We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,238: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to this hotel for 1 night, paid 75 pound and that was too much. The location is very good but the hotel itself isn't the best. Our room was very dated and basic, the lamp shade was hanging off also the shower door was hanging off. The bed was rock hard and not comfortable the floorboards outside the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wpwp1991
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Please be assured that your comments will be acted on as a priority and our engineering team will be able to fix or replace many of the issues that you have commented on. I agree with you that there are some areas of the hotel that are dated, although these do provide... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Large traditional hotel full of character.Car park very busy but we were directed to additional parking behind the hotel.Reception staff very pleasant and helpful.We had booked 2 twin rooms 104 and 105.Really spacious and comfortable with modern bathrooms. One room even had an adjoining bedroom if required.Comfortable lounge areas with reasonably priced drinks.The breakfast was excellent and piping hot considering... More 

Helpful?
Thank countydownrose81
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for your review on Trip Advisor It is a pleasure to read reviews where people really have had great experiences in the Royal Clifton. Thank you for your kind words regarding so many areas of the hotel and I will be sure to pass them on. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Clifton in... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my boyfriend booked here as we enjoy going Southport and decided this time to stay over to make the most of it. Sadly we picked the wrong hotel to stay at. After checking the website and reading a few reviews we thought ok we can give this a go. Sadly the bad reviews were on point and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristina F
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor Although it is disappointing to read your review. I would like to thank you for your honesty and I will ensure your comments are acted on. I was surprised to read some aspects of your review as these are not commensurate without usual standards in the hotel, in particular the comments relating... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very pleasant stay. The room was spacious, beds comfy. Food and drinks available in the lounge. Didn't eat in the restaurant but the Conservatory bar overlooking the promenade served lovely food at reasonable prices. This was my second visit and would go again. The only complaint, the toilet seat in the en suite didn't fit properly and kept sliding sideways!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey B
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure our engineering team take a look at the toilet seat you mentioned. I hope I see you again very soon here at the Royal Clifton. Kind Regards Lee Crawford More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were actually staying at the Travelodge but we bought Groupon vouchers for breakfast here. Got to say the food was fantastic, the area is rather small and can be cramped but the staff work very hard and keep it very clean. Wide choice from fresh fruits, cereals to a full English - fab value One criticism would be the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank falcon37
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor I am so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast experience in our Pavilion Restaurant. Thank you for your feedback and please be assured that further training will be undertaken to further develop our guest service here in the hotel. Kind Regards Lee Crawford Director of Operations More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Myself and my 2 children aged 9 & 5 years old love to visit Southport every year and love to stay at the Best Western Royal Clifton hotel and always pay to stay in a Promenade family room which the rooms we have always been given are great as there is a separate room for the kids with there own... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. I was of course delighted to hear that you had such a great here at the Royal Clifton. I think that our central location near to Southport's tourist attractions really helps families get the most out of what Southport has to offer. Thank you for your comments with regards to breakfast opening... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked to stay with our 5 year old granddaughter for Two nights. Great price £ 238 for the three of us half board. The lounge and bar area realy nice. Did not find the bar prices over expensive. Polite friendly front of house reception staff. As for our accommodation very large room and bathroom. Room was bright and clean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank waynehaddrell
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read such great comments about our hotel and staff. Thank you for all of your feedback and I hope I can welcome you back to the Royal Clifton very soon. Please be assured that your feedback will be passed on to all of the hotel team. Kind... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night . Rooms comfy . Nice bars , great breakfast and lovely swimming pool with Steam, Sauna and Jacuzzi . Great value for money in a prime location . I will definitely be staying again . Staff were really pleasant and helpful and went out of their way to help

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I really enjoy reading reviews of people that have had a great time in our character filled Victorian Hotel. Here at the Royal Clifton we pride ourselves on creating great experiences for our guests and I am very pleased you had a great experience with us. I do hope I can welcome... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

It is possible to sit in the gracious surroundings of the Clifton's Palm Court style lounge dating back to its Victoria heyday and eat or drink or both - hopefully the (recently) new owners will cherish the Royal Clifton's heritage and restore n preserve with TLC

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our Hotel's heritage and I do hope that you return to see how we are doing in the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Lee Crawford Director of Operations More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

When I booked I said I was disabled and would need a ground floor room. When I checked in, with my disability scooter, they had given me a second floor room and the lifts were too small to take mobility aids. They were not very helpful to start with until someone decided it was a bit silly. They then swapped... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
Lee C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor Thank you for your comments and please be assured that your comments will be considered in order to help us improve in the future. Please accept my apologies for your initial experience and I am very pleased that we did relocate you to a more suitable room for the duration of your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

170 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#2 of 27 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 2,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#3 of 27 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#5 of 27 in Southport
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales-Southport
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 27 in Southport
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR8 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: $77 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Southport
Southport Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Clifton Hotel Southport, England
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay