We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Imperial Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Stayed her with my wife for 4 nights half board. Food was very good and the staff were excellent. Any problems were sorted almost immediately. They say you get what you pay for, this place bent over backwards to make your stay as comfortably as possible, as I said, a 3 start hotel with 5 star staff :)

Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Firstly thank you to our wonderful driver up and beyond . Thank you to the lovely Kim meeting us at The Royal Hotel Woolacombe very approachable nothing too much trouble . Making our weekend very enjoyablev

Helpful?
Thank 1954O8611TB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Had a most awful experience at this hotel. All rooms were bitterly cold and miserable. Tuesday afternoon and evening and Wednesday morning there was no hot water anywhere. The conditions were so poor that we opted to come home to Reading by taxi on Wednesday morning, luckily the price of taxi at £175. was very good. I would not recommend... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mary b
Leisureplex, Customer Care Team at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary B, I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay at the hotel. I was surprised to hear that you found the room to be very cold. You do not mention in your review whether you spoke with the reception staff about this matter. Had they been aware that you were cold,... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

We arrived just after the Norovirus outbreak and only found out because the Gazette had a front page article on it. The hotel had been closed for a couple of days but the manager said that it had nothing to do with the outbreak. After a couple of days my husband was slightly unwell and the manager immediately put us... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank janelledarwen
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

Just come back from a week with Alfa Holidays. You need to be able to walk if you visit here as there are hills all around except for getting to the harbour which is only 5 mins walk away. They have mobility scooters for hire, but frankly if you can't walk without, don't come. Even the trips out needed everyone... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 304irene
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

I stayed with my husband in Imperial hotel first time and we will definitely be back. Hotel is located in beautiful area within few minutes walk from small harbour. We didn't get front room but I can imagine the views are stunning. Our room was very clean and the only issue was that it was a bit too hot even... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeSB
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

I am currently staying at The Imperial Hotel and there is an outbreak of the norovirus in the hotel and other areas of Devon. There are currently well over 15 people ill. You will not be warned about this before you visit so I am informing everyone to give you the choice as to whether you visit or not. Thank... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank deblee123
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

Stopped at this hotel at Easter ,Friday till Monday.. travelled with alfa travel.. We stopped in room 309 on the 3rd floor.. room was clean and tidy the bathroom was very small could hardly move in there, we also and a rubbish view of someones very messy backyard. The rest of the hotel was clean and tidy.. Breakfast and lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank joanne a
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

First room, no heating we went in March 2016 and the window would not close, offered a oil radiator which did not arrive, it was a very cold night, after one night in this room we were moved the following morning after havening another word at the reception. This room floor boards really bad near the door, light above my... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

Hotel staff were so welcoming and friendly. our room was at the side of the hotel and we had a great view of the sea. Meals were served quickly and efficiently . Entertainment was every night with a variety of acts. And don't forget the big money bingo. We have enjoyed this tour so much we have already booked a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zafira63
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imperial Hotel - Ilfracombe [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Situated in one of the best positions in Ilfracombe, overlooking Wildersmouth beach, and the splendid Landmark Theatre and Conference Centre, close to the High Street and only a short almost level walk from the harbour. 104 rooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, internal phone, hair dryer and TV. There is a large restaurant, bar, comfortable lounge and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. Lift to all floors (stairs to some rooms on split level floors). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: $67 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay