We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Melville Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,104: English reviews
Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The name might suggest that this is a grand Hall. It is a 1970s building but very clean and has everything. When we called to book they suggested we upgrade to a four poster. The bed is too big for the room and it is a shiny pine bed! The bathroom was dated but had a hot shower in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AntiqKazz
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for three days, two nights and were shocked at the value having purchased a deal with a ferry crossing. Wonderful outside jacuzzi and small pool plus indoor amenities and enjoyed a wonderful massage. The receptionist were helpful as were the waiters and bar staff. The food was great, both meat eaters and veretarians catered for. We would return.... More 

Helpful?
Thank corner1066
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After reading some reviews of this hotel, we were a little concerned. However we all thoroughly enjoyed our 2.nights here. The staff were excellent and very attentive. We were moved to a newly refurbished room to be near our friends. Both rooms were tastefully decorated with everything you could need. We even had our rooms cleaned and fresh towels after... More 

Helpful?
Thank adabournemouth
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came with our friends on the 4 day deal of full board and spa treatments. The food was very good and the treatments were very relaxing. The outside pool was heated as was the hot tub, although the side jets were not working. Around the pool were fantastic relaxing rocking chairs and 2 adult " Moses baskets ". The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juliedina
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used a Wowcher promotion which included ferry crossings and was outstanding value for money. We upgraded to a superior room (Room 004) at the front of the hotel which was a little larger than a standard room with a large and comfortable bed; it was quiet and although a bit stuffy as the weather was particularly warm during our... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonyinbrighton
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. I do apoligse that there was hair on the carpet of your hotel room, but I'm glad that it was quickly resolved for you. Thank you for your kind comments in regards to your evening meal and treatments. Hopefully we... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would firstly like to say I have never posted a bad review about any hotel/business as being a business owner myself, I know how important reviews are for companies. However with that being said, the service we received was so repeatedly bad, I wouldn't want anyone to waste their money on staying here! I booked this hotel as i... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LJSworldwide
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly let me thank you for leaving your review about your recent stay with us over the Bestival weekend. We do take all reviews both positive and not so positive into consideration and take any negative criticism very seriously, as you can appreciate, being a business owner yourself. My initial concern is that of the complaint about the staff. We... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 day package including ferry from Southampton with my sister. Great base to go explore the island and come back in the afternoon for a dip in the pool and huge hot tub for a relax before evening drink and meal. Room was clean, good size, bathroom and toiletries good. The hotel staff were really friendly and could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Delia R
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I'm glad you had a wonderful stay with us and the room you were allocated was a good size, comfortable and clean. I do apologise in regards to your comment about the light switches and door handles. I will be sure to pass your comments onto our Head... More 

Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We would definitely return. The hotel staff are a pleasant to deal with and the facilities are good. There are two pools, and two hot tubs - one of each outside, and one of each inside. Both facilities are excellent. The pool area outside has comfortable loungers, and tables and chairs. They were able to serve us a gluten free... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoeInScotland
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for Melville Hall Hotel. I'm glad you had an excellent stay and enjoyed everything about your time with us. It's great to hear that your Gluten free diet was catered for and you were even able to treat yourself to a Gluten Free Cream Tea by the pool! I'm glad you thought the meals... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel with a friend for two nights during a heatwave in August. We obtained a fantastic deal via Wowcher, which included full access to the hotel's spa and sauna facilities, ferry trips, 3 course meal on the first night, breakfast on both days and a £20 voucher towards the cost of a massage of our choice,... More 

Helpful?
Thank vortex137
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Melville Hall Hotel. It's great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and thought that the deal you booked through on Wowcher was fantastic value for money. I'm glad the Twin room you were allocated was perfect for your needs and meant you could get a good... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took advantage of a Wowcher deal which offered superb value for a 2 night break in this adults only spa hotel. We were unaware, however, that the building had no lift and unfortunately, because I had requested, and been allocated an 'airy' room, it was on the second floor. This posed a problem for us as my husband is... More 

Helpful?
Thank suered22
Jackie C, General Manager at Melville Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thought that the staff were very helpful in re-locating your room to one on the first floor. It's great to hear that you thought the room was comfortable and clean, with everything you need and that you enjoyed both... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

362 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (125)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Spa Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Twin Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#8 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Melville Hall Hotel is located a few minutes stroll from the beautiful sandy beach of Sandown Bay, almost opposite Los Altos Park. With a wide range of facilities including Utopia SPA, you are guaranteed the relaxing break you deserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melville Hall Hotel

Address: Melville Street, Sandown PO36 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $118 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotwire so you can book your Melville Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hall Sandown
Hotel Melville Hall
Melville Hall Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
#4 Family Hotel in Sandown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay