We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (27)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (8)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#11 of 33 Specialty lodging in Ilfracombe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Backpackers is a contemporary hostel situated close to Ilfracombe's picturesque fishing harbour. Nestled in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Ilfracombe has many shops, galleries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and is filled with curious coastal charm. The harbour is home to Damien Hirst's 20m statue Verity and trips to Lundy Island, coastal cruises, sea-life safaris and diving are available from the quay. Local attractions include Ilfracombe Aquarium, and the award winning Tunnels Beaches. Surfers' favourites Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton are a short drive away. Adventure swimming, sea-kayaking, quad biking and horse riding are also available. Ilfracombe is the start of the NCN route 27 Coast to Coast ride and the South West Coast Path provides wonderful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Facilities include a lounge, free Internet/WiFi, self-catering kitchen, surfboard/bike storage and a free car park. Weekly discounts and large group whole hostel bookings are available on request.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
125Reviews
0Q+A
29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 78
  • 26
  • 14
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Having had a problem with a hostel earlier in my trip, I approached this one with trepidation, but I needn't have worried. Lydia, the manager, was very welcoming. There was a key code for the front door & she gave it me over the phone, while I was sheltering from torrential rain, before the reception was officially open. My private room was on the top floor; again with a separate key code for that. The kitchen & bathrooms (all clean) were for the exclusive use of the 3 rooms on that floor. Being the only occupant there, I had them to myself. One of the showers didn't work (or I couldn't make it work), so I just used the other. The kitchen was fitted out for what it advertised - not self-catering, but anything could be heated up. There was a microwave, cooker, kettle, toaster (I think - I never used it). The room was basic, but clean. There was a bed & bedding, bedside table & light, chest of drawers & TV. The skylight blind blocked out most of the light & I had a very peaceful night. My luggage had been delivered earlier that day by Luggage Transfers & one of the staff (thanks, Paul!) even hauled my heavy bag up the stairs, despite me saying that I would do it. There was a communal area on the ground floor, with more facilities & other friendly guests. This is how a hostel should be run. Great value, highly recommended.
Read more
Response from Ocean B, Owner at Ocean Backpackers
Responded 1 week ago
Hi There! Thank you for your lovely review! Fabulous to hear that Ocean Backpackers has restored your faith in hostels and that you would highly recommend us too! Sorry to hear that you had problems with one shower-(it does work, just a little temperamental sometimes- we will take a look at it again asap!!) We hope you enjoyed your walk along the spectacular South West Coast Path and we are so pleased that you could found us a welcome stopover on a very rainy day!! All the best!
Read more
Female 71 years young, retired Youth and Community worker I have been using YHA since I was 12 years old. This was the first independent hostel I have used; wasn't disappointed!!! Single room, small satellite tv in room, full kitchen facilitates including excellent fridge- 3 piece shower room, and large 4 piece bathroom (shower over bath.) one double room 2 family rooms (4) on that floor. Main (very large) Kitchen, dinning room and lounge on ground with large flat screen. Great staff my room £22.50p a night. No problems with shared facilitates on my floor as most of us did different things at different time of day. Clean and comfortable, if you haven't hosteled before and don't like sharing, book into a hotel. Fabulous place for people with reasonable expectations, real value for money!!! Easy access to North Devon even if like me you are using public transport. Main Railway Station Barnstaple, Stagecoach runs right across North Deven one service runs along one road from Ilfracombe to Westwood Ho and Appledore and everywhere in-between. Plenty of other services to places of interest and other beeches such as Woolacombe. Plenty of shops and wide variety of places to eat in Ilfracombe. Elizabeth Cumbria
Read more
Response from Ocean B, Owner at Ocean Backpackers
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Elizabeth, Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your first stay in an Independent Youth Hostel and that you were not disappointed with your single room and the all facilities that we offer! Great to hear that transport links around us are good for those who do not have a car and that you were able to enjoy getting out and about during your stay to experience the curious coastal charm of Ilfracombe and beyond! We hope to welcome you again to Ocean Backpackers sometime soon! All the best!
Read more
+1
I was glad to have come across this place and was not sure what to expect, but I found it to be very welcoming. The top floor single room was perfect for me which had its own shared bathroom facilities and kitchen on the same floor. The rooms on the floors below had their own shared bathroom facilities and the use of the downstairs kitchen. Almost straight away I was chatting to others who were staying there, then later on we all went out together and it felt like I had known them a lot longer than just a few hours. In a way it was like being at home with the freedom of the lounge, kitchen and other communal areas. I was impressed by everything available to guests which makes it so easy and you can come and go as you please or just stop in and watch TV and make your own entertainment. I could have easily stopped there for a week or so. Knowing that the whole of Ilfracombe is on the doorstep is good to know. You don't have far to go and you won't have far to return, then you can refresh and relax in time for more adventures the following day. :D Thank you to manager, Lydia for helping to make my stay memorable and the Ocean Backpackers team for providing this hostel in Ilfracombe for all to enjoy :)
Read more
Response from Ocean B, Owner at Ocean Backpackers
Responded May 20, 2019
Hi There! Thank you so much for your awesome review! Great to hear that you found Ocean Backpackers to be very welcoming and the single room to be perfect for your stay! Sounds like you had a fab time with Lydia, our Manager, and all the other guests that help to create a happy hostel vibe! Hopefully you can return for a longer stay again soon :-) All the best!
Read more
A great welcome meant that I spent 4 nights here rather than 1 - a shortened road trip! Lydia who I think is the hostel manager was so friendly that I immediately felt at home (thank you Lydia). A super clean hostel, with a comfy bed, great communal areas and a delightful courtyard. One night a few of us went down to watch the sunset from the beach (recommend you do this) - 3 mins walk. Ocean backpackers is perfectly-located for the South West Coastal path as well. It also has a great church next door - modern service and welcoming people. My room was a private double on the top floor - gorgeous but dorms looked good too.Thanks also to Phil (a regular guest) for roast veg - lush! To conclude please don't hesitate book!
Read more
Response from Ocean B, Owner at Ocean Backpackers
Responded May 20, 2019
Hi There! Thank you for your super review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you chose to extend it and got to enjoy hostel life for a few days!! We agree-the backpackers is a great location for anyone wanting to walk the stunning South West Coast Path and there is nothing better than watching one of the beautiful sunsets from the nearby beach!! Will pass your thanks on to Lydia, our Manager, for her warm and friendly welcome and to Phil for the lush roast veg! We hope to see you again soon! ;-) All the best!
Read more
I recommend 'Ocean Backpackers' because of its location, exceptionally professional and helpful staff and great facilities. It is 2 minutes away from the bus stop and 5 minutes away from the town centre. Great place to stay!
Read more
Response from Ocean B, Owner at Ocean Backpackers
Responded May 16, 2019
Hi There! Thank you for your fabulous review! We totally agree!! Our location close to the stunning Ilfracombe Harbour is awesome -especially with the town centre a close walk and the bus stop nearby too! So pleased you found our staff friendly and our facilities spot on! We hope to welcome you to Ocean Backpackers again soon! All the best!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$25 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIlfracombe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing