We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Welbeck Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Welbeck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 299: English reviews
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The property is old but the owners has sent a lot of time and money bringing it up to a good standard. The entrance was welcoming as well as all the staff on duty last night. Nothing was no trouble from all the staff. The bar an meeting point for all the visitors weather just to dine like us or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred A
Lochmaddy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a superb hotel, set in a quiet street just off the seafront. We were very fortunate and got an upgrade to an apartment on the top floor (a lot of stairs!). The apartment was superb but the other rooms were very comfortable as well, from what we heard. Very good bar with real ale, great breakfasts, friendly, helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank NeachTurais
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an hotel that shines in a Victorian sea side building. Our room was spacious, clean and had everything one could want. The tea making supplies were in abundance unlike other hotels I've stayed in. Because of the age of the building there are a lot of stairs and corridors, there is a small lift. The staff were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris K
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Wellbeck squeezed us in when the restaurant was full with a large coach party. Service was exemplary and there were no delays. The food was devine and very well priced. Can't praise the team enough for their excellent service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Notsogrumpytim
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

We are grateful to you for patronising our restaurant and for your review. Don't forget to tell your friends and it would be great if we we see you again in the not too distant future. More 

Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
350 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for the second time on business and still impressed. You can easily spend twice the amount on a hotel along the seafront and get something half as friendly! Everyone is helpful and the hotel has a good busy atmosphere and is obviously popular. The trade-off for the great value is perhaps a slightly dated interior and furnishings however it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GlynCarre
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review and we hope it will not be too long until you return. More 

Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took my mother for a 3-day break in IOM and booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. I didn't realize it was Grand Prix week before I booked and now appreciate how fortunate we were to get the rooms. First of all, the room rate is very reasonable, given the amenities and location. We got two rooms and both... More 

Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravelling13
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for what is an very fair review. You are not the first person to remark on the fact that we do not provide shelves in all our rooms, however, almost every one has a cabinet under the basin (and some space on the side of) and we feel that this makes for less clutter. More 

Lancashire England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the isle of man after an absence of 25 years, on my own and on a bit of a whim as I had some leave to use up and the rest of my family were all busy. I booked the Welbeck through booking.com and jumped the ferry over from Liverpool. The Island was everything that I remembered from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Canvas-King
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words and we hope to see you again soon More 

Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel it's self was good for a Bed and Breakfast, short stay. But there was no car park, it was next to a one way system and off the promonarde, Found parking spaces on the one way system on the road opposite the hotel. 5 or 10 mins. walk from the hotel entrance. The entrance has a short ramp... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately, most of Douglas was built in Victorian times and there are only three hotels with car park. However, I'm very surprised that there were no parking spaces nearer than 5/10 minutes away as the hill above the Hotel has only three houses and although it is not always possible... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean and good sized rooms, friendly staff, good food, complimentary items in room eg shampoo/shower gel, tea, coffee, biscuits, bottled water, hotel is close to local amenities, I felt safe at the hotel; an important factor as a solo female guest. Unfortunately my room (308) was situated at the rear of the property and directly above the industrial beer cellar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine I
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for highlighting that our new fan was too noisy when you were staying here. As we were full, unfortunately, there was no other room that we were able to move you to. The night porter had forgotten to turn the fan off on the night in question until 2:15am (our previous policy was 12am)... More 

carlisle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived on a very wet morning at 6.50am at the hotel, John dealt with us and said the owner/manager Mike would arrive at 7am, which he did said he was sorry but our room wouldn't be ready until about 11, then went a way, came back ten minutes later and said if i could manage one flight of stairs,... More 

Helpful?
Thank flutterCarlisle
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $90 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay