We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 438: English reviews
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

went with shearings on a the 15th august for a 5 day break. first of all we had a long journey down laving stretton at 10.15 am and arriving at the hotel at 7 pm. having had to put up with loud radio from driver up to strentham services yes loud some seem not bothered but it was turned down... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joejoanbrentwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this hotel as last minute getaway Mum,Dad,partner and myself. Read reviews after booking and was a bit apprehensive but this was unfounded. Outside a bit worn but to be expected due to seafront location reception area etc very welcoming. Our room was on small side esp the bathroom but we only used these for purpose so not an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just got back from my first ever holiday on my own and also with shearings. On arrival first impressions was a bit dubious but on entering was pleasantly surprised. Although I had a single room found it very spacious,clean and nicely decorated. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Food was very good,always hot and nicely presented. My only... More 

Helpful?
Thank karen c
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen c Thank you for reviewing your first holiday alone, and sharing your experience. I am very pleased to read that you were pleased with our staff, food and liked your allocated room. Sometimes guests can go to their rooms straight after cabaret, and other times they are all on the floor dancing until late, it depends on the... More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Never have i stayed in such a creaky place , the floorboards in the passage ways are so so noisy , we had a room on the 2nd floor and to say it was small well it was tiny , the bathroom if you could call it that was awfull a shower that had a head was a shampoo spray... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank HOLIDAYTRIPSHOMEANDA
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HOLIDAYTRIPSHOMEANDA Thanks for the review. Due to us being a Victorian building, we d, on occasion, have issues with some creaky floor boards, which we rectify when possible and small bathrooms. I am sorry you did not find our reception staff friendly and helpful, this is very unusual, but I will look into your comments, as we usually receive... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Barton upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

disappointed with hotel, bathroom was smallest we had ever seen , staff not friendly, looked fed up buffet style breakfast always cold, plates cold,needs revamp, some part good , sea view windows needed a claen outside of hotel untidy,will not be staying here again, such a shame as the hotel has got a fantastic location, not the best hotel owned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen L Thank-you for reviewing us. Sorry you feel we didn’t live up to the high standard that you expected from Shearings. We have our windows clean fortnightly, however seaside conditions/seagulls can spoil that within minutes! our front gardens are maintained and only recently the public area's, entertainment bar, harbour bar, restaurant and many of our bedrooms have had... More 

london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed in Bay Hotels in Newquay and Ilfracombe I was really looking forward to the stay in Paignton.Sadly this hotel cannot compare to the other two.Rooms are very small and the bathroom was like a broom cupboard.The way the shelf was placed it was very hard to have a shave and like a previous report you had to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank boxerteeth
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear boxerteeth Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry to read that you felt the room size was detrimental to your holiday enjoyment compared to rooms that you received at our other hotels in Newquay and Ilfracombe. For environmental reasons, we don’t automatically change towels unless placed in the shower cubicle. There is a sign in your... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I returned home on Friday and wish I could start my holiday at the Esplanade again tomorrow. I read a lot of mixed reviews on here and decided to go with an open mind. I’m glad I did as I really enjoyed my time here. I stayed in Room 102 and would request this room again. The bathroom was a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kay H
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kay H. Thank you for your review. It is always nice to receive such a positive review as yours, as it does help our potential customers make an informed decision. As you stated, The Bay Esplanade, and indeed similar establishments are prone to receive negative comments from customers that are not entirely happy, and the majority of those contain... More 

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a short visit with Shearings and excellent driver, we had no complaints with the food, and the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, our waitress Chantelle, our cleaner Pam and barman James all worthy of a special mention. The only complaint for the bathroom it only had one shelf above the washbowl, a bit restricting..? In the bedroom... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CowsHolidays
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CowsHolidays Many thanks for your review relating to your stay with us at the Bay Esplanade. Sorry you felt we lacked space in some depts; but thanks for leaving us 4 stars, and we’ll pass on your regards to the members of our team whom you mentioned personally. Glad that you’d be happy to use us again, and your... More 

Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a seven night stay booked but left after 6, meal times where hectic,with a window of one hour fifteen minutes,you get allocated a table for your stay. Although we where moved to different seats on the breakfast sittings on three separate occasions ,and on one evening meal. The restruarant manager (sully) is dam right rude. On inquiring why... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin L
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin L Sorry to read that the title of your review was ‘disappointed’. As an establishment that invests in customer service, this isn’t what we want to read. Admittedly our rooms/bathrooms aren’t the biggest due to us being a Victorian hotel and the en-suites being added on many years later. Sorry if this was detrimental to the enjoyment of... More 

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time at Bay Esplanade Paington, got to say impressed with the food and friendly staff, yes James that's you! Barman, night porter etc the hotel was clean and newly decorated. Only complaint........ Self service breakfast ok but customers kept leaving the tops open on the food so it was cold most of the time. Otherwise.......wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank 11LynnE
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 11LynneE Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay with us. We will pass on your kind comments to our barman James; a relatively new member of our team, and I will look into your observation about the lids not being replaced at the buffet breakfast, and ensure the restaurant staff are made aware of this. All... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 20 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#32 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $129 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay