We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba House Hotel

Save
Traveler (116)
Dining (31)
Room & Suite (29)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“the penthouse”(20 reviews)
“poster bed”(13 reviews)
“groupon voucher”(7 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
199
82
36
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
199
82
36
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouseposter bedgroupon voucherwet roomlarge corner bathgarden restaurantmain buildingfour posterlovely hotellovely gardenseparate showerhighland wildlife parkwarm welcomedining roompleasant staybreakfast and dinnerstayed for one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My husband booked this hotel so wasn’t sure what to expect. We had a room not attached to the main building which was not a problem as the weather was fine. Not sure how I would have felt about this if the weather was bad....More

Thank Kathyfitchett
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked 1 night with booking.com and it said room was not available so I tried a different room and booked it. The next day I got an email saying I had 2 bookings and was this correct or did I want to cancel one....More

Thank RoskiScotland
Response from Proprietors, Owner at Columba House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write. We cannot be held responsible for you not following the correct procedure when cancelling a reservation with Booking.com This is clearly stated on booking.com You took this upon yourself to cancel a non-refundable reservation yourself without contacting...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a late booking and was an enjoyable stay,the room was old but clean and we had a great nights sleep.The breakfast was very good with great service,the outside of the building looks fantastic,but the railway track is very close to the hotel.Inall its...More

Thank Garry M
Response from Proprietors, Owner at Columba House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you will return.

Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Lovely view from the room and I actually like the faded grandeur decoration. Attractive for poster bed but a few problems. There is a large window without a curtain so you wake at dawn. No toiletries - only soap you can use for your hair....More

2  Thank Patsam80
Response from Proprietors, Manager at Columba House HotelResponded March 26, 2018

Thank you for your review. The Bedroom in question have wooden shutters, these close very easily, making the room very dark if needed, so no curtain as such is needed. We would have been happy to show you this if you were unsure. Each room...More

Reviewed February 27, 2018

The hotel itself is set well back from from the main road uphill on an unmetalled track and may present some walking difficulties to people with mobility issues. We were checked in promptly, informed of breakfast times and then shown to our room by a...More

Thank dangerousbryman
Response from Proprietors, Owner at Columba House HotelResponded February 28, 2018

Thank you Bryan Worth (Lord Worth of Sealand) for commenting. I am keeping my response short and sweet. For our Tripadvisor Readers: Your party was drinking for going on 12 hours on Saturday, from 15:00 -3:00 in the morning. Upsetting our other guests, smoking in...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Kingussie
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$89 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
$89 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (116)
Dining (31)
Room & Suite (29)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
alan c
January 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from _bramatha | Reviewed this property |
Our dog was allowed in the room with us. I think they have dog friendly rooms and rooms not for dogs. Our room was fantastic. Just mention it to Yolanda when you book.
0
Votes
Jane H
November 4, 2014|
Answer
Response from Proprietors | Property representative |
Hello Jane If you send me your contact telephone number i shall call you, our rates change so its dependant on what time of the year you would like to book. You can mail us on our email address or call 01540661402
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Perhaps the four poster rooms are better"
Read review
"The penthouse suite is like a self catering secluded mini luxury flat, very much worth the extra few quid."
Read review
"Insist on a private entrance if that is what you really want."
Read review
"Rooms with own front door might be useful."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing