We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bronte Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bronte Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Start your review of Bronte Hotel
 Click to rate
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2017

My son and I stayed in room 7 for one night while visiting my aunt who lives nearby. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. This is a long room which has two single beds along the wall -just what I was looking for- a fitted wardrobe and two chest of drawers. The décor was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greggerg
Reviewed January 25, 2017

My flight got cancelled due to fog, and they still charged me £30 for the room after I asked for refudn and after mediation of Booking.com. It is horrible to get a double whammy from B&B, very unnessary and very telling of a place if they do stuff like that.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick W
guv7, Owner at Bronte Hotel, responded to this review

This booking was cancelled on the day of due arrival. The room was not re-let due to the lateness of the cancellation therefore the first nights booking fees were taken as per our cancellation policy. The guest has been offered a re-arranged booking at a later date of his choosing with discounted rates.

Reading
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed for 2 night's. It was easy to find. The room was at the top of the stairs. Three flights up. However that's our only flaw. The room was compact but beautifully decorated and the bed very comfortable. The pillows soft. The lounge was very comfortable. Our hosts Paul and Gail were very accommodating and really friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jaynieace
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Paul & Gail are very welcoming.good location, close to beach & bar, rooms well styled clean and comfortable. Great place to stay on a budget, all usual amenities and more. Would recommend to family and friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xblocky
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 3, 2016

Paul and Gail were very welcoming and helpful.My mother and I had been staying in Torquay and had to leave our previous hotel at 10 am and although check in time at the Bronte is not until 3 pm we were allowed to drop our luggage early.We had a lot of luggage but when we returned after lunch it had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deborahatkinson2000
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

I am sorry to say this hotel was terrible/dreadful. We arrived and was met by Gail who showed us the lounge and the breakfast room then pointed to our room told us that they don't take cards for payment only cash (weird)... We went up to our room minding the chair lift as we went up the first flight of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kathy R
guv7, Owner at Bronte Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that these guests were not satisfied with their stay but their review fly's in the face of other reviews for this room & our establishment in general. It always amazes us how guests can be so nice while staying with you then leave & slaughter you with a review like this one. Let us try to respond...

Reviewed July 7, 2016

Stayed for two nights while looking around the area. Paul was very charming, polite and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Didn't have the breakfast but it did smell yummy. Thanks for a nice stay would stay here again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terence H
france
Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Great location and service from Gail & Paul, always so helpful and cheerful. Rooms are spacious and cosy! Everything you need for a good night stay + free wifi! Two second walk to the beach and a 10 minute walk to town.. Have stayed before and will stay again when visiting Devon, much prefer a home from home rather then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank n3talie01
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2016

I stayed for 3 nights in March 2016 Friday-Monday. On arrival I was met by Paul the owner who checked me in quickly and gave me a quick tour of the building before showing me to my room. The Bronte has a very comfortable lounge with a large flat screen tv, hi fi and computer together with a large selection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scooby1308
UK
Reviewed October 9, 2015

Stayed during September and found that this Hotel is in a quiet part of Paignton but still only a few minutes from the beach. No shops nearby but there is a restaurant bar next to the beach and a public house a few doors away from the hotel, but I think was due to close down. You are only a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MosesUk
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#13 of 18 in Paignton
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#32 of 100 in Paignton
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#25 of 100 in Paignton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bronte Hotel is situated in Paignton, within a few yards of the lovely Preston Sands and in the centre of one of the most beautiful bays in the British Isles....Glorious Torbay. The hotel is on a good, level position just 80 yards stroll to the sea front and its safe, sandy beach. The pier, shops, restaurants and large multiplex cinema are just a few minutes level walk away. Paignton is an ideal family resort with all the traditional seaside attractions including an attractive harbour, theatre, zoo, multiplex cinema, Splashdown Water Park and coastline steam railway. The Bronte is a small, family run hotel with a warm and friendly home from home atmosphere. Tastefully furnished with a bright modern decor, the whole atmosphere at the Bronte is relaxing and informal. It provides a perfect base for your holiday or business trip. We offer the free use of two internet linked desk top computers and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Our tariff is based on a room only basis. Our highy rated breakfast can be ordered & purchased upon arrival at a very reasonable cost. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bronte Hotel

Address: 7 Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: $45 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bronte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Bronte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronte Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bronte Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wetherby, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bronte Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms well presented”
 of 5 bubbles Xblocky, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“our twin room on the first floor was right next to stairlift,very good if you have disabilities”
 of 5 bubbles deborahatkinson2000, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 wher I stayed is at the top of the building at the back and is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles scooby1308, Mar 12, 2016 | Read review
“Ask Paul and Gail for your requirements.”
 of 5 bubbles DouglasL273, May 20, 2015 | Read review
“From the front of the hotel you can see the sea from the side of the window.”
 of 5 bubbles Jovigirl34, Jul 31, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question