We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 382: English reviews
Start your review of Bannatyne Hotel Durham
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. We arrived early and we're able to check in as our room was ready. The room was a good size and had everything we needed. Tea and coffee were replinshed every day... the shower in our room pulsed cold water which was a bit strange but if you turned the water temperature up it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gfcjules
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fairly nondescript modern hotel of typical boxes. Arrived at 11 after a long drive, hoping to to get into room early. No-one on reception to send me away, just a note saying they were busy, and if I was checking-in to come back after 3. Oddly enough an interview for a job in the SPA was being held i the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Mid_Cheshire
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last night although the room was clean and tidy and we'll heated. The toilet did not flush properly. We went to the spa the pool was freezing. We could not get in the steam room as very busy. The Jacuzzi was not working, which was very disappointing as this is my main attraction to a spa. My niece...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richardson1985
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Richardson1985, Thank you for sharing your comments with regards to your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am sorry that you found the pool to be freezing. I have checked the records and they show that the pool was heated to the correct parameters of 29 Degrees. The pool is used by its members for swimming and we...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived in the room and our door didn't lock so had to be moved after we'd unpacked everything, didn't receive any compensation for this. Couldn't get all TV channels in the second room due to poor signal. No dressing gowns and only 1 towel between 2 of us. The cups provided were not clean and had dirty marks inside them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeganMcgee21
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear MeganMcgee21, Thank you for sharing your review with regards to your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am sorry that the electronic lock failed and that you were moved to an alternative room that had already been setup for single occupancy hence the reason for only 1 towel initially provided. The lock was replaced by a member of...

Ongar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a family visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham. Arrived 12.30 am, receptionist said she couldn't book us in until 3.00 pm and had all the rooms to clean. Asked if there was a restaurant for something to eat she said over I the spar and then dissapeard. So across the car park to the restaurant we trecked to find that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffcockram
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was lovely, clean, well decorated and just right remperature wise. On the second floor facing the car park. Even with the window open I could hardly hear the main road. The bed, two singles together, was out of this world. So comfy I did not want to get out of it. A xouch at the window to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette H
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Beenadette H, Thank you for taking the time to provide a positive review with regards to your recent visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am happy that you found your room to be clean, just the right temperature and that it was well decorated. The Hotel recently upgraded all of its mattresses to a Sealy mattress and I have...

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a quick business stop. The ground floor room was a decent size but could do with a make over .It is really like a premier inn. The staff were friendly and there is a small bar in the reception area .The food is served in the gym area but I can not comment as I went out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186459And123
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear 186459And123, Thank you for sharing your review with regards to your recent quick business stop at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am glad that you found the room to be of a decent size and that you found the staff friendly. The Hotel has an on-going maintenance and refurbishment program and as part of this we will be upgrading its...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a lovely spa day here. Massages were amazing, staff were friendly and very professional. Facilities were very clean, food was tasty. Only down side was having to pay for the use of towels and robes, would of thought you would get this for free. Would recommend booking your spa treatments for later in the day so you have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katey_Hart
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Katey-Hart Thank you for sharing your lovely comments regarding your recent visit to the Bannatyne Resort Durham. I am pleased that you found your massages to be amazing and that you found the facilities to be very clean. The reason for the additional charge for towel, robe and slippers is to give the guest the option at the time...

Bridgwater
Reviewed January 20, 2017

We have visited this hotel three times and every time we are amazed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, Good rooms and having the health and spa club on site is an added bonus. Within easy distance to Durham City. There is also a shopping area next to the hotel which is very convenient. Overall very good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyGuestBridgwater
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear HappyGuestBridg, Thank you for sharing your positive review regarding your recent (third) stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am delighted that you are amazed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the team. On your next visit why not try one of our Spa Pamper days packages all of which can be found on the Bannatyne Hotel website. The team...

North East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017

Booked a spa deal here with some family and friends to celebrate my upcoming wedding. After being to other local spas I assumed for the price it would be similar but the whole experience was terrible. Arrived for 1245 and we were greeted at the reception, told to take a health form and go fill it in in the bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank RiversTam
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range: $61 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bannatyne Hotel Durham staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bannatyne Hotel Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I think they would all be noisy from guests walking along corridor”
 of 5 bubbles E1884MZalanc, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“I assume rooms at the front would be quieter as I could hear low level traffic, husband said he couldn't!”
 of 5 bubbles LauraLou_11, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem equally good - there is a lift and 24 hour staffed reception”
 of 5 bubbles ivorrickwood, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Any would be suitable as hotel quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MargiS_12, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Car park side quieter - road noise if you open windows”
 of 5 bubbles SeonsD, Aug 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question