We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Score Valley Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Score Valley Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Jennie and Roger are wonderful hosts making you feel very welcome in their character packed with history house. Very quiet and peaceful sorroundings! I'd definitely recommend their lovely hotel to however seek for pleasant and relaxing visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jolau144
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

We discovered this hotel a few years ago and always try to get booked in when visiting North Devon. We particularly like its location, not being slap in the middle of Ilfracombe it is easy to get to both Ilfracombe and Woolacombe and anywhere else really without the traffic chaos of being down in the town. The wifi at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snugbug83
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind feedback and observations. It is always a pleasure for us to welcome you both back.

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2016

we booked direct with the hotel at £94 per night for 4 nights for room 8, the room was large with 2 reclining chairs tv and fridge, the bathroom also large and with a bath was super . We noted on our first night that there was only 1 biscuit for 2 of us there was no soap provided in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this review

It was very painful to read this as clearly some errors were made for which we are extremely sorry. We do not employ any staff and try to engender a friendly, approachable atmosphere here so we are particularly saddened to find that after a four day stay chatting happily each day including a cheery farewell in the carpark you should...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 29, 2016

I used Ilfracombe as a base for walking parts of the coastal path, and I stayed here for a fortnight in Room 1, the single en-suite. Spotless, roomy, comfortable, well-appointed, quiet. Very friendly, helpful owners, excellent breakfasts, easy parking and the sound of bird song. It is a lovely old building with interesting gardens full of wildlife, and the 45...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pip S
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very generous feedback. I am sure you cannot imagine how much this means to us. This is truly what makes doing this a pleasure.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately after looking forward to coming here for nearly 8 months it was a rather large let down. Shabby damp extremely dated very basic hotel regardless of age. Stained bedding and stained chairs in room. So gutted i cant even be bothered to comment any further. Grim......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark E
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this review

Dear Mark, You appear you have gone to great lengths to photograph a phenomenon most of us refer to as 'condensation' not 'damp' and to crawl around the floor to picture marks on a valance sheet in a room being occupied by an aged Staffy. This does seem rather excessive for a two night stay booked in January, we are...

Swindon
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Place a bit dated but had a friendly feel to it. No complaints about the breakfasts, kept us going for the day. A bit disappointed with Room 3 as the beds creaked and squeaked throughout the night as you turned over, waking us up. At least we got to see plenty of the Olympics through the night. The bathroom attached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure you meet you both. We have done our best to describe and photograph Room 3 on all the booking sites so there are no surprises. The bathroom is indeed a short distance across the landing and unfortunately due to the layout of the bathroom it is not possible...

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 28, 2016

room spacious,spotlessly clean throughout,very hospitable hosts,nothing too much trouble and breakfast something to die for,nothing negative to say.we will be back again next year.central base for travelling around the area

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rozlyndavies
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Adult daughter and my husband and I stayed for 3 nights, used hotel as a base to visit North Devon. Very convenient for our needs. Stayed in room 1 single and 6 double. Room were a good size not to crowded. Breakfast was good with good timing. Never saw Jenny but Roger was entertaining. Would visit again if ever that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbc1949
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time in your busy programme to think of us and for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet the three of you. Please be assured that Jenny does not intentionally hide from guests and will 'politely' inform anybody that asks that she is the one who does all the cooking, cleaning...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Located at the bottom of a valley surrounded by trees, this was our perfect get away from it all destination. Close enough to the sea and far enough away from the hustle and bustle of everyday Devon. Yes the wifi is poor and phone reception is not good but that's what makes it perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbarbe_118056
Roger W, Owner at Score Valley Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very generous review. Sadly we doubt that mobile phone reception in North Devon will ever improve much but we are delighted to report that we are now able to provide a good level of wifi throughout the building.

Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic stay for me and my partner we had no issues on arrival and were greeted as if we were family. Breakfast every morning with a variety to choose from, had no issues for parking or needing anything as beds and room cleaned daily with plenty of parking space. Well done guys for making our visit what we wanted....peaceful! Sarah...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarahsink
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.7 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wentworth House
Wentworth House
#30 of 55 in Ilfracombe
56 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Collingdale
The Collingdale
#3 of 55 in Ilfracombe
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laston House
Laston House
#14 of 55 in Ilfracombe
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Harbour Lights Coastal Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Score Valley Country House is a licensed guest house set in its own pleasant grounds in a peaceful secluded valley on the edge of Ilfracombe, making it also an ideal base for enjoying the vast sandy beaches of Woolacombe and the Golden Coast or exploring the wonders of Exmoor. A husband and wife team we take pride in the friendly, relaxed atmosphere of our home offering a good nights sleep, a hearty breakfast and are always happy to offer ideas and advice to ensure you get the most from your visit to this beautiful area. We have plenty of free parking. Due to the age of the property and the running streams we suggest that you consider this before bringing very young children. We are pleased to take small/medium dogs in three of our rooms on request. Please check availability of these before booking. Our double rooms are equipped with zip and link beds making us completely flexible to accept single sex groups or couples for walking, golfing or shooting holidays etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Score Valley Country House

Address: St Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: $77 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Score Valley Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Score Valley Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Score Valley Country House Ilfracombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Score Valley Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't have Room 3 unless you enjoy going for a walk in the night.”
 of 5 bubbles 800janep, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a twin room which was number 4 which was fabulous. Also available as a double room.”
 of 5 bubbles PollyMochi, Sep 28, 2015 | Read review
“First floor room 8 was large with en suite and bonus internet!”
 of 5 bubbles Dazzabu123, Sep 6, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet with similar views”
 of 5 bubbles 64junew, Aug 16, 2015 | Read review
“No phone signal here (I'm on Virgin) and internet very spasmodic - best in the bar area”
 of 5 bubbles Shrimpie07604, Aug 3, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay