We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Travelocity$41*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Balmoral Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 397: English reviews
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were travelling down for a funeral but got stuck on the M6 due to roadworks and junctions closed (a quick peek on the net about motorway closures would confirm that we weren't lying) we phoned the owner explaining we would be late arriving and he was having none of it and said we wouldn't be able to stay there,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiss-me-goodnight-xx
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We close at 10pm and that is written on all websites but you did not read it ! You were not late, you were due to arrive at 2 am, that is even another day. How do you expect a business with certain opening and closing times to wait for you 5 hours, that is simply unreasonable. Your explanation is...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay for a night over the bank holiday weekend. Within easy walking distance of the seafront and pier (about 15 minutes). The room was very large, clean and comfortable but the real benefit was the incredibly friendly service. We arrived at 12pm and our room was ready. There was no problem with bringing our bikes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewlySouthern
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are very pleased that you liked our place as much as we do. Kind regards

buckley north wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel. Good value for money. Receptionist very helpful when we arrived have us all the information concerning breakfast. Wi-Fi. And number to use side boot when returning at night. Room we had was good clean. Bed comfy bathroom was clean shower was a good one. Went down for breakfast next morning was met by the lady from reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith b
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, i will definitely tell Marie-Line how much you liked her service. She has been with us 22 years and will appreciate your nice comments. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a cycling holiday over the Easter weekend with a group of friends. The hotel is rather tired looking and the bedrooms are generally in need of a revamp! Bathrooms were old fashioned although functional. The gentleman on the desk was polite and helpful although when we tried to pay (on repeated attempts) the credit card machine would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy4745
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review,we are sorry that you did not liked our breakfast as much as the other customers. Kind regards

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just here for a couple of nights whilst house hunting. Our room was clean, well equipped and with comfortable beds. The bathroom could do with some TLC. The cooked breakfast was simple but very good. Good place for a short stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 812tony
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very nice review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards

Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel is a nicely situated Hotel, it has a bar and restaurant. The bedroom was excellent with a mini bar but the breakfast was awful: very very greasy. It was as though everything had been cooked in a frying pan and then just tipped out on to the plate. The main door remained locked throughout the day, you had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philbaluk
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are sorry that you did not like our breakfast as much as the other customers. Kind regards.

Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

Slept very well, eat well and had a great bath. Value was great, great old building, little bit tired and dated but that was certainly reflected in the price. If you want friendly and reasonable stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0nmaine
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

Very good value for money, rooms were spacious and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. The staff were really kind and friendly and we had a fantastic breakfast; cereals, toast, drinks and cooked breakfast. Walking distance to the town but nice and quiet too. Would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we appreciate your nice comments, Kind regards

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 26, 2017

We stayed one night and, having read the reviews, didn't know what to expect. The staff were friendly and can not be faulted. The room was huge, good facilities and clean. Ok it's a little rough around the edges, but it's an old Victorian building with lots of quirks, and our room was fine. Breakfast was good, lots of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ange f
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your pleasant review, we are looking forward for your next visit. kind regards

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel and our stay was as good as the first time, hotel is really nice great room and really nice breakfast the staff were nice and friendly and made us feel very welcome we will be booking again for next year's trip to Southport would recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are waiting for your next visit, Kind regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: $40 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport
Balmoral Lodge Hotel Southport, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Garden Room”
goblintown, 4 days ago | Read review
“Garden rooms are worth the extra pennies as they are spacious and have access to the garden through large sliding doors.”
wellsgw, 1 week ago | Read review
“Mobility access might be a problem. Better to enquire first.”
444AlanR, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“I don't think there is a good one.”
  • Bedside table, of sorts.
  • Damp.
  • Loose socket.
  • Dirty.
  • Very dirty inside the wardrobe.
  • Rusty fridge and mirror.
alanhT2343JP, Feb 24, 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 8 unless the bed is changed, slight movement and it creaks very very loud.”
866marief, Feb 9, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Travelocity
$41* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$51
Hotwire.com$41
Hotels.com$41
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates