We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bayshore Hotel

Traveler (39)
360
Panoramas (71)
Room & Suite (122)

About

#5 of 27 hotels in Isle of Wight
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bayshore Hotel - Sandown [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star). Situated in a magnificent position on the seafront, opposite the beach and pier and close to the shopping centre. All 80 bedrooms are centrally heated with TV, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities and private bath or shower and WC. The hotel has a light and spacious cocktail bar and lounge area with a large dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There is a sun lounge and attractive restaurant overlooking the sea and a games room and TV lounge. Lift serves all floors (a few stairs on split level floor) A Leisureplex Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish, Romanian

Location

Full view
85Good for walkers
Grade: 85 out of 100
33Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
220Reviews
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 66
  • 85
  • 45
  • 10
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I recently spent a week at the Bayshore Hotel via an Alfa coach holiday. When we arrived and were shown to our rooms I was very disappointed. My view was of a brick wall. The room was very dated, with wallpaper peeling off in places. I was able to get a room with a sea view the next day, after paying an extra £35.00. Still same problem as the first room I had, peeling wallpaper etc. On more than one occasion my shower stopped running for a few minutes. The food was awful, both breakfast and dinner. On the table, along with cereal and fruit juices there was a bowl of cubed apple. This was also used for fruit cocktails in the evening, with a few pieces of satsuma ( tinned). On the evening of our arrival everyone was hungry and looking forward to dinner. I ordered the 'roast beef' dinner. Thus consisted of 2 slices of beef (the kind you get in packets) with 3 roast potatoes which looked anemic, a tablespoon of finely sliced cabbage and about a teaspoon of carrot, so finely diced I couldn't pick it up with my fork! The waitress was rude, she told one guest what she COULD and COULDN'T eat. Not impressed. We were made to feel rushed, most days didn't even get the chance to sit down before she was there asking for our order. We hadn't even had the chance to look at the menu! On evening we had a different waitress who was lovely, very courteous, and gave us the chance to have a break between courses. On the last evening another guest and I walked to Shanklin to get a decent meal, and that was a good portion of food. Our meals at the hotel were very small. The majority of the guests were left feeling hungry. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone!
Read more
It is possible that the previous reviewer was staying here at the same time, so here is an alternative view. I was with an Alfa tour and yes it did take a long time, but that is one of the yet to be solved difficulties of a coach tour,- the interchange. It is long and boring but the alternative is expensive taxis The hotel does cater mainly for the elderly and yes there was stairs everywhere, but with a small lift to all floors. It clearly states in the brochure that some stairs are unavoidable. Those with mobility difficulties did seem to manage the stairs, if slowly at times The photos from the previous reviewer of the food and the handles are accurate, however the food was not as bad in my opinion as described. It was served by a super efficient waiter who had a lot of tables to wait on, he never got any of our various orders wrong. The food is perfectly edible, it is not top quality hotel standard, but this is not a hotel at the top of the market. It is a mid priced hotel with a largely elderly customer base who do not want fancy food with 2 lettuce leaves, a wafer thin slice of something or other and a dribble of jus. It caters for its market, and does a reasonable job. The breakfasts were fine if you ordered full English, other options I cannot give an opinion on. There was always plenty of cereal, juice grapefruit etc The dinners menu always had a salad option and it was easy to ask for the main menu with salad instead, if you didn't want the potatoes and veggies. I did not have any complaints about the food I had a refurbished room so it was fine. If I had gone round looking for things that were wrong I could list some here, but I didn't. None of the faults spoiled my holiday, and if people really want perfection they need to pay for it at 5* hotels. So if you book a holiday to this hotel make sure your expectations are not above what the hotel is offering. The you will not be disappointed, but can enjoy the beauty of the Isle of Wight
Read more
I stayed here for a week, as part of a coach holiday with Alfa. The hotel is dated, with wallpaper coming off, old carpets, stains everywhere and only one elevator - not enough for the big group of elderly visitors. The dining room experience was terrible, the portions were small and mostly frozen food. All done on the cheap, worse than school lunches. They tell you that dinners are a three-course-meal but two of the courses are fruit salad. The fruit salad is actually chopped apples, whatever is left from breakfast. We were only allowed one square of butter, the toast was burnt, the poached eggs were actually boiled- my friends and I preferred eating out instead. One of the waitresses - Alexandra - was rude, unpleasant, abrupt, ordering us around and not allowing us to get a word in. She came to take our order while we were trying to sit down and we felt rushed every day! I have a gluten intolerance and she brought me only half of the breakfast. When I asked where is the sausage or the hash brown she told me I'm not allowed to have them. She made me feel like I have to beg for food although I'm old enough to know what's good for me or not. We felt like we were bothering her with our existence. I complained at the reception and the dining room manager came to our table to excuse her behavior by saying that she is abrupt and rushing us around because they had a customer who snapped their fingers to get their attention. He told me she refused to give me half of the breakfast because they had a customer with gluten-intolerance who ate something and became sick. Excusing her behavior by assuming that my friends and i would snap our fingers or that I'd become sick is unacceptable and totally unprofessional! We also had Sabrina as a waitress on a few occasions and she was nice, pleasant, professional, calm and always smiling ;the only positive about that place.
Read more
+1
I went with Alfa as I had promised an elderly neighbour I would go with her as she hadn’t been on holiday for 12 years so she chose a coach trip. The coach trip is long and never ending. Approx 10 hours it took in total. Reading services are a nightmare and I’ll do a separate review for that. So location fantastic right on the sea front. However the problem is no ramps. Only stairs. 99% of the people staying there had mobility issues some more severe than others. At the front there are about 6 stairs. So it’s a one out of five from me. I speak as I find. Down to the ball room there are 6 stairs. It was an absolute struggle for some people. And pitiful to watch. Bayshore please get some ramps installed or stairlifts. Yes it does cost money. But your guests will be so much happier. On the whole the hotel is run down and dated. It needs a revamp. We need the hotel inspector Alex to go there or I’ll do it. But it needs work time and money spent on it. Currently it says it’s a three star. At the moment it’s a one star in my opinion. The toilets ( ladies) in the ballroom are in need of a thorough clean.if you go there Take a look at the handle with the gel in it. Look at the base of that handle. It is crusted with used gel. Look around the skirting of the loos. Hasn’t been cleaned in years. The handle by the actual toilet is encrusted with pitted rust. I have a photo of this. WiFi. Only available if you sit in reception. Not in your room. Very poor show as some people really need WiFi. But it doesn’t really affect a lot of the elderly who were there but this is 2019. Our room was a sauna with a v small window which didn’t open fully. This impacts on whether you can sleep or not. My bed sheets had had blood on them that had been washed and the blood splatters had turned brown. See photo The food for some elderly might be ok. The ham and eggs at breakfast my companion recommended The rest of it is all the cheapest stuff you can buy. Cheap cereals, cheap frozen or tinned veg at the evening meal. It’s all done on the cheap. Chicken chasseur was a bit of chicken with a bit of tomato soup over it so don’t be that thinking you are going to get something nice and tasty. Breaded mushrooms you get three. Anyhow my companion is 75 and enjoyed the entertainment she got up and danced. I hated it. The waiting staff are excellent The coach drivers are excellent But the hotel is a sad rundown place where they sort of turn it into a care home when all the elderly come to stay. I’ve just covered the basics here but there are many more things wrong with this hotel. If you are a young family I recommend you go somewhere else because this is full of elderly. I made some good friends of the lovely elderly disabled ladies and gentlemen I met here But bayshore please sort your hotel out.
Read more
Had a lovely week in June but spoilt on the last day. After evening meal on Friday I had terrible dioheerea and vomiting, but it stopped about 2am. In the morning I went to pay my bar bill, and someone else was telling reception of their wives same problem in the night. I told them i had same , the receptionist told me to go and stay in room not to get on coach home, Alfa will sort something out. 2 hours later, after coach had left, I asked reception wgat Alfa was doing?. I was told I'd have to make my own way home and claim expenses on insurance !!!. So 2 disabled pensions, one using walking frame, had to take our suitcases on journey to remember. Taxis, ferry, and 3 trains. Still waiting for response from Alfa, and insurance. Apparently there were 10 people affected, but reception refused to give me any details, room numbers or names.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightSandown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing