We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Channel View Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
Panoramas (37)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 257: English reviews
Start your review of Channel View Hotel
 Click to rate
Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our party was 10 metal detectorists and one support wife. We were booked into the Channel View Hotel at short notice and were apprehensive after reading other guests reviews. Never again will I judge by others reviews. The hotel provides exceedingly good value for money. A good choice for breakfast and evening meals. Meals start on time and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

took 50 to hotel 5 years ago had great time took them back this year again had great time was shocked to see the new refurbished lounge n dining areas and new walk in showers in all rooms rooms not posh but ok food was A1 it was only stairs that proved a problem for some of my party but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank croper160
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our original hotel was cancelled with one week to go,the rep searched all the island and could only get us in here .When we read the reviews we were Shocked,but for just a few nights we gave it a go.George who served are table was great,and the boss,i think her name was Tina couldn't do enough for us especially when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was a little worried after reading some of the reviews but was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of my room on the top floor. Housekeeping was excellent during my stay with bed being made and tea and coffee replenished daily. Staff were great and couldn't be more helpful, George our waiter made mealtimes enjoyable. 3 or 4 different choices on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst hotel ever. The only people that should be in there are health inspectors or demolition squad. This hotel is dated, dirty, basic, uncomfortable & I wouldn't let my pet stay a night. I've travelled and stayed in many hotels and this one wins the award for the worst. The staff are rude, the English they speak...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Stanley S
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

hi thanks for your extremly nasty review . we are a established coaching hotel and when you booked you must have seen the price that suited your pocket - as you have mentioned its cheap and hence value for money . want luxury pay luxury prices. you were a private guest and didnt even have any meals at the hotel...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We also stayed for 3 nights from the 27th January via a coach party....on arrival we were handed our bedroom key promptly....and after reading numerous bad reviews on this site we opened the door with just a little intrepidation ........ the room....light airey.......and above all clean....the large king size bed was immaculate ....and could not fault any aspect. On arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tereaa C
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel although basic was very clean. The room was well maintained with queen sized bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and towels, sheets and pillowcases were well laundered. There was a flatscreen TV and tea/coffee facilities as well as a hairdryer. As we were on a coach trip with Leisure Time. We all sat down for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank helewal
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from the 27th tell the 30th via a couch trip and I would of been better of sleeping in a tent!!! First night after traveling for 10 hours that's all I wanted was to have a hot shower, we booked in to your room bear in mind and 8 weeks pregnant and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

hi firstly you were the yougest couple on the coach trip from wales. when you book you inform the coach copany that you are pregnant and cannot climb stairs we were fully booked as you must have noticed and in pure honestly the coach company and ourselves could not see any 8 months pregnacy sign- otherwise we ask for medical...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I didn't like the the fact that the spring was sticking out of the bed woke up with a bruise and a cut on my arm the shower was trickling and the hotel is appalling and a disgrace i won't be going there again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kizzy M
channelview, Manager at Channel View Hotel, responded to this review

hi did you report the incident to any staff member ( especially the cleaner , because it has to be reported if you suffered a bruise or injury immdiately to the managment . it was not reported so hence you are not saying the truth and putting on tripadvisor a fasle incident. first aid has to be provided and and...

west midlands
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had the misfortune of stopping there and believe me the bad reviews are true how this so called hotel remains to trade is beyond me the Isle of Wight tourist board need to have a closer look at this hotel if that's whatever t you can call it, it would be interesting to find out what there scores on the...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank veronica1938
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

264 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (19)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
1.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 31 in Sandown
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 31 in Sandown
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Channel View Hotel

Address: 4-6 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $38 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Channel View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel View Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Channel View Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Channel View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book a family room”
 of 5 bubbles 662MickM662, 2 days ago | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles rogera343, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 12.....great”
 of 5 bubbles tereaac, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Top floor front 33, 35 large with sea view and quiet. No lift though!”
 of 5 bubbles Brightonwiz, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“Only saw our room at the front and we could see the see between houses opposite.”
 of 5 bubbles jules329, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question