We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 428: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staying here for our holiday as on a Shearings coach breakAlthough the room we have is lovely as it had a brilliant view of the sea and harbour, it does need modernising as it is old fashioned. Service is brilliant and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Good if your looking for a budget type hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
Norwich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked through shearing's, like some reviews nothing like the picture!!! looks like the hotel is being refurbished in parts, room was clean but very dated, reception and bar staff friendly and helpful though. Restaurant staff looked like they were hating there job, but were polite.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent holiday everything was taken care of from start to finish. The planned trips out were really good and we got to see many places we would not normally see. Our driver Peter was brilliant and kept us laughing and entertained all day The hotel was clean and comfortable but looking a bit dated and the bathroom was very small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went on a shearings coach break here last month. The outside does not look like the photo, it is in need of decoration. This is also true of the inside. It seems to have a facade and is not 'what is shows on the tin'. Stayed in a twin room. The first room we were given can only be described... More 

Helpful?
Thank fnerjoolz
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 7 nights in a sea view room on a self drive holiday at the end of June. We stay in 6 or 7 different hotels each year so have plenty to compare against. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room allocated to us only had a bath and as my wife is unable to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan F
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan F Many thanks for taking the time to write, outlining the good & not so good points of your stay. Glad you found our reception staff helpful, and glad that we were able to be in a position to offer you a room with a shower. We are always happy to accommodate requests if humanly possible. You raised... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Leek, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a lovely stay at the Bay Esplanade Hotel. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Dee at reception. Simon My waiter at meal times was very helpful to. My coach driver Neil was very friendly. Overall I've had a good holiday.

Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Russell H Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review relating to your stay with us. As a business that prides itself on customer service, it’s always great for certain members of our dedicated team to get a mention. I’ll make sure that Dee, Simon, and driver Neil are made aware of this review. Hope that... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a short break with Shearings Coaches. The hotel is first class, good choice of menus, ie at breakfast and evening meals. Rooms clean, all staff first class customer care. Evening entertainment good.

Helpful?
1 Thank PET67H
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PET67H Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and service we can offer. A 5 star review is always very welcomed, and I sincerely hope that we can offer you some more of our Esplanade hospitality in the not-so-distant future. More 

Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

first impression good - wonderful welcome, room appeared ok. tried to have a shower but the hose leaked and water pressure practically non-existent. water wouldnt drain so lifted the cover to find it filthy. night manager noted problem and it was fixed next day. food was awful - chef could do lovely slow-cooked meat but that was his limit! whichever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn F Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us here at the Bay Esplanade. Sorry that some food items weren’t to your liking. I would like to clarify that we don’t microwave our veg, and we didn’t receive any other complaints about it. However, we do take all comments seriously and I will raise the issues you outlined... More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Just got back from a Shearings holiday to Paignton and stayed at the Bay Esplanade. The hotel is excellent, the room I had was spotless and bright with good sea views. The food was very good and varied with something to suit everyone. For me, however, it was the quality of the staff which made the stay memorable, they good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyanne51
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lesleyanne51 Many thanks for taking the time to give us a 5 star review! It certainly does help boost morale for our hard-working team when their efforts are noticed. we show all reviews to our staff and the fact that your stay was made memorable by them is a true testament to their hard work, Thank you. Tripadvisor can... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

I travelled with my daughter, we always have single rooms and ours were adequate for the 3 days we were there. Our request for lift access , adjoining rooms and table for 2 was granted. Being an older building, bathrooms were added on and mine was in a funny little corner, but shower was good and I managed ok. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank mumanddaughter2015
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mumanddaughter Thank you for a nice review. We always try to accommodate specific requests wherever humanly possible, and glad that we were able to help you on this occasion. The bathrooms here aren’t the largest that you’ll ever encounter, due to us being a Victorian hotel as you noted, with added small bathrooms many years ago, but pleased we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 20 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#32 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#12 of 20 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $138 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay