We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Culloden Estate & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Culloden Estate & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,636: English reviews
Start your review of Culloden Estate & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Real Irish hospitality in a wonderful setting: I have hosted several overseas business partners here and they have all fallen in love with the place and the people. Quiet with sea views but train halt adjacent to the gardens takes tourists to Belfast City Centre in 20 minutes. Great stuff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George V
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear George V, Thank you for your lovely review, we're delighted with your comments and that you feel the Culloden Estate & Spa is a great place to bring your business partners. We really look forward to you returning very soon. Kind regards Arran Williams Head Concierge

Arequipa Region, Peru
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

"Culloden Estate and Spa is located on the slopes of Hollywood Hills which gives you an amazing view of Belfast Lough and County Antrim coastline. We stayed at the Dunlop Suite where we have a nice TV set and a king – sized bed. I really love big beds because it is so comfortable. The one from our suite didn’t...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TwoMonkeysTravel
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TwoMonkeysTravel, I was delighted to read your review of how you enjoyed your stay with us at the Culloden Estate & Spa, Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments. We're really pleased you liked the Dunlop Suite, as it's a beautiful suite with excellent views of the Belfast lough and yes a huge king size...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Culloden for two nights from Wednesday 22nd of March 2017 and checked out on Friday 24th of March. This hotel is visually very pleasing and I loved their paintings, which are dispersed throughout the hotel. We were exhausted on arrival, as We had to collect our boat in the mooring in Leitrim and then travel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonyamsonyamsonyam
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sonyamsonyamsonyam, Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your stay at the Culloden Estate & Spa, I was delighted to read about you experience and how you enjoyed your stay with us. I was disappointed to read the last section of your review and can only apologise sincerely, this is something that has been...

belfast
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

my daugher in law and myself spent a wonderful day at the spa. nicole and frances made every treatment so special and so enjoyable. we thought they went beyond the norm just for us,we left feeling great and relaxed. thank you girls we will be back. annemarie & julie.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matildabBelfast
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear matildabBelfast Thank you for your wonderful review I was delighted to hear yourself and your daughter in law had a 5 star experience at our Spa. I will also let Nicole and Frances know how you enjoyed your treatments, We look forward to welcoming back, Kind Regards Carolyn Stalker Guest Relations Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall a great experience, fantastic friendly concierges and management. Stayed for a friends wedding and loved the experience. The evening was run very well and the food was fantastic. Small problems on the suite, with all 3 light bulbs not working and one in my parents suite opposite which caused some annoyance as we spent 5-10minutes playing with the light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas W, Thank you for your review of the Culloden Estate & Spa, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and had a great time at the wedding. We're sorry that you had a problem with the light bulbs but pleased it was resolved quickly for you. I'm really please you made the most of the Spa facilities it's very...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very relaxing and enjoyable afternoon. I booked ahead and when we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Our table overlooked the lawn with a view of the bay although it was raining. An hour and a half later, four pots of tea, an empty cake stand and tightened waist bands we left very satisfied with our experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoDCRT
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JoDCRT, Thank you for your review about your experience having Afternoon Tea at the Culloden Estate & Spa, I'm delighted you had a relaxing and enjoyable time with us. The cake stands are full of temptation but i'm pleased to hear you left them 'empty'. We look forward to your return in the very near future. Kind regards Arran...

Dromore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Surprise Afternoon Tea booked by my wonderful husband to mark our four month anniversary & end of our mini-moon as it was unexpectedly cut short with the sad passing of his Dad. Attention to detail was excellent catering for my allergies with absolutely no problem. Friendly, knowledgeable staff who ensured all was ok but in a friendly non evasive way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gwynyb
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gwynyb, I'm delighted to read your review about your Surprise afternoon tea but very sorry to hear your sad news. I'm glad you enjoyed the afternoon tea, there really are some delicious treats to tempt you!! It would be a pleasure to have you return to see us again soon, maybe stay and make use of all the facilities...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the first viewing through to check out, the Culloden provided impeccable service every step of the way. All of our expectations were exceeded and the staff went above and beyond for us, with attention to the finest detail. Special mention to Victoria and Owen who looked after us on the wedding day and kept everything running smoothly. Jenny and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelemma87
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Travelemma87, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review as i'm sure its been a very busy time for you. We're delighted you had a great time during your stay and your wedding day will be full of fond memories, we're very pleased your guest's also enjoyed their time with us especially as some had come...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed in The Culloden on the 3rd March in the gorgeous Carnoustie suite to celebrate my husband's birthday. Nothing was too much trouble from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. Travelling with a toddler and a young child can be daunting but we were made feel very welcome. The suite was fantastic. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanMaryHarrison
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Siobhan, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of you stay with us at the Culloden Estate & Spa. We're delighted you and your family had a great time with us, I hope your husband had a fantastic birthday celebration. Please come back soon and hopefully you'll get some sunshine to enjoy the grounds and...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My best friend's mum treated us to an afternoon tea for my birthday at the Culloden Estate & Spa. Although I had never visited the place, I had only heard good things about it so I had great expectations. To my surprise my expectations were greatly excedeed!!!!! The food was lovely and the place spotless, but I can't get over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartaSands
cullodenhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MartaSands, I'm delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write it. We're really pleased you had a great experience at the Culloden Estate & Spa especially as it was your Birthday celebration and we exceeded your expectations. I will pass on your kind comments to Niall and the team, please come back to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,089 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (549)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (234)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (498)
Viewed
Amenities (104)
Viewed
Junior Suite (67)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Garden View (68)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (59)
Viewed
The Hotel (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
961 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
204 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Price Range: $204 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Culloden Estate & Spa staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Culloden Estate & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms to the front of the hotel have a lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles holidays010, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“All high standard”
 of 5 bubbles chocolatekiwiIreland, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Sea view rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles NerysJones2014, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for view of the lough”
 of 5 bubbles Diddl26, Feb 18, 2017 | Read review
“Executive wing for best rooms although numerous suites available throughout the hotel, some of which have views of Belfast Lough.”
 of 5 bubbles 212raymondp, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question