We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Farnley Tower

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Farnley Tower
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Farnley Tower
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 5, 2014

I spent three nights in Farnely Tower. We all had seperate rooms. Good location as we were able walk in to Durham. Room was really big and spacious. Nice views. The bathroom had a shower, no bath but this was not a problem. Sink and bin in the bathroom were not cleaned in all the time I stayed here. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina W
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review

Dear Gina W, Thank you for your comments. Most of our rooms do have both A shower and a bath but two rooms do just have a shower. we apoliges about the unclean sink and bin as these should be cleaned daily. Also please note quilt covers are changed each each day as well as the sheets and pillow cases....

England
Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

This large victoriana house has welcoming English staff at reception. It does advertise a bar and restaurant but they are a separate business and we're closed when we visited. The room was brilliant large with the biggest bath ever and no shortage of jot water. Breakfast was mediocre and the sausages would.have graced a dog bowl better than my plate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PunchyEngland
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review

Dear PunchyEngland, Please note that it is clearly stated on the website the restaurant opening times which you could of checked before check in to make other evening meal arrangments. Our breakfasts reviews are 95% positive but we do apologise if it wasnt up the standard you expected. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay and...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed October 22, 2014

The only reason this is getting an 'adequate' from me is because it is clean and tidy. the staff is also relatively accommodative. Other than that, I cannot wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. The beds are very uncomfortable, the room is HOT and the shower is well barely useable. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from town (but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kestral120
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review

Dear Kestral120, Please note On all room radiators it is poosible to adjust the temperature or turn it off. Also the shower in question has recently been replaced with a power shower. Thanks for your great comments about breakfast and customer service as we pride ourselfs on our skills in that area. Kind regards

Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

Farnley Tower is an impressive and imposing building located 10 minutes from the city centre. It is understandable that the current owners decided to buy it in order to restore it. We were provided with a large family room and the breakfast staff were friendly. Unfortunately guests are necessary to fund the upkeep and their presence is not always welcomed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Critic_10152
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan F, Guests are always welcomed here at Farnley tower and we find that comment rather dissapointing as it is wildly inaccurate. You were handed your keys by a member of the recpetion staff. The rooms are cleaned daily to a very high standard and we believe you would find it hard to find anywhere else in Durham which...

Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

A medium sized carpark, the hotel looks very interesting, on walking into the reception which is unmanned you press a door bell and a few moments later a man appear. Asked to sign here and there, giving the key, told where room is and all I need to know is in the information folder. The room itself is very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2014

Farnley Tower is well located in a quiet area and, given the right room, has good views across the City of Durham and beyond. The building itself is beautiful, if a little shabby and in need of attention inside. Staff were friendly enough and the room was generally clean. We stayed in the family room (room 10) as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robski8
Greece
Reviewed October 5, 2014

I booked the hotel through Booking.com and I was not disappointed.The hotel was everything we expected, very quiet I felt like home.The staff were very polite and friendly,ready to assist you at any time.The size of the room was just perfect.The dinning room was a bit small but we liked it because it gave it that home feeling.Over all it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofia C
Reviewed October 4, 2014

A Victorian building dating back to 1870, Farnley Tower has lovely period detailing including stained glass windows. But unlike some Victorian architecture it doesn't feel dark and forbidding; instead it feels light and airy - although extremely comfortable and warm - and the individual style of the hotel reinforced the feeling that I had made a lucky find. I usually...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina B
London, UK
Reviewed October 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a Sunday which was unfortunate as the restaurant attached to the hotel is closed on Sundays and Mondays. The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. The staff were very accommodating, as the restaurant was closed they made us a very generous round of sandwiches, too many for 2 people to eat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Panicos64
united kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2014

I booked the hotel after reading the Trip advisor reviews. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was clean, comfortable and pet friendly. A small garden at the side to exercise the dogs. The staff were so polite and helpful. The cooked breakfast just as we ordered it. It was lovely to find a little oasis, a little gem of an establishment....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann s
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,955 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Farnley Tower Is a 4 star quality guesthouse. The current owners have sympathetically restored this prominent Victorian building, providing the facilities you would expect of a modern city centre hotel.With its elevated position you can enjoy stunning views over Durham Cathedral and Castle, as well as the surrounding Durham countryside. Savour the culinary cuisine from the award winning restaurant The Gourmet Spot adjoining the guesthouse.Free car parking on site, less than a 10 minute walk to the city centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Farnley Tower

Address: The Avenue, Durham DH1 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range: $91 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnley Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Farnley Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnley Tower Hotel Durham
Farnley Hotel Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Farnley Tower staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Farnley Tower staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a view of the catherdral, being on a hill there's a great view from the right room.”
 of 5 bubbles 98lizh, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the city”
 of 5 bubbles yarzee1traveller2017, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms seem to be on a par - very spacious. We were in room 8 which was large. Two friends were in room 2 which they said was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Quinny_A, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“Room 15 on the ground floor is very nice with a lovely view.”
 of 5 bubbles salpal555, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 spacious but you get the noise from above, maybe better to ask for a first floor one”
 of 5 bubbles lin1960, Jul 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question