We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Auckland Hotel

10 Queen's Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Auckland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has a bright fresh look and has been newly refurbished and very clean inside. That's it's best points. No lift, poor hospility tray. Just 2 tea bags taken from a catering pack. 2 coffee, 4 milk. You could purchase more, so penny pinching. Food served in one sitting, little choice, food from the 70s. Chicken Kiev, Pork Escalope,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we do not have a lift, which it clearly states before you book, that we do not offer a lift. The tea/coffee facilities available in your room is replenished by your chambermaid on a daily basis and is provided according to the package that you paid for. We do not offer staggered times at... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my family. staff were friendly but that's probably all that was good, not much choice for dinner dirty cutlery. Our room was above kitchen so heard bashing around of plates a lot and the light outside our room shone in all night as you can't turn it off. The bar isn't open much so you have nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma S
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We like to offer a varied menu, however, we are sorry if this was not suitable. The light does turn off, but you should of mentioned this to a member of staff and we would of seen to it. The bar is open for guests and drinks are available for all our guests. All you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two really big let downs with this hotel , no lift and no entertainment , the staff were friendly , we had a lady named carol whoe was so helpful and friendly . The owner a right misery. The food was really good but not a lot of choice .tea coffee facility's in rooms but one coffee one tea bag... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Susanslunkerbowker
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we do not have a lift at our hotel which we do tell people before they book. Most hotels in Shanklin do not provide lifts. The owner is always, friendly and courteous and on hand if there is anything that you need. Perhaps it was yourself that was a right misery! The tea/coffee facilities... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i just got back from a nice 7 day break you can not fault the hotel staff they was very sportive and good and looked after us my room was very small but comfortable its only few mins away from the sea front few mins away from all the shops the other way its in a perfect place only few... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amjbeck
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear our entertainers did not suit you. Kind Regards More 

Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Just back from another wonderful stay at the hotel, the staff were friendly as always food and Terry and Paul were excellent on the entertainment! We've booked to come back again! Unbelievable comments from some people on here! But some people expect the ritz on the most cheapest of holidays you can get! Think the hotel do a fab job... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank george b
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

I spent a 4 night break in this hotel, with JustGo holidays. Overall the break was really good and well worth the money. The driver was friendly and knowledgeable. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was small and the furniture and bed throw were dated and tired. However it was lovely and clean.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Spesh1
CHRISI1, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to highlight the fact that we do not dish out our keys. The keys are already on the bedroom doors. We allocate the room numbers to the guests so that our guests know which rooms they are in. We like to be organised and have an efficient check in, in order to... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

We were with Just Go Holidays for 4 days half board. Our room was clean and had en suite bathroom. Only had a view of the back car park but this did not matter really, Staff were all helpful and polite. Meals were fine, simple meals, not fresh ingredients though as mostly appeared frozen especially the vegetables, We had entertainment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
CHRISI1, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to point out that our food is not frozen. With the budget packages provided, some food is fresh frozen. All meals are prepared freshly and served piping hot. Meal times suit the major majority of our guests. When we have had later dinner times in the past, the majority of guests commented... More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Travelled with Just Go Holidays for a 4 day break.Driver fantastic,coach fantastic. Hotel -- Oh dear,Never again!!!!!! The Hotel was in a complete time warp,lacking most of the modern amenities you expect in 2016. Reception area displayed notices 'smoking in room fumigation charge £250','lost key £10',Debit/credit cards cannot be used to purchase drinks from the bar','drinks purchased from the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank doncar2016
CHRISI1, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear certain aspects didn't meet your requirements. The hotel has to highlight certain areas with notices on notice boards in order to notify guests and provide information that is necessary. Had the hotel not have these notices the guest would then complain that they were not notified. Every hotel has to have... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

We have just come back from a 4 day holiday with Just Go holidays and stayed at this hotel. It's in a lovely position close to the old town and the beach. As soon as we arrived the staff were there to take our bags from the coach to the reception while we were sent to collect our keys. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wendyb29549
CHRISI1, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

Had a lovely break at the Auckland hotel last week through just go holidays,my wife and i enjoyed the trips out every day.We had a nice big room,service was very good, enjoyed the food very much,the staff could not do enough for you and always had smiles on their faces,i have no idea why the previous person wrote what he... More 

Helpful?
Thank harry b
CHRISI1, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you had a great stay and very much look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#21 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#29 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#33 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#27 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Auckland Hotel offers superb purpose built modern accommodation in a tranquil setting, being located in a much sought after select area,only two minutes strollfrom the lift to the beach,the theatre,Gardens,Shops,Chine and Old Village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Address: 10 Queen's Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $91 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay