We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Dorchester Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dorchester Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 194: English reviews
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent a very enjoyable long weekend here Julienne was the perfect host from the minute we arrived Untill the minute we departed The room was very comfortable and clean with a added bonus of a mini bar Will definitely return

Helpful?
Thank Cove_112
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We check-in on 2/7 and check out on 5/7/16. Had a good comfortable spacious superior room and a Premier Room with 2 to a room for the 4 of us. All the basic necessities were there for us. Breakfast was good with choices to be ordered the nite before. Hosts Julienne & Peter Grove were good hosts too. Location convenient... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had stayed here before under the previous management, and other family members had visited more recently and reported that it remained an excellent choice. This is as good a guesthouse as you will find in any seaside town in the UK. The room was a good size, both functional and pleasantly furnished without being ostentatious. Breakfast was always what... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my partner stayed here midweek for a friends wedding which was taking place nearby. We paid a very reasonable rate for the premier king room and stayed for two nights. Although we were late to check in due to motorway traffic, I phoned ahead and the landlady was very accomodating. The room was spacious, well equipped and nicely... More 

Helpful?
Thank britishbobby23
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed here and had an absolutely lovely time. I suffer from chronic asthma together with several allergies which have proved to be a problem when staying in hotels in the past. However The Dorchester Guest House proved to be very much the exception and Julienne and Peter were marvellous with their support, particularly with regard to non bio... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pjbw
Leicester
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this place in June for a family wedding in September and unfortunately had to cancel 2 days later due to a change of venue. Although my cancellation was 12 weeks before the arrival date I found that they took £70 cancellation charge from my account with the card i used to secure the booking! Be very careful when... More 

Helpful?
Thank JimJam101
Dorchester_2011, Owner at Dorchester Guest House, responded to this review

Just a short response to this review. Firstly it is a shame your family did not advise you of the change of wedding venue until 2 days after you had booked. On the booking site where you made your booking it clearly states that, ' if cancelled 50% of your booking will be charged'. This was the £70 that was... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean tidy and lovely food. Would highly recommend a stay. We have stayed twice and have not been disappointed at all. The landlady is very helpful and friendly. Situated within walking distance of the town and seafront.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan3192
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival we were very impressed with the traditional looking Dorchester Guest House, and were greeted by Julienne with a very big smile and warm welcome. Our room was spotlessly clean with a small sofa, kettle, complementary tea and coffee, and a fridge with soft/alcoholic drinks you could purchase. There was a good selection of items for breakfast and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank S0n1a_13
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband has mobility issues but Peter was there as soon as we arrived to help with our luggage. This B&B has everything you need for a perfect stay in Beautiful Devon. With Julienne being a mine of information about the surrounding area. A wonderful restful weekend.

Helpful?
Thank barbara p
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Just got back from a long weekend here - what a great find! Julienne & Peter are welcoming & helpful without being the slightest bit intrusive. Our room was spotless, modern and bright with flatscreen tv and a mini fridge. The ensuite looked new, with a great shower and plentiful hot water. Our breakfast was excellent, as was the advice... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonDominique
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Collingdale
The Collingdale
#2 of 55 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#4 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dorchester is a tastefully restored Guest House. We have been accredited with a 4 Star Silver Award and a Breakfast Award. We are a short walk from the historic Tunnels Beaches and seafront. We offer Free Parking and Free Wi-Fi throughout.. Ilfracombe's Town Centre, pretty seafront and harbour and historic Tunnels Beaches are a short walk away. The elegant, stylishly furnished rooms at The Dorchester feature Flat Screen TV, DVD Player, hairdryer, generous hospitality tray and a small fridge stocked daily with fresh milk and a selection of wines, beers and soft drinks. Guests may also make use of free W-Fi and our new Guest Lounge.Breakfasts are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce, and are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Recently achieved a Breakfast Award from Visit Britain. Fully licensed, there is a range of wines , beers and spirits available.The beautiful Exmoor National Park is 15 minutes drive away, whilst Ilfracombe Golf Club is just 5 minute drive. The pretty harbour, Blue Flag Tunnels Beaches, restaurants and shops are within walking distance. A bus stop directly outside the guest house can take guests to Barnstaple, Bideford and surrounding areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorchester Guest House

Address: 59 St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: $75 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorchester Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dorchester Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Guest House Hotel Ilfracombe
Dorchester Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay