We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Royal Pier Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Pier Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 281: English reviews
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fabulous room on first floor with sea view and a balcony. We felt like royalty ourselves in this wonderful hotel. Very friendly helpful staff, especially June the manageress and Chris her PA! Great choice of food at every meal and the hotel has an added bonus of an indoor swimming pool!

Helpful?
Thank bridgetjones2016
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our large family rooms at the front with balcony's are always very popular as they enjoy such stunning views. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again. More 

Guiseley- Leeds
Level Contributor
245 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were not residents but popped in for a drink and ended up staying the night for a great disco with all the old tunes. The bar was open well into the early hours. It was a fantastic night with a fantastic atmosphere. If we came to again we would love to stay here.

Helpful?
Thank chatbox
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are not sure if this review was meant for us, as we very rarely have discos and our entertainment bar does close at midnight. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here on the Isle of Wight. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Before going on holiday to the I.O.W. I had read several reviews on the above hotel, some good but also some very bad. As I'd already booked I decided to expect the worst and hoped to be pleasantly surprised, which I was pleased was the case. The hotel is old and very dated but also very clean, brilliant white towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise A
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. It is always encouraging to received positive and complimentary comment, which go a long way to keeping up staff morale. Thank you once again. More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a 5 day stay at the Royal Pier with my husband. It was a lovely Victorian Hotel, clean and friendly with charm and character.Yes a bit dated but that hardly matters. Staff were without exception, helpful and cheerful and efficient. Meals were hot and plentiful and good choices for every meal.Would happily stay again and recommend it, Best UK... More 

Helpful?
Thank Momc8
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We really appreciate it when guests take the time to submit their comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention, it is a converted Victorian building and some area are not as disable friendly as we would like, but if guest phone us beforehand, we will endeavour... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with a few of our scooter club (wobs Southampton) august bank holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the start the staff were very friendly and helpful,rooms were nice and clean and fresh,bed was comfortable the views out were spot on. I would highly recommend and in fact have already booked for next year. Dean Prince

Helpful?
Thank Dean P
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. The Scooter Rally is great for the Island and we always look forward to it. We are so glad that everything was 'spot on' and you have already booked for next year. We look forward to seeing you. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I help run a scooter club (THE WOBS )we were there for the scooter rally. We used another hotel in Sandown but this is now shut down so we thought as a club we would use the Royal Pier and glad we did. I stayed in room 6 which was fantastic with great views. The staff were very friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank paullyn2016
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a great review. We always look forward to the Scooter Rally and we do have a number of guests who have been staying with us for several years now. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again next year. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the Royal Pier on the 5th Aug for the weekend. We had 2 rooms for a couple and an elderly parent. The rooms were dated and could do with a little more air. The bathroom definately need updating as this is very small and just about enough room to have a quick shower. The location of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Renu1978
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time when you visited the Royal Pier. As you mentioned, we are in a stunning location opposite the Pier and sea and very closed to all the amenities in Sandown. Unfortunately the restaurants can be very busy in the height of the season and it is advisable to... More 

england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of 3 , we had two rooms a twin and a double on the same floor. The double was near the lift towards the back was light and airy . Needed updating, but clean and comfortable, the twin was situated up a lot of different stairs was a dark room also needed updating and and smelled... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pipa1England
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We appreciate your comments about the food and will pass on your thanks to the members of staff mentioned. The reason for not having a longer slot for breakfast or dinner is because most of the guests come into breakfast early to be ready for their trips out on the coach and also to... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel needs closing down. The staff particularly are miserable and rude. The rooms are appalling and not fit for purpose. The toilet and shower are in a cupboard but the washbasin is in the bed area. The wine waiter tried to say wine was not contaminated despite the glass being incredibly dirty with lipstick. The food was cold and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jane E
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sad to read your comments as we are continually praised for the polite and professional staff that we have working here. We are in the process of upgrading our bathrooms and have managed to do about 30 of the 65 that we have to refurbish. We have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This Hotel is not for families, it caters for Oaps on coach trips. My two children were dancing on the empty dance floor to the nightly entertainment with us sitting next to the dance floor supervising them. We were then approched by the very rude mangaress who told us they were not allowed on the dance floor on there own... More 

Helpful?
Thank minspw
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I remember the incident as it was carnival night, and we were very busy. We do have children in the Bar all the time, but do expect if the children are very young, the adults to be holding their hands when on the dance floor with them for Health and Safety reasons. It was me... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay