We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The River House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The River House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Beautiful house with beautiful gardens and views. Very peaceful location . We were greeted by the owner who showed us to our room . The room was gorgeous with lovely views . Furniture was lovely and the room itself very clean. There was tea and coffee making facilities with the option for fresh milk should we need it. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
CarefulScreening, Owner at The River House, responded to this review

Gill. Thank you so much for your comments. We did enjoy meeting you both and hope we shall be able to welcome you here again soon. Adrienne and Edward

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 22, 2016

Wonderful and peaceful stay at the River House, with a fabulous breakfast prepared by the hosts. Probably the best place on the Island. They can recommend many things to do on the island / where to have dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helenkagui
CarefulScreening, Owner at The River House, responded to this review

Thank you for your timely review. It was a real pleasure for us to meet you at such a special time for you, and to share in your obvious happiness. We wish you a trouble-free and healthy life together.

Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 1, 2015

This gorgeous home, in a very private location, stands in its own large grounds, a short walk from all Ramsey's amenities. For travellers without GPS it was somewhat difficult to find and, in my opinion, it would benefit from clear signage from the main road. Despite some initial confusion about our booking, further compounded by our late arrival, we received...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
CarefulScreening, Manager at The River House, responded to this review

We were so pleased to see your review and to know that you enjoyed your short stay with us. You were very forgiving when we failed to synchronise our in-house records, and it all worked out well for you and us in the end. We are fortunate to have guests like you that we enjoy talking to so much.

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 7, 2015

Our hosts made us very welcome in their gorgeous home. On arrival we were given fresh coffee & delicious shortbread. We had a beautiful room with lovely views of the river and garden. The cooked breakfast was delicious and there was also fresh fruit & home made jam. On one rainy day Edward drove us to the bus station to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jonathan S
CarefulScreening, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. When the rain comes and guests have no car, it's no trouble to.help them on their way with a lift to the bus stop, and I was glad to do so for such deligtful guests.

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2014

The River House is a wonderful place to stay, with large, comfortable, elegant rooms, lovely big en-suite and tea and coffee making facilties. The house and gardens are lovely and the views are stunning! Edward and Adrienne are very friendly and welcoming and made us feel completely at home. Guests are free to use the large sitting room and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 85Yvonne
CarefulScreening, Owner at The River House, responded to this review

We were delighted to see you review while we were away ourselves. Seeing a B&B from the other side - as guests - reminded us how important is attention to details. We have a lot to live up to after your generous review, and we look forward to your next visit.

UK
Reviewed September 8, 2014

The River House is a charming property in every way. Spacious, beautifully decorated rooms, wonderful facilities with marvellous touches such as plentiful tea, coffee and biscuits and full-size soap in the sumptuous bathroom, to breathtaking gardens and quite simply the best cooked breakfast ever. Very relaxed and welcoming, with friendly hosts who make you feel at home. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prbod
CarefulScreening, Owner at The River House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. Sorry not to have replied earlier but we were away. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. We'll need to keep the standards up to match your review!

Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 28, 2014

You are welcomed as soon as you arrive, you have spacious, private rooms with a wonderful homely feel - with lovely sitting and breakfast rooms, and if you have the downstairs room, you have your own large sitting room. You will feel relaxed as soon as you arrive, and be sad to leave. Thanks for a great 5 day stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
CarefulScreening, Owner at The River House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. We much enjoyed having your party to stay and were so glad that you had good weather in which to explore the island. It was a pleasure for us to have such delightful guests.

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have stayed at the River House ten times since June 2001. We always stay there for the TT races. The hosts are always very welcoming and we are always made to feel at home. Nothing is ever too much trouble to ask for. The views of the tidal Sulby river are spectacular. We could not recommend a better place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris M
CarefulScreening, Owner at The River House, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous review. We love having you both and the other TT enthusiasts every year and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay again this time. Adrienne and Edward

Llangollen, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having refused to accept “the room from Hell” at the Sulby Glen Hotel, the proprietress found us The River House in Ramsey as alternative accommodation. It really was a case of chalk and cheese: the Sulby Glen Hotel on a busy road with dirt, mould, dilapidation and disinterested staff, and The River House tucked away, clean, bright, beautifully-appointed, and with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hugh S
Jersey, Channel Islands
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have now stayed here three times, both alone and with friends, and look forward to a return visit. Everything about Riverside House is super and I would thoroughly recommend it. The welcome from the owner is warm and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are first class and I enjoy the chance to talk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Annscott2013
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ramsey hotels
0.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Ramsey
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodbrae Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The River House

Address: Ramsey IM8 3DA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ramsey
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The River House Ramsey, Isle Of Man
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The River House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The River House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you want the best double room, book early :)”
 of 5 bubbles Helenkagui, Mar 22, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are very good”
 of 5 bubbles 6jonathans, May 7, 2015 | Read review
“They are all excellent with plenty of space, lovely view, very light and free WiFi”
 of 5 bubbles Annscott2013, Sep 11, 2013 | Read review
“All rooms are well above the level most people would expect to find with a high standard of decor and furniture and well appointed bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 554philw, Sep 6, 2013 | Read review
“If possible go for a suite”
  • Drawing room in
 of 5 bubbles the travelling man 2210, Jun 22, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question