We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Visit hotel website
Traveler (336)
Room & Suite (160)
Traveler (336)
Room & Suite (160)
Dining (24)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of historic Durham, United Kingdom, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. Starbucks situated on the ground floor of the hotel serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Paid Wifi
Paid Internet
Business Center with Internet Access
Wheelchair access
Conference Facilities
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Meeting Rooms
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
River View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
104Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
22Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Reviews (1,781)
Filter reviews
1,676 results
Traveler rating
514
602
333
150
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
514
602
333
150
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure club the river upgraded to a suite elvet bridge the hotel car park leisure centre excellent location per night steam room public areas central location reception staff beautiful city buffet style huge bed stayed for one night breakfast was excellent
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,676 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Had a lovely weekend in Durham visiting the Cathedral and looking around town,whilst staying at the Marriott. Staff were helpful, polite but not standoffish. The rooms were clean and comfortable with tea & coffee in the room. They even found earplugs for a friend who...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Wendy G
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed the weekend at the durham marriott while visiting our daughter studying at durham uni. We have been here a few times now as the hotel is very centrally located but each time we come the rooms seem to get worse. This time, even...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank FrankieDB2
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal CountyResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your stay on this occasion was disappointing due to the Christmas party night disco and the condition of your guest room. The hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment to all 150 of our guest bedrooms. This...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having stayed here on several occasions we had the best room which overlooked the river. No problems with the room or service but breakfast was as disappointing as ever. It was not up to a Premier Inn standard . Every time we’ve stayed we’ve hoped...More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank ramblingrose2015
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal CountyResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay. We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the buffet breakfast as on previous visits and we will ensure your comments are shared with our Executive Chef. Alternatively to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is a bit tired but still comfortable with the usual high standard of Marriott service. Our room was large and suite style. We had a quiet room not overlooking the street. Breakfast was quite pricey at £16.50 and extra £4 for room service. Good...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Elaine W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent a few nights here and chose this hotel as its location is ideal for exploring Durham. Initially, the booking was a bit of a worry as we booked a couple of rooms but only had one confirmed - after two or three...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank p0wert0thepe0ple
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal CountyResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read of your discomfort with your room. Unfortunately the Riverside wing of the hotel that currently houses all the hotels standard rooms does not have air conditioning, however we the hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Vick956
November 16, 2018|
Answer
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. We do have a small number of interconnecting rooms in the Riverside wing of the hotel. Please contact our 'At Your Service' Team on (0191) 3866821 selecting option 1 and they will be pleased to... More
0
Votes
ChristineBurns
May 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal | Property representative |
Thanks for your question. Whilst we are currently unable to provide electric car parking within the hotel car park, there are two 'Charge Your Car' spaces on the street opposite the hotel (subject to parking bay... More
1
Vote
581andrewl
April 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from DurhamMarriottRoyal | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. The hotel has a car park with a limited number of spaces. For any overnight residents there is a charge of £7.00 per vehicle, per night which is payable at Reception. For all other customer... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room103, on it’s own wasvery quiet."
696elainew
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Ensure when booking you let them know if you have mobility issues as the rooms can be a bit of a walk away"
p0wert0thepe0ple
3 weeks ago
Read review
"push hard for a suite the hotel is empty"
ibswain2015
Oct 11, 2018
Read review
"If u want river view but Of a walk but much spacious and view is amazing"
nadiraabayakoon16
Oct 8, 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott durhamdurham marriott
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing