We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Old Shanklin Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Shanklin Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 325: English reviews
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were made very welcome by Sarah and Gareth and enjoyed our welcome tea and home made biscuits in the guest lounge when we arrived. The décor in the guest house was lovely and our bedroom was very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the tasty breakfasts and were impressed with choice of food and the fact everything was home made. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue M
South Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very good welcome. Tasteful ground floor bedroom. Good choice of breakfasts, well presented and most enjoyable. Overall excellent stay. Parking was provided but it was a bit tight. Excellent restaurants very close by.

Helpful?
Thank Supergran100
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gareth and Sarah are great hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The house is situated in a great location, the rooms are spacious, en-suite facilities are good and the breakfast is first class. Thoroughly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Daryl C
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Daryl, Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you liked so many aspects of our guest house. Hope to see you again. Sarah More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location is great, as its right in Old Shanklin with pubs and a good bistro really close. However, its off the main street so it is quiet and there is parking. The room was very light and airy and nicely decorated, Very comfortable bed. We had a huge shower in the bathroom. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank E_from_Harrogate
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our WiFi has been slow previously, but we have recently changed our provider and it seems to have done the trick. Hope to see you again. Sarah More 

Southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gareth and Sarah are very welcoming hosts and run an excellent B&B, with close attention to detail. The location is fantastic being a 30 second walk from the main street in Shanklin, and yet super quiet for a great night's sleep. The room was spacious and well-equipped; the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts are fantastic with a level of choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJP307
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Hi SJP, Thank you for your very kind and very prompt review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of the breakfast specials. We would love to have you back. Kind regards Sarah More 

Wokingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the St Helen's Room which is on the ground floor, very spacious and beautifully appointed. Gareth and Sarah are fantastic hosts and the breakfast is excellent, with locally sourced products, home made bread and jams, and with a daily special. Right in the centre of Old Shanklin with good restaurants and pubs within a few minutes walk,... More 

Helpful?
Thank BobWokingham
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you liked the home made produce. And yes, we are very lucky with our location. Hope to see you back one day. Kind regards Sarah More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I went with a friend for a long weekend. The couple running the inn is super welcoming and fun with good advice when needed too. Room was really nice and comfy, quality mattress is a big plus. Breakfast was ok but not overwhelming but the welcoming cookies were. When in Shanklin def a good choice to stay and I'll come... More 

Helpful?
Thank KateSnek
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can't quite place who you are, so unfortunately I cannot comment on your breakfast. But genuinely if you have any suggestions as to how you would like to see the breakfast improved please do email us direct. We are always looking at ways to improve. Especially if you do come back again. Glad you... More 

UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I honestly can't praise this guest house enough. The location is perfect, the beds are really comfortable and the breakfasts are amazing. I had the best breakfast I've had anywhere for a long time. It was delicious. We planned to book for next year but we wanted to return with a baby and unfortunately they do not take children. Such... More 

Helpful?
Thank brewster83
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We have lost a few guests to babies! You never know you might get a kind grandparent to give you a break. There are a couple of reasons for not having children under 12, not that we don't like them, we have one ourselves, but we can't fit any more people in the... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in the St Helens room on the ground floor - it felt like a mini holiday, and we left a day later well rested and sad to go. The room was lovely with double aspect sash windows. the building is beautiful, in a lovely residential road, and the hosts were very welcoming. We were determined... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kentgirl_63
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and both specials! Breakfast is served from 8.30 - 9.15. We have tried many different times over the year, earlier and later, but this time seems to suit most people, so we've gone with the majority. The Village Inn are well known for having a good choice of... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sarah and Gareth are friendly and excellent hosts, the B&B is in a great location, within easy reach of everything in Shanklin but far enough removed to be very peaceful. Nice room (Tennyson), fab shower and breakfast, fair prices. We would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Congoblues
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

We are lucky that the road is so quiet, despite it being yards from the Old Village. Glad you liked the shower. We have another one planned for Godshill Room for the end of this year. Thank you for your review. Sarah More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#8 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Opened in 2011 Old Shanklin Guest House is owned and run by Gareth and Sarah James. There are five en suite rooms. We have sourced local artwork for you to enjoy and local produce for you to eat! The guest lounge is available morning to evening with local information, local magazines and board games. Breakfast specials change daily, with Full English always on the menu. Parking for Bonchurch Suite, St Helens Room, Tennyson & Godshill Rooms. All rooms are booked by name, so you know what you are paying for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Shanklin Guest House

Address: 20 Grange Road, Shanklin PO37 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $93 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Shanklin Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Old Shanklin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Shanklin Guest House Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay