We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Pier Hotel

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (115)
360
Panoramas (76)
Room & Suite (204)

About

#10 of 27 hotels in Isle of Wight
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Indoor pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Evening entertainment
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Internet
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View

Location

Full view
87Good for walkers
Grade: 87 out of 100
34Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
420Reviews
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 115
  • 139
  • 78
  • 40
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed here last year and decided to make a return visit , We had a lovely large room with a balcony which overlooked the pier the beds were comfortable and the room cleaned daily, the meals were OK but as the saying goes "You can't please all of the people all of the time" my wife and I were happy with what we got , as for the staff they were very friendly and helpful I couldn't have wished for better, so we were well happy with our stay and will be returning again next year.
Read more
The Royal Pier Hotel in Sandown is an old seafront hotel with excellent potential and fabulous views , to be fair it is in a period of internal refurbishment but even the newly painted rooms have a long way to go to please the average visitor. The hotel looks it's age on the outside and the downstairs reception, dining room and bar area are awful by any standard. The impression is not enhanced when finding out that the 1900's lift only takes two people (very slowly) and so when a coach party arrives people become agitated immediately while having to wait as one couple as time go to their rooms, this was repeated daily as meal times are fixed and everyone is attempting to get to the dining room as the "gong" is rung to allow entry. Meals are a joke as everyone has to be in the dining room at the same time and the waiting staff cannot cope with in excess of a hundred or more all at once. For 0830 breakfast expect to get served aprox 0910hrs and at night we never received our main course before 1915hrs having been sat since 1830hrs. The breakfast was well cooked and adequate portion size however the the portion size at night would have hardly fed a 10 year old or a young lady on a diet. The average male was left very hungry and often dissapointed by what turned up on the plate compared to that written in the menu. The resturant staff were totally unorganised and unable to cope with any changes or requests for early meals. The rooms whilst some were repainted and new carpet the floors were uneven and every floorboard squeaked badly , the bathroom had no towel rail or shelf above the sink to put toiletries , the bathrroom also had a really strong smell from the toilet pipe if the bathroom door was left open it pervaded into the main room. Overall the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and as they rely on coach parties of mainly older folk they need to shake their ideas up a bit. they certainly did nothing for the reputation of IOW .
Read more
I organised a long weekend stay away for a surprise Birthday visit, there was 31 of us who booked into The Royal Pier Hotel. This was our second visit here we stayed at this hotel about 2 years ago and found no issues then, I must say it was very disappointing to see that the standards have dropped. not to mention how mortified I was to wake up to beg bugs in my bed. this just ruined my stay. another lady in my group also witnessed the same in her bed.this totally ruined our stay. However we both had been allocated other rooms, but as you can imagine i dreaded waking up in the morning and was looking out for any lodgers in my bed :( I certainly wont be returning to this hotel again sadly. the bedrooms definitely need refurbished and the beds need binned. very sorry to have had to write such a review.
Read more
We stayed at the hotel from 5th - 8th July. On arriving one of our party found bed bugs in her room, she was moved immediately. The next morning another one of our party woke to find bed bugs in her bed !! She went to reception and they moved her. We were there with a group of older people, this was very distressing and thoroughly spoilt the weekend. We were all checking our bed n feeling itchy at night. Also the food wasnt up to much. Had ham salad, the ham was curling up where it had obviously been on the plate for a while. Breakfast was small, toast cold. Crockery and glasses were dirty on some occasions. The entrance had a step which made it difficult for us as there was no disabled access. The staff were few and far between. They had 2 bars, one upstairs and one in reception, they were being manned by one person running backward and forwards. I dont recommend this hotel at all.
Read more
Response from Sara J, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel
Responded yesterday
We have written to you in response to your letter received by the Hotel but will also reply to your comments here. We are extremely sorry that this happened during your stay with us especially as you have visited us before and always enjoyed your stay without incident. The two rooms involved in this problem were dealt with swiftly, taken out of service and in accordance with Hotel Policy. Unfortunately this is something we cannot prevent as they get brought into the Hotel on peoples luggage. We are also aware that they have been found in Coach luggage compartments and then transferred into the Hotel. We are sorry that you felt the food was not to our usual standard. The Ham is thickly cut from a joint cooked on the premises. We rarely have complaints about the portion size of meals and because the evening meal consists of three courses that is more than enough for most of our guests. We also advise coach companies that we are a Victorian building and the certain limitations that may bring but we do have a portable ramp that is kept just inside the front door which is readily available for wheelchairs or motor scooter use. The weekend you visited we did only have 35 people staying and one person was on shift in each of the bars. We have looked back on comment forms left by your group and there was lots of good and positive comments.
Read more
The hotel looked quite nice when we arrived but when we went to our room, bearing in mind it was supposed to be a double, it was very small. The en-suite was just a converted cupboard. The toilet was opposite the shower cubicle with not enough space to put the shower mat flat and not enough room to dry oneself, there was also no sink in there, this was in the bedroom so, in my opinion, was very unhygienic having to open the toilet door before washing hands. The bed, which creaked every time you turned, was close to the sink and if one was using the sink the other one had to wait if they needed to get to the wardrobe. The hotel therefore requires a lot of refurbishment and TLC, which is supposed to be underway, however there was no signs of this and none of our party, 56 people in all were given a refurbished room even though there were pictures displayed of the new rooms. The only saving grace was the restaurant staff, especially Debbie, who was always cheerful.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal pier sandown
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightSandown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing