We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Miclaran

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Miclaran
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked the Miclaran to take my mum away for a long weekend for her birthday and we certainly weren't disappointed. Sue and Alan were very friendly, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room had an amazing seaview and it was spotlessly clean, the linen and towels were fresh and brillant white. The cooked breakfasts were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion140571
Newhaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely peaceful setting with a beautiful view from our room. Sue and Alan were great very welcoming and they prepared a fantastic breakfast every morning. The room was clean and comfortable with everything you needed to have a lovely holiday. Would definitely recommend staying here .

Helpful?
Thank ashenden1
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely place to stay,stunning sea views out the window and stunning garden,room lovely and comfortable. Sue and Alan great hosts,lovely food for breakfast , would love to go back next year. Great place to stay on the isle of Wright defiantly recommend a stay there

Helpful?
Thank Debs P
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this review

Thank you Debs! Give us a call for a 5% loyalty discount when you want to book next year. More 

Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our second visit and as good as the first this has to be cleanest guest house i have ever stayed in and we have stayed in lots Breakfast Superb, cereals, fruits, yogurts lots to choose from. Mains cooked fresh served with toast i can recommend the poached eggs , loverly walks on the cliff path to Shanklin or Sandown,

Helpful?
Thank alcolin37
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this review

Thank you-we appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you for a third time! More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely stay!! Comfortable bed, room had beautiful sea views. Amazing garden and great breakfasts! Shanklin and Sandown are about a 15 minute walk away- we loved to walk out, down the steps to the beach, just 5 minutes away.

Helpful?
Thank stanstacho
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments- come and visit again sometime! More 

Church Fenton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sue and Alan were delightful hosts. Very helpful in suggesting things to do. Breakfast was plentiful,well cooked with lots of choice. Off street parking is a good thing. Location was near to good restaurants with fabulous views out to sea. Their garden was a delight to sit in and have a drink when we came back in or to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank kenrich6491
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this review

Hello Ken, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the garden, and your time at the Miclaran. Please give us a call for your return visit as we give 5% loyalty discount to returning guests. More 

Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very pleasant gentleman owned the hotel. The rooms were fresh and clean. However, double beds rather small, so not a good sleep. Breakfasts were disappointing. Didn't have much taste. Poached eggs were hard. Tomatoes had a slight tangy taste

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraineriley97
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this review

Good afternoon Lorraine Thank you for your comments, our double beds are standard double beds. If you were not happy with your breakfast you should have said and we would have recooked it for you, we are disappointed that you didn't give us the opportunity to put it right, as we usually have such a good response to our breakfasts... More 

Solihull, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

After reviewing various places for a three night break, we chose The Miclaren and we were certainly not disappointed. With a great location on the cliffs, right on the Coastal Path, it suited us admirably. Accompanied by our adult daughter, we had first floor bedrooms (rooms 3 & 4) overlooking the sea. The rooms were of a reasonable size and... More 

Helpful?
Thank H0ppy
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments to the Miclaran and the island, Alan and I hope to tackle the walk to Ventnor ourselves some time! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in August, couldn't fault anything, rooms were lovely & clean, good breakfast provided with lots choice, very quiet location but just 10 - 15 minutes walk to Shanklin or Sandown beaches along the coastal path. Would definitely stay here again, much recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Maria T
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this review

Thank you Maria, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. When you want to come back please give us a call as we give 5% discount to returning guests and we can book discounted ferry crossings. Kind Regards. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Spent a week here recently, and throughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely quiet clifftop location made it a good base to explore the island. Both Shanklin and Sandown are within easy walking distance on the clifftop path. Our hosts Alan and Sue are very friendly and professional and gave the impression that nothing would be too much trouble for them. Lovely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
Sue I, Owner at The Miclaran, responded to this review

Thank you Colin for your lovely comments- yes the Miclaran is a special place! We give 5% discount to returning guests and can book discounted ferry crossings, so when you want to come back please give us a call. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#15 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fawley
The Fawley
#16 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge
Bedford Lodge
#11 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brooke House
Brooke House
#13 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gracellie Hotel
Gracellie Hotel
#34 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just for adults, The Miclaran holds a superb cliff top location in a quiet residential area with direct access to the coastal path, and enjoys stunning panoramic views over Sandown Bay to Culver Cliff. Nearby steps lead from the coastal path to Shanklin's beautiful sandy beach below, which is sheltered and offers safe bathing plus a variety of water sports such as canoeing, sailing and surfing. Shanklin Espanade, Shanklin Chine, and the picturesque thatched Old Village are a 15-20 minute walk away, Sandown Esplanade is a 15-20 minute walk in the other direction;if you are looking for something to eat or drink you will be spoilt for choice with a range of tea rooms, cafes, pubs and restaurants. The accommodation provides:* Panoramic sea views from all double/ twin/ triple rooms, as well as from the lounge, breakfast room and garden.* Comfortable, well presented rooms all ensuite with showers or shower over bath.* Bedrooms have flat screen TVs with free view, alarm clock radios, hospitality trays and hair dryers.* Please note; bedrooms are on first and second floors. There is a varied breakfast menu using quality ingredients such as free range eggs and vine tomatoes, a vegetarian option is available, and we can cater for special dietary needs by prior arrangement.* Free Wi Fi* Free guest on site parking* Accommodation just for adults (16+)Car ferry inclusive deals are available, and discounts given on longer stays: please phone for details.The Miclaran is a place to relax and unwind and a provides a perfect base to explore the lovely Isle of Wight ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Miclaran

Address: 37 Littlestairs Road, Shanklin PO37 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $92 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Miclaran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miclaran Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay