We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 481: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We're a group of friends that like the Mercure all inclusive deals and have done about four. The food is always excellent and the deal very good value. The Wigan Oak was particularly memorable thanks the the genuinely friendly staff. I can't recall all their names however Kevin on the bar, Ashleigh, Leoni and our Amy Winehouse lookalike Jade all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your very kind comments about our staff. I'm sure that they will all be delighted to read your comments, especially Jade!! I do apologise for the odour in the corridors - we had a leak on a major water valve that caused some flooding, however I...

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the mercure wigan hotel on new years eve very nice rooms and the gala dinner was very nice lovelly meal the entertainment a singer was decidedly average but the most disappointing thing was that the bar shut at 12.45 just when we were getting going .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun C
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I was happy to read that you enjoyed our New Year's event. Although we close the bar for events, residents can still order drinks from our Night Managers and I apologise if you were not made aware of this during your stay. I have discussed the points you raised with our...

Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our party of 6 stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to attend their New Year's Eve function. The hotel is central and all the staff were friendly and cooperative with the breakfast good with selections and quality. We attended the New Year's Eve function which was reasonably priced with the food and service excellent. The entertainment was good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phyllrab
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hote. We are all delighted that you enjoyed our New Year's Eve event and your very kind comments regarding the staff were especially welcome. I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back on future events.

England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all the parking; although the car park is large, the general public can use it for a daily charge. No spaces are marked out for hotel patrons only and this can lead to difficulty finding somewhere to park when you arrive. Staff are lovely, friendly and good natured. Rooms are clean but the whole hotel could do with...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandraH65
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very constructive comments. I apologise for the disturbance with the fire alarm - this was discovered to be due to a fault on the system, rather than people smoking. Your comments on Breakfast were, of course, a concern and I have discussed these with my Head Chef and Breakfast Supervisor. We do offer fried eggs, which...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Restaurant staff at breakfast were not so great and breakfast is over priced and not enough selection. We also had 2 single beds pushed together and I booked a double room but other than that not so bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebekah butler
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we very much appreciate all customer feedback. I am sorry if you felt that Breakfast was expensive - we do offer a specially reduced rate of only £8.00 per person if Breakfast is pre-booked and I am sorry if you were not made aware of this at the time of...

County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and son booked this hotel as we were travelling to watch a football match close by. I originally booked room only on Booking.com but later phoned to add breakfast as a better offer was online.I spoke to a lady who said it was all sorted and would be adjusted on arrival...... Yes it was they wanted an extra £16...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevrob68
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was extremely disappointed to read your comments and can only apologise that you stay with us was not the experience that you were hoping for. Unfortunately, as Tripadvisor does not display the date of your stay, I am unable to contact you, however please feel free to contact me by telephone and I will be more than happy to...

wigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My last review was in 2012 here the chriatmas day lunch.This was a good one We have been coming here for many years. The staff are very nice,and welcoming However i didnt feel the meal was very good this year.The chicken terrine was terrible. The beef not so good also.very fatty. So unfortunately this will be our last christmas lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marishwigan
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - I was very surprised and obviously disappointed to read your review as we had over 100 guests dining and did not get any other negative comments on either the terrine or the beef. Our staff did offer you an alternative to the beef and I believe that you had the turkey. Is is always...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on business recently (why else would you stay in Wigan?!). Large car park means hassle free parking. The staff were very friendly & the bar stays open as late as you like! Free wifi is available. The breakfast was okay with eggs cooked to order. The room itself was a little tired though and could do with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 49phila
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your very kind comments regarding the staff, which I will pas on to them. I was obviously concerned to read your comments regarding the bedroom and will be discussing these with my Head Housekeeper.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

Clean, comfy and standard chain hotel room. We booked for a 1 night stay and everything was fine. The bathroom had a bath, which is a nice feature. A little loud in the bar/food area. Breakfast is very expensive if you want it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esme Y
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience. We do offer our guests the chance to pre-book Breakfast at a reduced rate of £8.00 per person so please do bear this in mind if you stay here again. I certainly hope that we get the chance to welcome you...

Shropshire, England
Reviewed November 29, 2016

My husband and I have just spent two nights at this hotel. We wanted to visit Crosby and Formby and this Mercure was offering a good deal and was within easy driving distance. I can't really see why you would visit Wigan unless it was for business purposes, it is quite a scruffy place and I have never heard so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the tiime to review our hotel. I was obviously disappointed to read that certain aspects of your stay were not to the standard that both you and I would expect and can only sincerely apologise for this. Our staff did try their utmost to contain the disturbance caused but, as I am sure you can appreciate,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigan
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
22.9 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are visiting Wigan for business, taking in a game of Rugby or football or simply a relaxing weekend away, The Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel will make you feel right at home with its welcoming atmosphere and first-class cuisine and if you are a golfer, you'll be in seventh heaven too as we've negotiated preferential rates on the 9 and 18 hole courses at Haigh Hall Golf Complex. The hotel offers free parking and free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Price Range: $58 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Wigan, United Kingdom
12 days ago
Swanage
7 months ago
Swanage
7 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There are no good rooms here”
 of 5 bubbles pncoryat, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“If disabled, ask for a disabled room as the bath is inaccessible but OK for 1 night.”
 of 5 bubbles 432estelles, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“Disabled guests might struggle with the bath/Shower reception staff will guide you to the right room”
 of 5 bubbles PaulineTait, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the road do get some traffic noise during the day but this calmed down during night.”
 of 5 bubbles suzye25, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“If it’s hot it’s possible to open the windows further than the catches initially allow if you ask the staff”
 of 5 bubbles davidgC9189WR, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay