We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Metropolitan

Certificate of Excellence
13 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH , England
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Metropolitan
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited whitley bay recently to see some friends and initially had some reservations as the area needs some regeneration. Once I entered the metropolitan these fears were resolved however as it is a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated as well as extremely clean. The bathroom was a little cramped but again very clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tomuk2014
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I spent a few nights here over the New Year whilst visiting relatives and this place could not have been better. Recently made, the interior was uber clean, warm and comfortable with all the amenities one might expect from a much higher standard of accommodation. - Quality toiletries (no silly sachets to try to open in the shower!) - Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Empathology
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas whilst visiting relatives - I cannot find any fault with this exceptionally well run B&B. Nothing was too much trouble, it was clean, warm and excellent facilities, luxury biscuits, bottled water, fresh milk available on request for those of us who hate long life milk, cotton wool, shoe brush, clothes brush, luxury hairdryer,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JCB48123
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I had Booked this b&b for Boxing Day night and they have cancelled a week before Xmas. It is very disappointing and this has left us really stressed about finding alternative hotels! Most of the places are fully booked! Not impressed at all!

Helpful?
Thank jsg103
TheMetropolitan, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this review

We were obviously disappointed that we had to cancel your booking, but as we detailed there has been a major plumbing issue with the en suite resulting in a total re refit, and we have been unable to rectify this due the festive holidays . All our rooms are en-suite and there are no other facilities you could have used... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Only stayed one night last weekend but had a comfortable, large, quiet, clean room and breakfast the next morning was very tasty. Room also had good tea and coffee making facilities. Andrew also went above and beyond to help when I couldn't get hold of a taxi. Very impressed with the metropolitan all round. Recommended

Helpful?
Thank Rossers100
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

Excellent little place that deserves all the accolades they have got. Tidy comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast! good value! only downside was the wall paper in the shower area which was a bit mesmerising dont go in there after a bit to drink!

Helpful?
Thank Garden_peas2013
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

This is an excellent place to stay. Rooms are spacious and stylish, with many unexpected extras (tissues, hand cream, shoe shine ...). The location is excellent - sea at one end of the road, restaurants at the other. The hosts are friendly and helpful. You really couldn't do better.

Helpful?
Thank Janet F
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Arrived prior to check in time, but it was no problem, and was made very welcome. Room was spotless, if a little cold, but did warm up eventually. Great sized room, and the only negative was the patchy wifi. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast in the morning, which could not be faulted. Would i stay here again? Yes and have already... More 

Helpful?
Thank maurice l
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

This is a lovely b&b. Spotlessly clean and very modern. All toiletries were provided, with extra touches, like, cotton wool etc. There was even a shoeshine pad and clothes brush. Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble, as said previously a lovely b&b

Helpful?
Thank Jacko592015
Bromsgrove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

Have stayed in many places around the world over the years and believe that this place is one of the best. Really warm and friendly hosts, great rooms (noisy plumbing though) and great breakfast. Tried all the variations over our 4 day stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank TJ345
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#1 of 12 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 12 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 12 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 12 in Whitley Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#5 of 12 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay