards, More 

Bolton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Where do I begin? I do not like to give negative reviews but this hotel makes it difficult to be positive. I need to start with some good points. The entrance to the hotel and the bar area were nice and clearly newly refurbished, the staff are friendly and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately that is it for the positives.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellerBolton
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your review, especially the list of positive points you chose to open with; the staff do work very hard and have been told by many guests that our new renovations are stunning. On the topic of rooms, please note that your party requested to occupy all of our largest and recently renovated rooms; you may for this reason... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Dirty toilet, mouldy shower curtain, cracked sink and dirt behind metal headboard. Would not have stayed if we had not been with a group. In serious need of cleaning and modernising. Although hotel does not normally provide evening meals they did on this occasion but ran out of Rose wine served cold veg. and service was abysmal.

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, In fact, you were in one of our large premium rooms, this features a four poster bed which is made of a metal frame. The headboard itself is not adjacent to a surface, therefore, there could not be dirt behind it. The sink is not cracked, there is however a minor imperfection on the porcelain,... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Our room was all the way up at the top of the house up a few flights of very steep and narrow stairs.... Very old fashioned spacious but shabby and in need of a major revamp (not just a repaint) quite shocked really after seeing the lovely pictures of the rooms on the booking website what a dark scruffy room... More 

Helpful?
Thank debsholidays
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

You’ll be pleased to hear that we are renovating rooms, now in November and again in January, not just repainting them. Room 21 is un-renovated, which is reflected in the traditional décor, spacious, with a four poster bed. We take care to keep this room clean; the sink is not cracked, there is however a minor imperfection on the porcelain.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

We visited Southport for a relaxing weekend, our first time here and we had an enjoyable time and we were very impressed with how the town has managed to keep its heritage, just like how this hotel has kept its name from the past. The hotel is conveniently situated around the corner from Lord Street, with easy access to restaurants,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CD H
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, we would love to see you again. Kind Regards, More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Reception not the easiest to find! Well at the end of a long day!! Room was very average, expensive, cold and rather grubby in places. Blind broken and one chair leg damaged. very disappointing Breakfast basic

Helpful?
Thank cs030cs
Agnes N, Manager at Dukes Folly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Our reception desk is at the entrance to the building, I am sorry to hear that you had trouble finding it. We are in the process of renovating all of our rooms, hopefully we will see you again when it is more to your liking. Kind Regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#15 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay