We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowburn Hall

Traveler (156)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#11 of 19 hotels in Durham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Bowburn Hall Hotel is an excellent choice for staying, dining, meetings, conferences, functions, civil marriages and wedding receptions. Extremely popular with local residents and visitors alike, we're conveniently located for Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle, Beamish Museum, Gateshead Metro Centre, Newcastle and so much more. Set in 5 acres of landscaped gardens we offer a personable service, no matter the reason for your visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
561Reviews
2Q+A
81Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 238
  • 159
  • 91
  • 40
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Visited Father’s Day, was very disappointed with the food, manager did offer complimentary drink or complimentary desert but generally disappointed it’s usually better at Bowburn hall. We usually look forward to fresh cut chips but we’re served jacket wedges which were
Read more
Response from Charlie E, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Sharon, Thank you for your recent review of Bowburn Hall. We apologise that you had a negative experience with us on Father's Day. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your meal during this particular visit and please be assured that we will take your feedback on board. During this time, we did offer you a complimentary drink or dessert as a form of apology. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to impress you with a delicious meal that meets our high standards. Kind regards, Charlie
Read more
Staff were very friendly. Very nice food and good value for money. Hotel is quite hard to find without a satnav. They do a special offer on meals (two for fifteen pounds) from 12 until 4.30. Lovely gardens with plenty of outside seating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Charlie E, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Guide05621383950, Thank you for your recent review of Bowburn Hall. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and were impressed with our brilliant lunchtime special menu and stunning gardens. It is great that we could make your visit a pleasant one. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Charlie
Read more
Review From John Elliott Wedding guest We attended Bowburn Hall as wedding guests. The whole Day and night was fantastic. i would recommend this venue to any one considering choosing to hold a wedding here. The food was served quickly and was delicious. The service was
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Charlie E, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded 2 days ago
Hi John, Thank you for your recent review of Bowburn Hall. It was great to have you join us as a wedding guest and we're glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the wedding breakfast and reception. It is amazing that you had a positive experience and would recommend us to others who are looking for wedding venues. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Charlie
Read more
Really enjoyed our stay here - enjoyed the food a lot and the bar and dining area actually had a really cosy atmosphere that was really comfortable with good friendly staff. Only drawback may be that some find it a little dated or lacking a it of polish particularly the rooms
Read more
Response from Charlie E, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded 2 days ago
Hi DanTheGreat123, Thank you for your honest review of Bowburn Hall. We're glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our cosy atmosphere and friendly staff. Please be assured that we do take all of your feedback on board regarding our facilities so as improve our guests' experience in the future. We hope that you give us another visit soon! Kind regards, Charlie
Read more
Great find. Excellent value for money. Lovely friendly staff. Breakfast hot and filling. Rooms quirky, bed comfy. Lovely quiet location. Booked single rooms but were upgraded to doubles at no extra cost
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Charlie E, General Manager at Bowburn Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Adventure03056088799, Thank you for your review of Bowburn Hall. We're glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and thought we were a 'great find'. It was lovely to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Charlie
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bowburn hall durham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing