We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Backpackers

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Pleasently suprised on arrival - lovely communal area with computer, tv, music centre and a well equipped kitchen. Bedroom very nice, quiet and comfortable if a little faded. Unfortunately there was no management on site overnight and the fellow hostellers decided at 1:30 in the morning to party on down in the living room below our room. I asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank DevonTravellers
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We were very sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay at Ocean Backpackers-due to one group of guests who were obviously very disrespectful to you and all the other guests staying at the Hostel. We do not condone this type of behaviour at all and we are sorry that this... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Rob met us on arrivial and was a great help giving us tips on places to go etc . the rooms were spotless and the views too. the property has a Kitchen on all floors plus a tv room we couldn't ask for more... parking was easy as we are right near the harbour also a pay and display car... More 

Helpful?
Thank 145David145
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi David. Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at Ocean Backpackers and that you would recommend us to all!! Hope to see you again soon! More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

I did not expect anything more than basic accommodation from a backpackers hostel and have stayed in plenty of basic but clean and comfortable places in my time that I would happily return to - Ocean Backpackers is not one of them. This converted town house is in a very good location close to the quay, but then there are... More 

Helpful?
Thank TashaONeill
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry if you did not enjoy your stay at Ocean Backpackers. Stripping beds after your stay and bringing your own towels is quite the "norm" for the majority of Hostels and I am sorry that our furniture was not to your particular taste! Most guests, as you can see from previous reviews,... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

Spent a Night at Ocean Backpackers recently ,I were impressed on my first visit...Very easy access late evening ,by means of door punch codes etc.....On arrival I received a friendly welcome ,and very good advice about places to decent Fish & Chips Pubs etc . Room 9 were very spacious a comfortable,clean double bed ,a cozy nights sleep.En-Suiet Shower/Loo clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter m
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you very much for your great review. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Lundy Island!! More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

It was a very stay in Illfracombe and at Ocean Backpackers we booked the double room which was on the top floor bit of a walk when you've had a skin full. It had everything a hostel does to Avondale your needs and to rustle up a meal. I love the idea of staying in hostels and meeting new people... More 

Helpful?
Thank BubblesnJJ
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We were really sorry to read that you did not have a great stay at Ocean Backpackers due to the disappointing customer service skills of our staff member. As the owners, we will make it a top priority to make sure that our staff are as friendly and welcoming to all our guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

Location was good. However... The guy running it was not overly friendly and very unhelpful. Our room didn't actually lock and first of all he acted like we were stupid and couldn't work the lock, until I made him have a look. Then he was quite rude, wouldn't move us to another room and made no effort to fix the... More 

Helpful?
Thank gem2323
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are very sorry to see you were unhappy with your stay. My manager did inform me about the lock and I left work early the next morning to come and fix it so by 11.30am it was done. Very sorry about the glass and the apparent lack of cleanliness in the bathroom I shall... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016

Having grown up visiting Ilfracombe, I was well aware of Ocean Backpackers as it has such a great location by the harbour. However, since I used to stay with family, I had never visited before. This all changed after a stressful time at work left me needing an escape. Newly single, I was looking for somewhere I knew would feel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much Rebecca for such a great review! We are so pleased that you had a great time at Ocean Backpackers and that we were just the "tonic" you were looking for! Chris and I have both done a lot of backpacking in our time-and with Ocean Backpackers-we wanted to create a relaxing, homely, clean and friendly hostel... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Could of stayed longer cheap and cheerful! Much nicer than some hotels I've stayed in! Staff were kind and let us use all of the rooms for filming (as we were making a film). Very praticial and easy to get too!

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

HI Beth, Thank you very much for your review! So pleased you really enjoyed your stay at Ocean Backpackers and it was a pleasure to have you and the rest of South Devon College to stay again! We are really looking forward to seeing the film when it's finished! More 

Chilcompton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We booked a last minute get away on the day & travelled down to the backpackers with our 1 yr old & 1 week old baby...family room was perfect for us with its bunk beds & double bed (even though we all ended up squeezing into the double by the early hours!), spotlessly clean & even had a little tv... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review!! Great to hear that you found Ocean Backpackers suitable for all the family and that you really enjoyed your stay!!! We look forward to welcoming you all again soon! More 

Windsor
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Stayed one night, room was clean, beds a bit rough, needs better mattress and better bunk beds. Bathroom was ok. Had a kitchen on our floor, place was quiet, we sleep well so no massive issues with staying here, free bike storage was a bonus and right in town.

Helpful?
Thank PaulFogg
ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you found the beds to be a bit uncomfortable. Since your stay-we have now replaced all our mattresses on every dorm bed and have replaced every double mattress barr two which are being replaced in the next couple of weeks. We hope you can come and stay again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#18 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ocean Backpackers is a contemporary hostel situated close to Ilfracombe's picturesque fishing harbour. Nestled in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Ilfracombe has many shops, galleries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and is filled with curious coastal charm. The harbour is home to Damien Hirst's 20m statue Verity and trips to Lundy Island, coastal cruises, sea-life safaris and diving are available from the quay. Local attractions include Ilfracombe Aquarium, and the award winning Tunnels Beaches. Surfers' favourites Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton are a short drive away. Adventure swimming, sea-kayaking, quad biking and horse riding are also available. Ilfracombe is the start of the NCN route 27 Coast to Coast ride and the South West Coast Path provides wonderful coastal walks with stunning scenery. Facilities include a lounge, free Internet/WiFi, self-catering kitchen, surfboard/bike storage and a free car park. Weekly discounts and large group whole hostel bookings are available on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Backpackers

Address: 29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: $41 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay