We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 267: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice stay, can't wait to see what it looks like when it's been done! Had a variety of breakfast foods eg fruit,cereals and English breakfast! Loads to drink too apple juice, water, orange juice,coffee and tea. Very close to everything in the town, it's about a 10 minute walk to the beach! Would love to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Panda1234567890
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

We would love to have you back! Thank you for the review and new rooms from December 2016 - Michael R More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Carlton Hotel is situated near the town centre of Ilfracombe which is very convenient if you're exploring the town. Also, the staff are very friendly and are willing to make your stay as great as possible. However, there is no AC available in any of the rooms which is terrible at night because, if you open the window you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Avneet D
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Avneet, I am glad the team looked after you so well. We currently have 22 rooms with electric saniflow toilets which allowed previous owners to install ensuite facilities in what was formerly two rather grand Victorian houses. (Not an uncommon solution). These will be removed as we work through the building and be replaced with... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Larger room booked which was clean EXCEPT for layers and layers of dust on the light bulbs on both bedside table lamps. Obviously overlooked and not been dusted for years. Also, there were cobwebs on the ground floor stairwell near ceiling. Car parking was a nightmare, coming home tired after trips, finding all spaces taken (even one by a member... More 

Helpful?
Thank Giga333
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Been kinda expecting this review as you seemed unhappy from the moment of arrival and throughout the rest of your stay even though on several occasions when I personally asked you was everything OK you said it was.... Personally if it had been so terrible I would have checked out but clearly an option you chose not to exercise, ergo... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel, very clean with friendly and helpful staff, lovely breakfast. Great location within ten minutes walk of the harbour and town. Would recommend staying here if you’re looking for a straightforward, easy and relaxing stay. Great little gym and a lovely little library, however both are quite well hidden so don’t forget to ask about them at reception.

Helpful?
Thank lodge89
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and recommendation, we are pleased you 'found' and approve of our new areas - Michael R More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely time here even if it was for just one night, me and my partner and pup stayed as they allow pets and the staff just couldn't do enough for us even gave us a bed for the pup and bowls. Very warm welcome and had. Dry nice modern furnishings,we also really enjoyed breakfast on the morning, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Sophie, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and the puppy again soon - Michael R More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently attended a function at the Carlton. The newly refurbished areas are of excellent quality and really pleasing. There is plenty of room for all type of functions on the first floor and basement, and the food was excellent. Great location and would highly recommend for visitors to Ilfracombe and for events and functions.

Helpful?
Thank 244Clare
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Clare for the Private Event thumbs up, we are delighted you enjoyed the food, surroundings and service and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon - Michael R More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a couple of nights to catch up with family. Got off to a bad start with room 204, one of the two pod rooms, certainly an unexpected experience, not for the faint hearted lol. We moved to a superior double the following day and it was so appreciated that Michael and his staff organised the move. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank David B
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Dave and Lesley for your very generous review following a dodgy start. So pleased we got there in the end and look forward to welcoming you back early 2017 when we will have 7 new rooms and the 2 pod rooms will be under demolition/refurbishment! - Michael R More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hosts Michael and Elliott are still only in the first year of transforming this traditional seaside hotel into a leading destination in North Devon. In what is already a beautiful resort but one that has seen better days in the golden age of UK holidays, they are transforming this hotel one floor at a time. Come now and you'll get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isabel W
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Isabel, resurrection is proving to be painfully slow but certainly worthwhile when we get high praise such as yours. Hurry back - Michael R More 

GLASGOW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights in this hotel as we were down from Glasgow for a funeral. I have to admit I was a little concerned about some of the reviews I had read about the rooms which we found to be very comfortable and absolutely spotless. Anyone can see that the owners are making a huge effort to renovate... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizf7
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Liz for such an honest appraisal of where the property currently is and thank you also for the praise in anticipation of what is to come. Chef will be delighted with the breakfast comments and the Housekeeper does keep an old product very clean. We hope to welcome you again very soon - Michael R More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall we were disappointed with this fairly old hotel. Here are the pros and cons: Pros: Cleanliness of hotel Helpfulness and friendliness of staff Breakfast Very comfortable bed Cons: Very limited parking Noise during the night (we had NO sleep-seagulls could be heard all night as no double glazing, as well as drunks stumbling down the road)! Electric toilets that... More 

Helpful?
Thank fazersg
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and I am saddened by your disappointment. If you have read previous reviews you will have understood the investment plans which include double glazing commencing this autumn. Expecting a double room in Ilfracombe in the middle of summer for £70.00 would be a tall order, particularly for this property. Perhaps you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: $100 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay