We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Shanklin Guest House

Traveler (56)
Room & Suite (32)
Pool & Beach (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Wight
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Opened in 2011 Old Shanklin Guest House is owned and run by Gareth and Sarah James. There are five en suite rooms. We have sourced local artwork for you to enjoy and local produce for you to eat! The guest lounge is available morning to evening with local information, local magazines and board games. Breakfast specials change daily, with Full English always on the menu. Parking for Bonchurch Suite, St Helens Room, Tennyson & Godshill Rooms. All rooms are booked by name, so you know what you are paying for.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
41Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
13Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
445Reviews
1Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 425
  • 18
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a very comfortable B&B offering a comfortable room all with en-suite and providing a breakfast to die for. We stayed in the St Helens suite very comfortable bed clean and a good shower, very welcoming by Garth and Sarah but the crowning glory is there breakfast mostly
Read more
We had booked three nights without realising that they coincided with Hampshire’s first visit to the IOW for a first class cricket match since the early 1960s, which was ideal since we are both cricket fans. Blessed with excellent weather we were able to sight see in the
Read more
We have a super short break with lovely friendly hosts. The guest house is in a fantastic location close to all amenities including restaurants, pubs, the theatre and the main bus route. The room was extremely clean with a comfortable bed and a large bathroom with walk in
Read more
Nothing was too much trouble for Sarah and Gareth. The guest house accommodation exceeded our expectations, we have already booked again for September. The kindness of our hosts made the trip extra special, so why not experience this for yourself? You will not be disappointed!
Read more
Stayed in the Bonchurch suite for 6 nights, the suite is spacious with a large kingsize bed and en-suite with jacuzzi tub and separate shower with body jets and hand held shower head. The breakfasts that are included range from continental to a full English and are delicious
Read more
Response from Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Alan & Lesley, Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing more of you in the future! Kind regards Sarah
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightShanklin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing