We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 444: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Bay Esplanade hotel is a very nice hotel. Everywhere is kept clean and the hotel seems mostly modern. The staff there were all brilliant. The waiting staff definitely deserve a lot of credit as they all work very hard to serve a large amount of people. Although not a major issue, and understandable to happen when feeding so many... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh B
ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel with shearing for 5 days as all hotel could do with a freshen up but saying that we had a lovely time ,staff were brilliant food was very good service excellent ,rooms clean and tidy decor good the only downside felt by a lot of us was the BATHROOM S VERY small no were to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ipswichvera
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ipswichvera. Thank you for reviewing us. Glad that on the whole your stay was an enjoyable one, and you found our staff friendly. We are constantly refurbishing our hotel, with ground floor public lounges, Restaurant, Harbour bar, entertainment bar, and 70% of bedrooms being refurbished in recent years. Our bathrooms are indeed not as large as some of our... More 

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Driving along the Paignton sea front with all of the hotels painted in really brilliant and pleasing colours you come to the Bay Hotel. It certainly ain't painted white, it looks more like an HM Prison. Attended a 90th Birthday lunch at this establishment. Food average the sort that we expected, but nothing to compliant about. The diamond in is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tavipirate
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tavipirate Many thanks for the review of your recent lunchtime/birthday party visit to the esplanade. The outside of the hotel was painted relatively recently, but all of our refurbishment is on-going, so sorry that you felt the exterior colour let us down. The outside cigarette bins are emptied and checked frequently, but I will look into having it checked... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were back here at the esplanade for our forth year in a row with shearings on an eight day holiday. We really like the area and are able to enjoy walking in the sea air here. We were really disappointed with the room we were allocated this time, in the basement, in a car park, dark and dingy, not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheila G Thank you for taking the time to review us. Sorry that you felt the room wasn’t up to the standard of your accommodation on your previous visits. For future reference; if there’s a room that you particularly liked during your stay, please feel free to call the hotel directly to book, and for a small fee we... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Read a lot of negative reviews of this hotel before booking. But was very surprised it was so much better than anticipated. The rooms, as mentioned by manager in replies to reviews, are on the small side. We have a whole week at this hotel. We had sea facing room 116, yes the room was small for two people, but... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sksheffield
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sksheffield Many thanks for a nice review. Good to have a chat with you during your stay, I do remember you as you had mentioned your apprehension over reviews previously read. I am very pleased you found my staff and myself working hard to try to ensure a happy holiday and glad that you found our team helpful. We... More 

Stanley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

very small room hand basin in room not clean windows filthy frames dirty bed cover pulled up but sheets not touched carpet dirty housekeeping very poor .meals good service bad 2hours for dinner .lots of old people who would be unable to get out if there was a fire neil our driver was great he is filing a report about... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank brahamrussell
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear brahamrussell Thanks for reviewing us. As a business that invests heavily in customer care, reviews like yours are extremely disappointing for us to receive. Unfortunately, it appears that you didn’t raise any issues during your stay as we would have liked to have been given the opportunity to look into your complaints, and put things right where humanly possible.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paignton hotels

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

went with shearings on a the 15th august for a 5 day break. first of all we had a long journey down laving stretton at 10.15 am and arriving at the hotel at 7 pm. having had to put up with loud radio from driver up to strentham services yes loud some seem not bothered but it was turned down... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joejoanbrentwood
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joejoanbrentwood Thank you for your review. We always closely monitor comments, as it does help us improve customer service. We have passed on your criticism about your coach trip down, and will look into the comments. We have ongoing refurbishment work, constantly updating and improving the hotel, so again, many thanks for your observations, particularly relating to the bathroom.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel as last minute getaway Mum,Dad,partner and myself. Read reviews after booking and was a bit apprehensive but this was unfounded. Outside a bit worn but to be expected due to seafront location reception area etc very welcoming. Our room was on small side esp the bathroom but we only used these for purpose so not an... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey D
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey D Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a positive review. Understandably, we know that we can’t please all of the people all of the time, but always endeavour to create a happy holiday experience, reviews like yours help to give a fairer picture as to what we can offer. We really appreciate your review and... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

I have just got back from my first ever holiday on my own and also with shearings. On arrival first impressions was a bit dubious but on entering was pleasantly surprised. Although I had a single room found it very spacious,clean and nicely decorated. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Food was very good,always hot and nicely presented. My only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen c Thank you for reviewing your first holiday alone, and sharing your experience. I am very pleased to read that you were pleased with our staff, food and liked your allocated room. Sometimes guests can go to their rooms straight after cabaret, and other times they are all on the floor dancing until late, it depends on the... More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

Never have i stayed in such a creaky place , the floorboards in the passage ways are so so noisy , we had a room on the 2nd floor and to say it was small well it was tiny , the bathroom if you could call it that was awfull a shower that had a head was a shampoo spray... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank HOLIDAYTRIPSHOMEANDA
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HOLIDAYTRIPSHOMEANDA Thanks for the review. Due to us being a Victorian building, we d, on occasion, have issues with some creaky floor boards, which we rectify when possible and small bathrooms. I am sorry you did not find our reception staff friendly and helpful, this is very unusual, but I will look into your comments, as we usually receive... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 20 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#8 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $118 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay