We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Welbeck Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Welbeck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 291: English reviews
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean and good sized rooms, friendly staff, good food, complimentary items in room eg shampoo/shower gel, tea, coffee, biscuits, bottled water, hotel is close to local amenities, I felt safe at the hotel; an important factor as a solo female guest. Unfortunately my room (308) was situated at the rear of the property and directly above the industrial beer cellar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine I
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for highlighting that our new fan was too noisy when you were staying here. As we were full, unfortunately, there was no other room that we were able to move you to. The night porter had forgotten to turn the fan off on the night in question until 2:15am (our previous policy was 12am)... More 

carlisle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived on a very wet morning at 6.50am at the hotel, John dealt with us and said the owner/manager Mike would arrive at 7am, which he did said he was sorry but our room wouldn't be ready until about 11, then went a way, came back ten minutes later and said if i could manage one flight of stairs,... More 

Helpful?
Thank flutterCarlisle
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having booked for 2 nights last weekend we were solely guided by reviews here. It matched them all in every way. Having had a minor issue with our room sorted in seconds we didn't encounter any issues all weekend. It's location is central and perfect too..

Helpful?
1 Thank FUNKYDADDIO1976
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Despite the 'Hype,' we are only as good as our last review, so thank you for making it a good one and we hope you will visit again soon. More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and daughter for 3 nights, we were kindly given an apartment which worked out perfect as our daughter wasn't too well and we were able to cook her some simple food. Irene at the front desk was outstanding, giving us advice on seeing a doctor as well as letting us check out a little later.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vg4030
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your positive comments. The trend over the years has been for lighter breakfasts but basically, we'll let people have whatever they want, as long as they are not wasting it. This week there has been a gentleman who has ordered three pieces of bacon and three sausages along... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived for this short break on the 6th Aug. Check-in was very quick we were issued with a wifi code with our pass card for the room door. Brilliant room nice and clean with tea and coffee and biscuits. Evening meal was very nice. Great hotel and staff i would return no problem.

Helpful?
Thank Trevorh760
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again. More 

glos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on Thursday 4 August 2016 for a 4 day break . Warm welcome on arrival and through the rest of our stay. The food in restaurant was lovely and members of staff friendly funny and always smiling, also ate in the bar and was equally as good. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back next year... More 

Helpful?
Thank snoboarder
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you next year or sooner More 

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having visited the island since before I could walk, I always look forward to going back. The Welbeck is the only hotel I've ever stayed in on the Isle of Man and I would not have it any other way. The staff are helpful and friendly and always have a smile on their face. The food (and deserts!) is always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise C
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review More 

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was clean and had everything we wanted. A quick check-in. Plenty of plug sockets. Wifi code on your room card. The TV was simple to use and we had great biscuits etc etc. 5 star hotels please note! We were on the top floor so we had a good view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review More 

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from another break at the Welbeck. We have been visiting this hotel since 1989 and it just gets better. The management continually strive to update and improve. If you are looking for a boutique hotel that is all chrome and glass and staff with nothing more than a professional interest in you, then this is definitely not the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank LCunningham2013
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

You and your lovely family are welcome any time and we are grateful, both for your business and you taking the time to review us. More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Our room on the fourth floor afforded a view over the sea and was reached by a tiny, rather quaint lift. It was old fashioned but clean and roomy and offered everything we needed. Plentiful supplies for making tea and coffee, iron and ironing board, full length mirror, hairdryer and plenty of electric sockets. Complimentary toiletries. Clean white fluffy towels.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gregoryscat
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write your positive review More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: $90 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay