We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shanklin Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shanklin Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 427: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for four nights with travelstyle coach tours. We had a second floor room which was not a sea view but was perfectly adequate for our needs. The room was quite spacious and the beds seemed quite new with clean white bed linen and white towels. The bathroom was a little disappointing as it was a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank juditpars
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed Monday to Friday. Group of 6. Arrived right on evening meal and only one person on reception. First problem booking in when the receptionist couldn't find a room key for the third room. At first it seemed as if she was saying there was no room booked but we had all the paperwork with us. She programmed a new... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Just spent 6 nights at this very friendly hotel. It is tired and in need of some loving care but it is clean and welcoming. The staff are great. Food is good with choice. It is 2 star so basic. The price is excellent value. You cant expect 5 star luxury for 2 star prices. Great place for a holiday.

Helpful?
Thank alimbutt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went down on a theatre break as we had enjoyed the theatre visit two months before, but found the hotel had much less staff than now. One receptionist very rarely seen,never saw manager at all or we would have asked for a different room as ours wasn't very clean.The mattress had stains on so l took the quilt and laid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan P

Travelers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Large seaveiw room.clean and tidy,Hotel a good coach traveller stop.Independent travellers will want to eat out as mealtimes 8-9 breakfast 6-7 dinner are a bit of a scrum.The staff are helpful and friendly.Hotel needs some TLC,

Helpful?
Thank terrypoore
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have never been to the Isle of Wight before, we went with National Holiday's. What a beautiful island it is. Our coach driver came from the Isle of Wight and he told us everything we needed to know about the Island. The Hotel Shanklin Beach was lovely, the staff were very friendly, the room was cleaned every day and... More 

Helpful?
Thank suemahon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a good 8 hours travelling on coach from Hull we were greeted by a female version of Victor Meldrew wearing what looked like a miniskirt. She looked verry tacky which in my mind was a representation of the Hotel. We were with about another 20 people a few of the older genaration were in our group. When we got... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mally W
Martin H, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Shanklin Beach Hotel. I am not surprised that this review reads as rude as you were on arrival night at the Hotel which can only be likened to child that couldn’t get what he wanted and would not listen to reason, so decided to... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location. Room decent . restaurant staff pleasant and helpful .due to large numbers of guests service slow .food basic .good bus service .great for children .lovely atmosphere .locals pleasant and helpful. Decent prices to eat out and all attractions. Long journey with national holidays coach but would go again if cld stay longer instead of week as was really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Martin H, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Shanklin Beach Hotel. We are pleased to read that you were happy with most aspects of your stay and that you found the dining room staff pleasant and helpful. We have noted your comments regarding our evening meals and thank you for your thoughts... More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last week as we were attending a family funeral. There were 5 adults and we had booked 2 rooms. We paid upon arrival and eventually found our rooms as the signposting was not very good. Our rooms were basic but clean but I expected more for the price we paid. We had drinks in the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle W
Martin H, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Shanklin Beach Hotel. As you are aware, this matter is fully resolved with no monetary loss to yourselves, together with a full and satisfactory explanation. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a terrible coach journey which took over 10 hours from the Midlands we arrived at the hotel at 20.40 p.m. The staff were very friendly and kept the kitchen open for our evening meal. When we went to our room the keycard would not open the door, great after spending all that time travelling. The room was very basic... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
Martin H, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Shanklin Beach Hotel. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy certain aspects of your stay with us. If we had of been made aware that you were unhappy with your room, I am sure a member of the management team would have been able... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#21 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Earlier this year The Shanklin Beach Hotel went under a massive refurbishment program. With modernised rooms, new electrics,new Steakhouse, computerised reservation system, as well new decking on our Sea View balcony rooms. Thank you for all your comments and patient whilst this transition from old new has been going on. And we look forward to your continued support.We are located withing 30 metres from the water and beautiful sandy beach. Close to the gaming arcade, shops and childrens theme park.Best wishes Management and staff at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Address: 35-38 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: $51 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay