We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Pier Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
Panoramas (76)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 298: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Pier Hotel
 Click to rate
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic Staff Lovely rooms Good food As A disabled person I would Recommend this Hotel to anyone. nothing is to much trouble the staff Go above and beyond and all a Credit to the Owners and Managers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank basiclee08
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. The Hotel is a lovely old Victorian building which was converted into a Hotel many years ago so we do have to work within the limitations of the building. We do request that guests who require rooms with walk in showers...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A nice quiet time of year we visited with lovely weather for a lovely weekend get away. All members of staff are very happy and very helpful. The hotel is a perfect location with a lovely sea view of the beach and pier. Also a short walk many various bus stops and the railway station. Also there are many great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davenator13
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Although much quieter this time of year, the Island still has lots to offer and when the weather is good, even better. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, they all work very hard throughout the year to make your stay enjoyable. We are so lucky to be...

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

you could not ask for better from the first meeting with the staff booking in was very quick and all staff was very friendly., nothing was to much trouble for anyone ,it was like being with friends the whole time ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andabela2014
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We always appreciate constructive criticism, but when we received such a lovely review it makes us all feel much better and confirms that we are doing things rights. Thanks again.

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 29, 2017

Stayed 5 days over Christmas had a really lovely time, all stuff were so happy and helpful, food was always hot and tasty. The overall look of hotel was clean but a little tidy, but typical seaside hotel. Entertainment every night was very good, drinks were a lot cheaper than our local pub. Would go back again. Thank you for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yolande R
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We always have a lovely time at Christmas as we do have lots of regular guests and they are great at mixing and making everyone welcome. All the staff enjoy making your stay as special as possible. We have a lot of bookings already this Christmas this year. We hope...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 1, 2016

I was on a coach trip staying at the Royal Pier Hotel Sandown between 25th and 28th November 2016. The coach trip was OK but the long weekend was made by the hotel. From the moment of arrival until our departure the staff were helpfull and freindly. My room didn't have the best view (Then I don't sit in and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PETERGCF33
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your comprehensive review. We really appreciate all your comments. We feel we offer good value for money and all the staff work very hard to make everyone's stay as happy as possible and this was obviously the case by your great review.

Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 29, 2016

Visited this excellent hotel many times but this is the first time I stayed there, and if all goes well I will stay again next year. A warm hotel with friendly staff who were cheerful and welcoming. Food very nice and hot which was served by just 1 waiter and 1 waitress, ie Will and Debbie. They were very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dennisprice31
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We always appreciate kind and positive comments as all the staff work hard to make everyone's stay enjoyable. We will pass on your thanks to Debbie and Will and hopefully will see you again this year.

Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 29, 2016

the hotel was very clean and the staff were very nice and the food was very hot and tasty we really enjoyed our selves .we go to the isle wight every year and i would recommend this hotel to anyone good views over the sea .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryprice39
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your kind comments and we are pleased that you visit the Island every year and that you would recommend us. We hope to see you again.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 21, 2016

We arrived Friday evening after booking a single room for granny and family room for my wife, myself and our 10 year old son. Really friendly staff with a warm welcome and smiles all around. Horrific storm meant our sea facing room was very noisy with the wind but this couldn't be helped. Breakfast was served from a basic choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2013Monkeyboy
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind and positive review. We are in an enviable position opposite the sea and on Sandown seafront. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the weather but we are pleased to see it did not spoil your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again maybe next summer.

Liverpool
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was booked as a last minute option due to being let down by another hotel. The staff were very helpful when we called and the location is fabulous which is why it has been given 2 stars. It is right by the pier and beach and close to restaurants and bars. We were there when there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank rach2982
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As with any busy hotel, the refurbishment is always on going and at present we are still working on upgrading all the bathrooms before refurbishing the rooms. We are surprised about your comments about the staff as you will...

Eastwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 27, 2016

This was me and my daughters first trip to the Isle of Wight. We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff were very welcoming. Food was excellent,plenty of choice. Room was very clean .Plenty to do each day. We really enjoyed the 2 day trips touring the island. Our driver Graham was a gem,very knowledgable and friendly. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 139Vicky
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to see your enjoyed your time with us and your visit to the Isle of Wight. As mentioned, we do feel we offer good value for money. We hope to see you again.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

299 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (33)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Triple Room (35)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
1,177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $59 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Royal Pier Hotel staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Pier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Am sure whatever room you stay in will be clean and comfortable .”
 of 5 bubbles basiclee08, 1 week ago | Read review
“We were on the top floor above the main entrance which seemed quieter when there is entertainment in the bar”
 of 5 bubbles 139Vicky, Oct 27, 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor as lift stops there”
 of 5 bubbles 753lynnet, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“Get sea view if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles martinrR8801FG, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“Sea view is ideal if available although you only get the sun in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles bridgetjones2016, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question