We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 379: English reviews
Start your review of Balmoral Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed one night and, having read the reviews, didn't know what to expect. The staff were friendly and can not be faulted. The room was huge, good facilities and clean. Ok it's a little rough around the edges, but it's an old Victorian building with lots of quirks, and our room was fine. Breakfast was good, lots of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ange f
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel and our stay was as good as the first time, hotel is really nice great room and really nice breakfast the staff were nice and friendly and made us feel very welcome we will be booking again for next year's trip to Southport would recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are waiting for your next visit, Kind regards

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A quaint, unpretentious hotel very close to the centre of Southport and other attractions. Our room was warm, very clean,with comfortable twin beds, large telly, a great shower in a large bathroom and access to a small verandah leading onto a small garden. Free wifi and tea and coffee provided, as well as a mini bar fridge at reasonable prices....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 444AlanR
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are waiting for your new visit in the summer. Kind regards

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's basic, but everything you need for an overnight stay. I'd agree that in some places it could do with a deep clean, but the rooms were generally ok, with little add ons, such as fridge. Bed very comfy, and lovely staff. Breakfast ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flobert78
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely people who made every effort to welcome us. Nice breakfast, with option of English, continental and other niceties. Hotel is good. A bit tired if I'm honest but we did not pay Ritz prices, so who are we to complain when everything else was fine! Oh one thing I would say is that we were a little bit cold,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your kind comments. Kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Balmoral Lodge. Firstly the good points. I only saw 3 members of staff but all were exceptionally friendly and polite. The location is excellent being a short walk to the centre and coast. They have a car park for 7/8 cars. Negatives. There is extensive signs of damp in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan H
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not appreciate your stay! We have seen you so many times during your stay that i wonder why you did not tell us anything about your disappointment as we could have help you out. Kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here recently. Kinda reluctant to review the place as the staff were really nice. But I have never stayed in a place like it, never been worried about dated furniture, bedding etc. Yes it's cheap and you get what you pay for. But that level of dirt is unforgivable in any establishment. I happened to look down during breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrsdecan
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not feel the need to express your disappointment during your lengthy stay with us, to get help from us. Kind regards

Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly. Location was good but honestly this hotel was so dirty. The thick layer of dust had me constantly sneezing and I had to go and buy bedding for the 2nd night and sleep at the bottom of the bed. There were so many issues. 5 days out of date breakfast yoghurts, awful smell, thick dust, stains everywhere,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cassie O
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Even more discoveries than the two first attempts with Booking.com to be refunded. I am sorry but you cannot stay 3 nights (11) 2 nights (9) and expect us to believe you ! We are not perfect and mistake can happened but let face it, you wanted a free long week-end! Who would stay 3 nights! We were at reception...

Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

For what we paid this place was fine! It was a little dated but it was clean and warm! The owners were polite and helpful and there were no hidden extra charges! Free wi-fi! There is a restaurant and bar which we didn't use. Breakfast was adequate! Would use again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy C
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you found the price value for money. Kind regards

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Lovely little hotel, was welcomed with friendly owner who always had a smile on her face, nothing was too much trouble. Clean and comfy rooms and a lovely breakfast. Short walk into town centre. Great value for money, would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreaknight1979
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we hoe to see you again soon, Kind regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#5 of 28 in Southport
613 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: $37 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport
Balmoral Lodge Hotel Southport, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Mobility access might be a problem. Better to enquire first.”
 of 5 bubbles 444AlanR, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“I don't think there is a good one.”
  • Rusty fridge and mirror.
  • Very dirty inside the wardrobe.
  • Dirty.
  • Loose socket.
  • Damp.
  • Bedside table, of sorts.
 of 5 bubbles alanhT2343JP, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“avoid room 8 unless the bed is changed, slight movement and it creaks very very loud.”
 of 5 bubbles 866marief, Feb 9, 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 5, and it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles heidid734, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is huge!”
 of 5 bubbles , Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question