We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Aqua Hotel

#20 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Aqua Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only dined at the Aqua but the food was superb. I was informed that the crab had been caught and prepared that morning and it tasted so good I can easily believe it. The whole meal was delicious but probably the best crab that I have ever tasted.

Helpful?
Thank Rupert H
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in for lunch while visiting Shanklin, beautiful location, lovely bar & lounge, very happy staff, & the toilets were wonderful best Ive ever seen, spotless!!!!!. the food was wonderful, will call again, might even stay a couple of nights.

Helpful?
Thank Faye P
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was generally very clean. The staff were very friendly. The room 16 we stayed in was nice with fabulous sea views, it was on the small side though. 1 small chair to sit in and 2 on the balcony. The bathroom was ok, very clean, the shower was not the best but it work, pressure fluctuated. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were visiting Shanklin after a hearty breakfast at our self catering apartment in Ventnor. It was now 3.30pm and we were ready for our Sunday meal. Being lovers of the Sunday Roast we were looking for eating houses to accommodate us. As usual most places stop serving Sunday lunch about 2pm so we had left it a bit late.... More 

Helpful?
Thank EnglandSunshinegirl
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a brilliant time, everyone very friendly. If you value your sleep though, avoid room 10. Very noisy most of the day. Think it's above the kitchen. If you can get Room 17 it's a perfect single room. Think the two either side are great double rooms. Waking up to the sound of waves is amazing, and the balcony view... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dean S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

UPDATED:There were both positive and less positive aspects to my stay. While the general position and decor of the hotel was good the Cliff Lift is not working until July so a bit of a walk down the steps. Is good if you like exercise. The hotel room itself was value for money: Compact but comfortable with basic amenities available.The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mears2
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Four of us popped in for tea/coffee and snacks. My Dad had toasted teacake perfectly fine and good price. I had cheese and ham toastie nice good ham and flavoursome cheese. My Mrs had cheese and onion nice again and not overly expensive the biggest letdown was my Mums sausage and red onion chutney baguette which was around £8 the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
Jimbo3024, Owner at Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that your party enjoyed your snacks at The Aqua Hotel but are disappointed that your mother did not enjoy her Hot Sausage and Red Onion Relish Baguette which includes a prime sausage and actually cost just £6.25 including VAT - rather than £8 as you reviewed. We are sure that if you had made any of our... More 

Burgess Hill
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

We stayed one night at The Aqua for our wedding anniversary and could not have wished for a better choice. Annette the owner was extremely helpful with the booking process and arranged our ferry at the discounted Islanders rate. Also very helpful with suggestions of places to go when we arrived. The room had a sea view, and en suite,... More 

Helpful?
Thank PAS134
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Just spent our fifth holiday at the Aqua. As always very good. Rooms have been refurbished to a high standard and ours was very comfortable. Food excellent as usual and staff very pleasant and helpful. Thank you for a lovely stay.Annette & James.

Helpful?
Thank JeanandRobin
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Set perfectly on the Shanklin prom, this hotel offers bistro style food for non residents. We sampled offerings from the specials menu and the regular menu with equal success! My husband particularly recommends the Fishermans Pie! Our visit was mid week and mid season so the hotel bar and restaurant were quiet, everyone was very friendly and helpful, but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#29 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Address: 17 The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $97 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay