We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Durham

Show Prices
#7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 370: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Roxy went the extra mile! When I asked her if she knew of a launderette, she offered to put my washing on for me so I could pick it up later. Service with a smile - much appreciated !! Roxy and Travelodge Durham are the best!!

Helpful?
Thank Regina K
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a lovely few days at the Travelodge in Durham. Lovely Italian restaurant attached to hotel and friendly pub nearby. Only slight drawback was the hilly road going down to the town centre. Ok going down but sore on the legs going back up! Not really a problem though as there were plenty of taxis and they were reasonably priced.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank pcunningham29
ponte
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This must be the 8th or 9th time we have stayed here and these are the reasons why 1. Good location. 15 minutes walk into town 2. Free parking 3. Clean and comfortable rooms 4. Sambuka Italian joined on to hotel so convenient for a meal on arrival. 5. Woodman pub just over the road for a night cap and... More 

Helpful?
Thank PonteSuperwoman
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This Travelodge is in a good location with free if limited parking which is a bonus. The hotel is in 2 blocks. The old building next to reception and a new block a walk away. We were in the new block. The rooms were standard Travelodge which is what you expect however there were a few niggles. The water was... More 

Helpful?
Thank davideC3942WP
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as comfort and room servicing are the basics of our promise to our customers and this is far from the high standards we strive to provide. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we... More 

Southampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were visiting Durham university's open day and having travelled up from Southampton decided to book an overnight stay at the Travelodge as I have never been disappointed and after this visit I can still say that. The room was a little more than I usually pay £78 but then it's probably supply and demand. This hotel is something a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Foxielady1
Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

1 night stay with my son to look at university. Clean. No problem parking. Limited onsite breakfast options. Beds a bit too firm. Hairdryer in the room would have been useful. Great location. Easily walkable to the city and university

Helpful?
Thank gwesty
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We’re pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found your room to be clean. Although we do not provide hairdryers in our rooms, these can be obtained from the reception desk. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon. More 

Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This review is all about the location and the price and on both counts it performs really well. My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights so we could get to South Shields for the Great North Run. The rate goes up because of the popularity of this event but considering the rate other chains are charging this was... More 

Helpful?
Thank rlk2013
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay to all of our guests and we are pleased that this has been achieved. Thank you again... More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very reasonable at £50 per night, but for peace, quiet and a good night's sleep it cannot be beaten! I have spent many nights in many hotels all over the world and this has to be one of the very best! The hotel itself is converted from the old railway station and retains much of its former... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JuneBug1939
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience and are happy to see this was the case. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we do hope you will choose to stay with... More 

Long Eaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean rooms, the staff was very good. I thought the price was a bit much for a travel lodge, I think that was down to what time of year it was and the fact it was on the weekend of the great north run. I would stop here again though.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank nickrs2014
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

We're delighted to receive such positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Durham Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that you received a high level of service from our helpful hotel team. We will be sure to pass your... More 

St Andrews
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived at Travelodge Durham in the middle of a Friday afternoon. I was in Durham to join with former students to celebrate the fact that it was 50 years since we first arrived at Durham University. I was afforded a warm welcome by Margaret in reception and since I was walking badly and with a stick, after a fall,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MalcolmMMitchell
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#4 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Durham

Address: Station Road Gilesgate, Durham DH1 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range: $68 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Durham 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Durham Hotel Durham
Travel Lodge Durham
Durham Travel Lodge
Durham Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay