We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Melville Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,141: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I picked this hotel as a base for a solo cycling weekend around the Isle of Wight. The hotel is perfectly located on NCR23, with an easy 90 min traffic-free ride from East Cowes ferry along an old disused railway. Alternatively Sandown Train station is only a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel provides an ideal place to lock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Winch
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two night break with breakfast and three course meal on our first night. In addition we also had £20 each towards a treatment in the spa plus the return ferry crossing. The hotel was very quiet with few guests but we were mid week in November. The staff were without exception very friendly, efficient and welcoming. The hotel is undergoing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick680
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Melville Hall for a couple of nights on a weekend break. Stayed in room 003, neat room with a four poster bed and en suite bathroom. Staff were really friendly and welcoming. Really enjoyed dinner both nights and breakfast was also good, again couldn't fault service, staff were all lovely. Used the leisure suite with swimming pool, jacuzzi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you had a great stay with us for your husbands birthday. It's great to hear that you thought the room was comfortable and that the staff were friendly and welcoming. Hopefully we can welcome you back for another relaxing break soon. Kind Regards

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2016

All of the staff throughout the hotel were friendly & helpful. Our room was a little dated though spacious & clean with comfortable beds & bedding. Breakfast was good, as was the 3 course evening meal. I had a wonderful spa treatment, 'beautiful back' definitely recommend it. We didn't have opportunity to use the pool or hot tub on this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K3332014
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thought that your room was spacious and comfortable. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your treatment and you thought the meals in the restaurant were excellent. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future so that...

Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

Me and my wife came to this hotel and Spa for a long weekend as our little honeymoon we was not disappointed from the minute we walked in the ladys at front desks were Walm and welcoming we had 2 nights stay and dinner the first night food here was excellent when we went down for dinner thay had dressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought that the staff were friendly. I do apologise that you did not like the fact one of our staff members was working in both Housekeeping as well as in the Restaurant. Our staff members do...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We stayed a Friday and Saturday night in October as part of a Groupon deal. We were greeted by a helpful receptionist who took the time to give us a tour of the amenities. The hotel is quiet dated but very clean, our room was cosy and our bed had a nice comfy topper, the bathroom was large with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hillyear
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. I'm glad you had a great stay with us and thought that the staff were very helpful and your room was comfortable and clean. It's great to hear that you thought the deal you booked was excellent value and you left us feeling very relaxed! Hopefully we can welcome you...

brighton england
Reviewed November 1, 2016

This hotel and spa is a well run establishment ,with good food and service the evening meals are very good ,as is the breakfast. You can use all the facilitys ,ie pool indoor or out door hot tub In or out and sauna ,the hotel is well placed and an easy walk into Sandown

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richgorb
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thought that the meals in the restaurant were very good and the location was perfect for exploring the Island. Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards

N.WALES
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Hotel whilst adequate needs a complete refurbishment externally and internally which we understand is currently underway. Reception area not inspiring and the spa area needs regular inspection and cleaning. Our superior room was comfortable but dated and did not compare favourably with modern standards. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Parking an issue that needs addressing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JOHNROBERT11
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We are currently renovating the public areas of the hotel which includes the Restaurant, Bar and Reception area. Once these are complete we will then be re-decorating the hotel bedrooms. Hopefully we can welcome you back once this is complete so that you can see the changes and...

Reviewed October 31, 2016

We stayed here for one night as part of a spa break. The value for money was excellent, dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the facilities were good. There was some maintenance work going on to upgrade the decor of the hotel, but this did not affect us in any way. The barman in the evening was excellent, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the value for money was excellent. It's great to hear that you thought the staff were very friendly and gave some good recommendations. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Kind Regards

United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

In its hay day, this hotel would have been fab and would have been very luxurious but, you can see the tell tale signs of an old and worn out place, however, this did not bother my husband and I as the customer service was fantastic and the food was lovely, the room and bedding was clean and there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annilou1678
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you had a great stay with us with your husband and thought that the food was delicious. Hopefully we can welcome you back once we have completed our renovations so that you can see the changes and improvements we have made. Kind Regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

380 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (143)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Spa Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Twin Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#8 of 54 in Shanklin
752 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 31 in Sandown
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $64 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Melville Hall Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Melville Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I don't think there is a lift in the hotel which has rooms on two floors. There are steps to get into reception at the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles Dick680, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 127, quite noisy during our stay. No lift access either.”
 of 5 bubbles jeddy74, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“upgrade to a four poster room”
 of 5 bubbles kevinsN6675SQ, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“High room have better views”
 of 5 bubbles yellow91, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Supreme room with four poster bed”
 of 5 bubbles 787traceyt, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay