We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Friends Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Friends Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Stayed at the Friends hotel for 5 days. It is run by a matron who was generally unpleasant and we were treat like children. There was no choice at mealtimes and the breakfast was cold. The entertainment was very poor so we had to go to other hotels in the evening. We wouldn't have wanted to stay in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattiebod
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Friends, Paul and his staff are great couldn't do enough for us rooms are clean food was nice its only a 10 min stroll to the lovely sandy beach had a fantastic time hope to be back next year, ps don't let all the negative reviews put you off best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggie s
friendshotel, Owner at Friends Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good holiday, hope to see you back next year

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Wow! I didn't think hotels like this still existed! Looks ok from the outside, but once inside the dated decor really hits home. 1980's vertical stripes with borders on the wallpaper. You have to pay your balance as soon as you check in (so if you don't like it I'm not sure how that would work). You have to order...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian1664
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Just come back from 5 nights at the most friendly hotel I have ever stayed. Nothing was too much trouble for Paul and Sandra. Food all fresh the best I have ever tasted. If you want an home from home hotel, look no further. Will be back again next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Can't rate Paul and his staff enough. There was nothing he would not do to make your stay enjoyable. The food was the best I've ever tasted. All fresh. If you want a friendly home from hotel. Look no further. We will definitely be going back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holz121
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend are staying at the Friends Hotel at the moment , this is a very friendly hotel , Paul and Sandra are excellent hosts , nothing is to much trouble , if there are any problems just let them know and it is sorted immediately, on the menu is really good quality home cooked food , Paul...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
friendshotel, Owner at Friends Hotel, responded to this review

glad you had a great stay, hope to see you again, thank-you for your feedback.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2015

We stopped in the hotel for 5 days came with travel style very clean& tidy hotel food was good very basic but nice and hot staff and owner were very helpful as even the last day coming home they got up to do us tea& toast for 6 in the morning would defiantly go again look forward to going back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank libby186402
Paignton , Devon
Reviewed September 20, 2015

The owners of hotel very helpful and pleasant . However, we found the room very tired and well used.The beds were hard but not uncomfortable..Bathroom need a good tidy up. Food was basic and tasteless :served on cold plates do not think we shall return

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank redram123
Heywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2015

This hotel was amazing! everybody there was so friendly and really really nice, the food was nice too. Enjoyed every bit of my food each night, homemade as well ( the chef is a really good cook) :) But the best part of this holiday that I have just come back from was the brilliant entertainment at night time, it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emily R
Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

Booked a room here through Expedia, 9 months in advance and paid full price, no discount for early booking. Paid up front £240 for 3 nights B&B for a double room. When we arrived about 11.30am (booking in from 14.00) a gentleman was just parking his car and spoke to us almost immediately, he said come in your room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L3108
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.7 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
274 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langham Court
Langham Court
#45 of 54 in Shanklin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#33 of 54 in Shanklin
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 31 in Sandown
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Friends Hotel

Address: 8 Hill Street, Sandown PO36 9DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friends Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Friends Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Friends Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Mine was a noisy room as it was next to the stairs, I could also hear the bar noise downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Ian1664, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the west side of the hotel and it was really quite, also we had a twin room because it was me and my nan that went”
 of 5 bubbles emilyr424, Sep 19, 2015 | Read review
“only stay if you are elderly”
 of 5 bubbles reviews70, Jul 26, 2015 | Read review
“We had room 28 and had no problems, the shower was spotless. Unable to speak about other rooms but we never heard any complaints from other guests.”
 of 5 bubbles MerseysideRelaxer, Sep 6, 2014 | Read review
“Me personally prefer a shower rather than a bath, therefore you will have to ask which ever one u many want.”
 of 5 bubbles chloe_pringle, Aug 29, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question