We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cliff Hall Hotel

Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (8)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Cliff Hall is a traditional family run hotel and has been within the same family for over 14 years. We concentrate on a warm welcome, good breakfasts and comfy beds. Our reviews speak for themselves and we care about our guests. All our bedrooms are individually decorated, offering character and uniqueness. All have modern amenities, TV's, heating and hospitality trays as standard. The Cliff Hall has outstanding sea views in all its public areas and many bedrooms offer unrivalled seaviews. You can choose from sun terrace sea view rooms, Juliette balcony or full frontal sea views. For our families we have family rooms to cater for all budgets, including a games room, with table tennis, tv and much more. For our single traveller we have single rooms with double beds and side sea views. The garden affords panoramic sea views of Shanklin and Sandown Bay. There is also a secluded sun terrace. Breakfast is a casual affair with a buffet style breakfast offering cold and hot selections.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Bay View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
91Great for walkers
Grade: 91 out of 100
30Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
159Reviews
78Photos
1Q+A
43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 38
  • 7
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Would never stay again after being spoken to in such a rude manner by a woman who clearly run the hotel but has no manners or people skills. Also single room was like a cupboard so didn’t even stay the second night. Only great thing about this hotel is the location. The 1 star
Read more
Response from cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review. Its a shame that you felt after your bad behaviour within the hotel that you felt guilty about it and 10 months later decided to write a dishonest review. Many thanks. Please do not come back again. Thank you.
Read more
+7
My mother is disabled, I rang around a few places to get a disabled room for her. I spoke to Toni, Pippa or Mark on the phone and they were amazing understanding just what I needed. We only stayed 2 nights but they did everything for us, from booking the ferry to making mum feel
Read more
Response from cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel
Responded Sep 18, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Pros: Owners very pleasant and helpful Very clean throughout Cons: Room 9 Rather tired furniture, bathroom below average with very stiff shower cabinet door, cabinet leaks behind toilet & every time you take hold of the handheld shower the chrome holding bar comes away and has
Read more
Response from cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel
Responded Sep 11, 2018
Thank you for your feed back. It is a shame you didn't mention to us whilst you were staying that there was a leak in your bathroom or the shower door was stiff or that the chrome holder has been broken by anther guest. All very fixable and we will now go and fix the leak etc. Thank you. We are sorry that the eggs were cold . Again this is something we could have fixed and it is a rare negative feedback. We accept your comments about the half board option. However it is limited as we only offer this for one week of the year.
Read more
Spent my 14th year at Cliff Hall and really enjoyed myself. The buffet breakfast keeps you going all day and you can as much or as little as you like. Entertainment was good Casino Carl, Mike one of the owners did a quiz. We had a great Karioke I think the whole hotel was up the
Read more
I don’t usually leave reviews but really loved it so much that I felt I should. We came to celebrate my mums birthday and we couldn’t speak highly enough of the staff, how helpful they were, the facilities and location. Nothing was too much trouble and the everyone went above
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & Suite
Garden are
Inside room 7
Views from room 4 and garden
Views from room 4 and garden
Views from room 4 and garden
PreviousNext
12
All rooms are ensuite
0 votes
"The downstairs rooms with sea views are huge and have private seating areas outside"
"nice view, good location"
"Sea view room"
"All I think would be quiet. If no sea view plenty of opportunity in dining roo, sitting room and gardens."
"The double rooms are lot smaller as compared to the rooms with two single beds."
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightShanklin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing