We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amber House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Amber House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amber House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 254: English reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked a very late weekend away for myself, fiancee and son just based on the reviews from Tripadvisor and photos and we were not disappointed one bit. I have found over the years photos of places you stay are not exactly true of the "real" place when you get there but not in this instance. We stayed in Rockpool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkaboutmick
amberblue, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

We're delighted with your review - and the lovely photo you sent of your son with a big smile holding his Easter Egg .And the lovely thank you note he wrote so beautifully too! Amazing! He's a clever lad. Of course it would be lovely to see you all back enjoying a few more days here in Amber House. Many...

Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay here and we weren't disappointed. Highly recommend staying here particularly if you have a four legged friend! The purpose of this stay was to celebrate my wife's birthday, Chris and Lloyd not only provided Champagne as requested in the garden but also strawberries and a box of chocolates along with a lovely card from them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nottmtrucker
amberblue, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Hi all - thank you for the review . I do hope the Chocolate Fest hasn't done too much damage to the dental work or waistlines! It was lovely to see you back again - joining the ranks of the many returning guests we have. When people come back again it is so much more relaxed for everyone- we know...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had to book a last minute, what a fabulous find! I normally trol the internet and read accommodation reviews before I go anywhere, circumstances didnt give me the opportunity.......so relieved that we fell on our feet here! christine met us as we arrived, what a lovely lady, extremely helpful and informative. Refreshing to find someone with pride in the accomodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BanburyCake
amberblue, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review! Yes I know you wished you had brought your dog but now you know all about us and all our dog facilities in house and the dog-friendly beach so close by I am sure you will be confident in bringing your dog here next time. Many thanks.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had a lovely few days here in October. The room we had was tall ships which was a really nice room with everything you could want. It had a nice view with the lights of Brixham shining in the distance. The only thing we would have liked to see different in the room was a picture of tall ships or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Budsmum13
amberblue, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay. Tall Ships is our "Flagship" room - sorry about the pun - and I am glad you found it so comfortable. There were Tall Ships in the bay at the time we decorated the room. I know what you mean about the picture - we searched high and low for a suitable...

crewe
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The most dog friendly stay we have had. Fabulous service and very clean tidy stay. Situated near stunning gardens, childrens play area, beech and many attractions. Breakfast was full and owners went out of their way do give us food we wanted Beautiful garden for sitting in, wifi t.v in rooms with dvd library.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devonollie
amberblue, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Apologies for not saying thank you for the review earlier. I think you were one of our last guests before we closed at the end of October. We really appreciate the time and effort people put into reviewing us and also the fact that they enjoy the way we run Amber House and everything we try to offer to make...

solihull
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very last minute booking on the internet. booked on Sunday arrived Monday 14th October to 16th October Glad we found the Amber. Dog friendly, well appointed rooms, breakfast fit for a king only draw back there was too much......and a daily breakfast sausage for our doggy Ellie. Would definitely recommend Thank you Chris and Lloyd.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul b
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 11, 2013

have just returned from a very pleasent stay at amber house , when i was looking to book a short break we had very specific needs , 3 rooms , one on the ground floor and one dog friendly , Amber house were able to provide this , the rooms were all perfect , very clean and with great attention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WYESOWL
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in tall ships and really enjoyed the comfy bed , the view of the sea , and the hospitality of our hosts . Breakfast each morning at 8.15 - 9.15 am in the ample dinning room at our assigned table was plentiful and various nothing was too much trouble to prepare , my soft boiled egg was cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne M
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently booked a cheap holiday for a long weekend at a holiday park in Brixham, but on arrival decided there was no way we could stay there. I booked online at amber house and was delighted we did so. Despite booking barely twenty minutes before arriving Christine showed us round while her husband made up our room. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slates41
Weybridge
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having never stayed at a B&B before I was unsure as to what to expect. I had carefully checked out the Amberhouse Hotel before booking over the 'phone. The first impression when talking with Christine was that you had luckily found a warm and professional owner who would make you very welcome. When I told her I would be arriving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 100 in Paignton
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beecroft Lodge
Beecroft Lodge
#6 of 100 in Paignton
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#2 of 100 in Paignton
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#5 of 100 in Paignton
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amber House is situated in a quiet location overlooking Goodrington Sands. You will find ample free on-site parking and a garden to enjoy when you wish. We have sea-view, ground floor, single, double and family rooms. All dietary needs catered for including gluten-free. Dogs welcome. Comfortable, contemporary and informal and only a few minutes walk from park and beach. You will be ideally situated to discover the delights of Devon's countryside and coast with or without a car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amber House

Address: 6 Roundham Road, Paignton TQ4 6EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $55 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Amber House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Paignton
Amber House Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Amber House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Shipley, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Amber House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Coast, Tall Ships & Bay View have lovely views of the sea. Poirot is an art deco treasure too.”
 of 5 bubbles tracyw472, 3 days ago | Read review
“Harbour room is a fabulous family room.”
 of 5 bubbles 582cerid, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“If your looking for a room with a sea view then don't book the Agatha room, although be aware that the cost per night will be higher.”
 of 5 bubbles 27markn, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the POIROT room and had no complaints. Not a room overlooking the sea but we found it quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles treesrgreen58, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“Amber House is in a quiet residential road. All rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles C9215IYbrianc, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question