We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandringham Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandringham Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 378: English reviews
Start your review of Sandringham Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

hotel is nice right on the beach the front looks run down but inside is wonderful but nice alot of stairs. we went to the swimming pool and it was freezing cold even the jacuzzi was not working. the bar was reasonable. nice comfortable room clean tidy it worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benelsworthy
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Shanklin theatre in the evening, on arrival we were greeted by a pleasant and cheerful lady at reception. The room was nice and spacious, clean and tidy, with a nice sea-view balcony, the bathroom was also clean and plenty big enough. There was a problem with the heating not working, but this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The original hotel we had booked had to be changed to this one-brilliant idea.We stopped for 5 days and on arrival the porters took the luggage to our rooms and was left by our doors.Very nice double room even though it was overlooking the high street it didn't matter because it's not as if you spend all day in there.Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe d
SandringhamIOW, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in the future.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2016

We stayed in a old room but had a good sea view as we were kindly moved from a back room as my husband wanted a bath in the bathroom. We were warned the room was due for modernising but it was most comfortable apart from the bathroom. We enjoyed a few days there last minute in September 2016 The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q474VQmary
SandringhamIOW, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay in one of our budget rooms at the Sandringham Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the food and the wonderful views that Sandown seafront has to offer. I agree that the hotel entrance and layout is a bit inconvenient - this is because it is built on a slope hill in...

Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Comfortable and clean rooms. The staff were very friendly and efficient. We had a dinner there food was fantastic. It was a coupke playing music in the evening very good.Good location. I highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damaris G
SandringhamIOW, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and recommendations of the Sandringham. We hope to perhaps see you again in the future.

Crowborough
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

A great hotel. We got a great deal for a double room. Spotless, must have been refurbished. In fact the whole hotel is spotless. Had dinner there...staff were so attentive...ran like clockwork...and food was delicious (home made soup, fresh vegetables and cooked with care for the main course, desert...fantastic...all for a £10 (might be an end of season deal). They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TASCrowborough
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here for two nights as a little treat as it was my sons 3rd birthday. The hotel is right on the seafront so the location is fab and they have parking which was essential for us! The room were clean and beds very comfy also the bathrooms had obviously just been redone and were really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamLaura J
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Hotel a little bit tired probably could do with an update. However, room was very clean and tidy, bathroom spotless, didn't request sea-view as a short break. Receptionists friendly and helpful. On site parking, pool, etc, Great location. Good value for money (for out of season).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Just got back from 2 nights at the Sandringham had a nice room, bit small but with a nice sea view. Ate in the restaurant on the first night and had 3 courses for £10 which was good value for money. Have stayed on the IOW many times now and if I was returning to Sandown would definitely book here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theflores43
SandringhamIOW, Manager at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Sandringham and thank you for recommending us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Got asked to leave their self catering apartments August bank holiday week as we asked to cancel other dates we had booked to eat there, as we had uncooked food, shell in breakfast egg and even mouldy gluten free rolls. Advised the hotel that gluten free food was required, and expected to be advised if suitable when ordered in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Basia29b
SandringhamIOW, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of the Sandringham and I am so sorry for all troubles caused to you and your family. We do offer glutton free meals, so this is a very strange occurrence and will be investigated further. I've taken into account about the management and in the meanwhile I do hope you choose us again sometime...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 31 in Sandown
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 31 in Sandown
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
1,161 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 117 bedroom hotel situated right on the sea front in Sandown, and cater for couples, families and private groups. We offer discounted ferry rates when booking directly with us and have a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Entertainment in the ballroom four nights a week and large sea facing lounge and ballroom. Wi-Fi internet accessible in public areas and non-budget rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $51 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sandringham Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Winchester, United Kingdom
19 days ago
Cannock, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sandringham Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sea view rooms look right over the beach and seafront”
 of 5 bubbles Q474VQmary, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“Good views, on the seafront”
 of 5 bubbles JuliaL536, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in attached self catering apartment which was quite good.”
 of 5 bubbles Basia29b, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Sea view cost a little extra but they are well worth the value.”
 of 5 bubbles 901paulined, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is excellent give a good view of sea and surrounding area. Rooms are very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles lindahZ1057HU, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question