We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Duke of Gordon Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Duke of Gordon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 364: English reviews
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

clean pleasant rooms,easy booking,good prices Food average better in the bar,served by very efficient young men. Good breakfast,on the plate in two minutes Easy car parking Id recommend for overnight travellers

Helpful?
Thank Bob H
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I trust you had a safe and pleasant onward journey. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel hides in the small town of Kingussie, and stands in beautiful grounds, among stunning scenery. Inside it appears slightly careworn but is spotlessly clean. The rooms were a reasonable size and the beds are comfortable. Although the breakfast is buffet style you could eat as much as you liked, with plenty of choice, and the food was of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael Y
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. we are sorry that you had to cut short your visit to the Highlands and I hope everything turned out ok for you at home. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the assistance given by the team here. We do our best to help our guests... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here from the 16th to the 20th August, travelling with Cairngorm Travel. I loved this hotel and the facilities and we were lucky that it was hot whilst we were here. I had a single room that was fine for my needs. Yes it was small, but I was on my own so I didn't need a big... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karen19661993
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Team Duke More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a weekend in the Duke of Gordon for the Macpherson Gathering, which is held here every year. I hadn't been for 10 years and found the hotel much as it was when we last visited. Service was good. Shame that the downstairs space isn't being used as we had some good fun down there previously!!

Helpful?
Thank James M
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. The Duke has been proud to host the gathering every year for the last 60 years or more. Each year we welcome many old friends and meet new ones that travel from all over the world to celebrate their heritage and history. This year being the Platinum... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had many great evening meals in the past, which were fantastic best burgers in town. On this lunch time occasion we just wanted a light bite and there wasn't an awful lot of choice. I chose an egg mayonnaise sandwich which instantly started a brand new game 'let's find the egg'..... I would recommend evening meals but the sandwiches are... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlilvsJim
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory meal. I assure you that this is not our usual standard. Toasties and baked potatoes are available at several other establishments in Kingussie and we try offer alternative menu choices. I do hope you will visit again... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Duke of Gordon at the beginning of April and could not fault the Hotel or the staff both of which were really good the Hotel even put on a Gala dinner on the last night of our Holiday which included a Piper there was an English coach trip in the Hotel at the same time and they... More 

Helpful?
Thank G2115
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind remarks and comments. I do hope you will visit us again in this special part of the world. Team Duke More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent the night here whilst travelling on business, this place appears to be geared up for bus parties and a quick turnaround. Rooms are dated and tired, my room had a very dirty carpet, leaking shower and window that could not be opened- not much use when it's stifling hot and your looking for some fresh air. Breakfast was sub... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Scottie1014
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. I am sorry that the Duke was not to your liking and you were disappointed with your stay. As with most larger hotels in the Highlands we do cater for tourists from home and abroad throughout the year. This essential revenue stream helps us to constantly upgrade... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying locally and stopped for lunch here. We enjoyed it so much we went for dinner that evening. To eat in the restaurant we would of had to book but as we didn't want a four course dinner we just turned up and sat in the dining area to the left of the bar. All our meals were... More 

Helpful?
Thank linda h
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel. It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your meals and that the team looked after you. Hopefully you will consider staying with us on your next visit. Team Duke More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel in a great location for exploring the Highlands, and the beds are about as comfortable as you can get in a hotel. The check in staff were lovely and the interior of the hotel, although in need of some TLC in places is stunning. There was however 2 main gripes with our visit. When we arrived there seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank lhamilton1995
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Picture a little misleading as gardens are across the road from hotel . Coach trip 5 night stay . Room was clean although a little small. Window in bathroom screwed shut and no extractor fan small but clean. Very annoying noise ( humming /buzzing) all night :( very hot and window only opened about 2 inches :( . Evening meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank joanne12369
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.5 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kingussie
Price Range: $115 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie
Duke Of Gordon Hotel Kingussie, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay