We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Auckland Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Auckland Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 164: English reviews
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a five day trip to the Isle of Wight with National Holidays. This hotel is ideally located for the town centre, the old village and the seafront. There is a cliff lift nearby for those who can't manage slopes that is operational between 9.30 am and fairly late at night. The hotel are obviously running... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room. We have never received complaints regarding this room before. If you required juice and cereal at breakfast time, all you had to do was ask a member of staff. If the bed wasn't made properly then it would have been useful to of... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

went to the Auckland on the 29th of August 2016 and when we got there they gave us our room keys and what a shock when i went into the room it was like going back to the 60's the carpet was very old and looked like it needed a good clean the furniture was out of flat pack and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. However, we are sorry to hear that certain things didn't meet your requirements. If you were unhappy during your stay you should have reported to reception. The tea/coffee facilities are replenished every morning. Unfortunately it is impossible to please everyone. Thank you and regards. More 

Travelers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had three nights here and really amazed at other people's reviews. We came on the scooter rally at the last minute and when we read reviews expected the worst ! The hotel is 1) Clean, you couldnt fault the cleanliness 2) Food was superb,3) Staff were extremely pleasant and couldnt be more helpful. So all in all it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveTheOldMod
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best Regards More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

The hotel has a bright fresh look and has been newly refurbished and very clean inside. That's it's best points. No lift, poor hospility tray. Just 2 tea bags taken from a catering pack. 2 coffee, 4 milk. You could purchase more, so penny pinching. Food served in one sitting, little choice, food from the 70s. Chicken Kiev, Pork Escalope,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we do not have a lift, which it clearly states before you book, that we do not offer a lift. The tea/coffee facilities available in your room is replenished by your chambermaid on a daily basis and is provided according to the package that you paid for. We do not offer staggered times at... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Went here with my family. staff were friendly but that's probably all that was good, not much choice for dinner dirty cutlery. Our room was above kitchen so heard bashing around of plates a lot and the light outside our room shone in all night as you can't turn it off. The bar isn't open much so you have nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma S
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We like to offer a varied menu, however, we are sorry if this was not suitable. The light does turn off, but you should of mentioned this to a member of staff and we would of seen to it. The bar is open for guests and drinks are available for all our guests. All you... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Two really big let downs with this hotel , no lift and no entertainment , the staff were friendly , we had a lady named carol whoe was so helpful and friendly . The owner a right misery. The food was really good but not a lot of choice .tea coffee facility's in rooms but one coffee one tea bag... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Susanslunkerbowker
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we do not have a lift at our hotel which we do tell people before they book. Most hotels in Shanklin do not provide lifts. The owner is always, friendly and courteous and on hand if there is anything that you need. Perhaps it was yourself that was a right misery! The tea/coffee facilities... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

i just got back from a nice 7 day break you can not fault the hotel staff they was very sportive and good and looked after us my room was very small but comfortable its only few mins away from the sea front few mins away from all the shops the other way its in a perfect place only few... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amjbeck
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear our entertainers did not suit you. Kind Regards More 

Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Just back from another wonderful stay at the hotel, the staff were friendly as always food and Terry and Paul were excellent on the entertainment! We've booked to come back again! Unbelievable comments from some people on here! But some people expect the ritz on the most cheapest of holidays you can get! Think the hotel do a fab job... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank george b
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again in the very near furutre. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

I spent a 4 night break in this hotel, with JustGo holidays. Overall the break was really good and well worth the money. The driver was friendly and knowledgeable. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was small and the furniture and bed throw were dated and tired. However it was lovely and clean.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Spesh1
CHRISI1, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to highlight the fact that we do not dish out our keys. The keys are already on the bedroom doors. We allocate the room numbers to the guests so that our guests know which rooms they are in. We like to be organised and have an efficient check in, in order to... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

We were with Just Go Holidays for 4 days half board. Our room was clean and had en suite bathroom. Only had a view of the back car park but this did not matter really, Staff were all helpful and polite. Meals were fine, simple meals, not fresh ingredients though as mostly appeared frozen especially the vegetables, We had entertainment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
CHRISI1, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to point out that our food is not frozen. With the budget packages provided, some food is fresh frozen. All meals are prepared freshly and served piping hot. Meal times suit the major majority of our guests. When we have had later dinner times in the past, the majority of guests commented... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Victoria Lodge Hotel
#33 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#24 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#19 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Auckland Hotel offers superb purpose built modern accommodation in a tranquil setting, being located in a much sought after select area,only two minutes strollfrom the lift to the beach,the theatre,Gardens,Shops,Chine and Old Village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Address: 10 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $84 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay