We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lumley Castle Hotel

Save
Share
Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
$114
View deal
Expedia.com$121
eDreams$114
Travelocity$121
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1720)
360
Panoramas (108)
Room & Suite (449)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 21 hotels in Durham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Within easy driving distance of Newcastle, Durham and Sunderland, the magnificent spectacle of Lumley Castle has dominated the County Durham landscape for 630 years. Surrounded by beautiful parklands overlooking the River Wear and Durham County Cricket Ground, the castle is a magnificent monument to a bygone age of chivalry and honour. The hotel boasts 74 luxurious en suite rooms, with complimentary Wi-Fi internet. Dine in the splendour of the Black Knight restaurant, offering varied cuisine and a 3-course table d’hôte menu (table reservations are essential). Lumley Castle is the first and only historic site in the UK to have it's own Escape room - Lily of Lumley - a truly immersive and thrilling Escape experience. The hotel is ideally situated to explore the North East of England and more, being just 10.9 miles south of Newcastle, 8.1 miles north of Durham and 11.8 miles west of Sunderland. This hotel is one of the best-rated locations in Chester-le-Street.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2869Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,491
  • 718
  • 399
  • 173
  • 89
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tomwinta wrote a review Yesterday
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom1 contribution
This was a birthday celebration. On arrival we checked in OK. I would say our room was at best average although we had booked a superior room. We arranged and paid £10 for a box of 8 chocolates! When we went to the Library bar we were told to take a seat and someone would come to our table, although after we did sit at a table other people were served at the bar. We ordered 1 pint of Carling and a double Gin and Tonic. COST OVER £20. We went to the restaurant. Ordered a very average meal with 1 bottle of the cheapest wine which cost over £120. To top it all, the final bill was also incorrect and we had to go to reception get it corrected. We have been previously but this time we felt totally ripped off at the exorbitant prices. It felt as if they were trying to recoup all the loses of the pandemic by overcharging. I cannot recommend this hotel and at these exorbitant prices will definitely not be returning
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear tomwinta Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're obviously disappointed that you feel that we are expensive. At Lumley Castle we set our prices to be competitive amongst the regional 4 Star Hotel market. All pricing is provided within drinks lists and menus provided when ordering. We hope this experience hasn't put you off visiting Lumley Castle in the future. The Lumley Experience Team
Read more
Anneli wrote a review Oct 20
Nailsworth, United Kingdom4 contributions
*I deleted my previous review as the hotel tried to say they do not advertise room service on their website, I thought unless I am going mad I knew they were. So I have provided evidence! * I was looking forward to staying at this hotel as I had a dog show on and thought for my birthday weekend I would treat myself. I arrived and when I was in reception I asked about ordering room service for breakfast as I had a dog with me. “Oh, we do not do room service anymore because of Covid”. I asked where I could go and eat. I presumed as I was holding my dog they meant she could come into the bar. I sat in the corner to be courteous to other guests - I was swiftly told that as she was not a guide dog I would have to eat outside. So here I am, paying nearly £200 a night and I cannot sit inside with my dog or have food in my room. I sat outside in the cold and dark and felt like an outcast. I do not think they have thought out their bizarre policies and even the waitress said “I don’t know why they don’t allow dogs when they allow children”. I do not know how they can call themselves dog-friendly when the dog is only allowed outside, in your room, or reception. If you are expecting room service then this is not a problem. Why even advertise yourself as dog-friendly when you are not? I booked this hotel because 1) they said they are dog friendly and 2) they do room service. I suggest this hotel updates its website as it is very misleading. I have stayed in many luxury hotels in the country and never had such a bad experience. My dog is an experienced show dog so she is very well behaved. I checked out after one night, I couldn’t face another night and morning. At check out, three people were standing at reception. Two women and a man. Not one of them asked me how my stay was and why was I checking out early. They just charged for my £18 breakfast (bacon sandwich, pastry, and a block of cheese for my dog) which a waitress organised for me as she must have seen what predicament I was in. I paid over £400 and I got a place to sleep for the night. Reading the reviews I see the hotel is very good at flipping the blame, but it is clear as day how misleading your website is. You have no idea what your website even said, as you told me on your website you do not advertise room service - I suggest a team meeting between the person who manages the website and management.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Avoid if travelling with a dog.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear AnneliIves Thank you for reposting your review. As previously stated in our initial response our Dog Friendly Policy features within it's own page on our website and we encourage guests looking to travel with dogs to study before booking. On this basis we welcome many dogs to Lumley and whilst we respect your views, we genuinely haven't encountered an issue around our Dog Friendly Policy before, perhaps because our website is studied by those wishing to bring their dogs. Below is an extract from our online Dog Friendly Policy. 'Dogs are only allowed in their allocated bedrooms, hotel reception and the outer courtyard. Please let us know, when booking if you will be bringing your dog. We politely request that you bring their bedding with you, and do not let them use the hotel furniture'. On the basis that you might not have read our Dog Friendly Policy it's slightly disappointing that your review suggests the hotel is misleading on this point. As previously stated we do in fact provide a limited room service menu of soup and sandwiches which is available upon request due to us restricting staff contact with bedrooms that may pose a high risk in terms of Covid transmission. It transpires that you requested Breakfast Room service which is neither advertised or provided. Feedback from the management team is that you wished to leave before 9am and on this basis we provided you with a take out breakfast. We also offered to book you into brunch but sadly you couldn't stay. We have reached out to our web designer and it appears that a rogue link to an historical (2020) room service menu was located within the Booking section and not the Dining section. This room service menu did not include advertised breakfast. Your review has been passed to the General Manager who would very much like to address your concerns personally and on this basis would welcome a conversation to fully resolve the issues at hand. The Lumley Experience Team
Read more
Deb P wrote a review Oct 18
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom91 contributions75 helpful votes
Returned home this morning after a one night stay at the castle to celebrate the birthdays of our husbands, both brothers. As always we had a fabulous time together the four of us. The castle is beautiful, old and steeped in history. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. However, our dining experience really let the place down immensely. Everything tasted of salt. I like salt on my food but this was overpowering. The bread rolls were salty. Truffle fries terrible!!! Oh and salty. All mains so so salty. Breakfast was worrying as we were told on complaining that it was the same chef as the evening. It was nice and tasty and not salty. Waiter at breakfast was professional and pleasant and wished the boys a happy birthday. Before breakfast we woke to a bill under our doors which made no sense whatsoever to all four of us. Room to pay, we'd paid on arrival. Other things on bill too. Tip; pay as you go and know exactly what you owe as they have no clue. All in all we had a lovely time as we always do together but if we'd gone as a couple on our own we would not have felt pampered and very let down. We had a fantastic time 4 years ago for our silver wedding anniversary. We always said the food was fabulous but this time it really let our stay down.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear 159debp Thank you for taking the time to review Lumley castle. Feedback both positive and critical is key to refining our service to the guest. Having read your feedback and chatted with the chef we fully apologise if you felt the food was salty. We cook literally thousands of meals a month and if on this occasion your food was over seasoned we can only apologise. We do hope this doesn't put you off visiting Lumley Castle again in the future. The Lumley Experience Team
Read more
linl0wes wrote a review Oct 18
Sunderland, United Kingdom19 contributions7 helpful votes
What is going on with the booking of Christmas Afternoon Tea 2021??? My friend has organised this trip for the past few years. This year 10 of us were booked at £23.95pp as per website. Then she was told £27.95 - when she queried this she was told it included the Christmas Market (which we don’t want) & Ice Skating !!! Which considering our ages is a definite no no. Come on Lumley Castle, get your act together, please
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear linl0wes Thank you for taking the time to leave a review around your booking experience which appears to be as confusing for us as it appears to be for you. The advertised price on our website for Festive Afternoon is £25.95 Per Adult. I am sorry if we've confused the situation. Please do call back and we'll be more than happy to confirm your booking. The Lumley Experience Team
Read more
Gemma B wrote a review Oct 17
Battle, United Kingdom18 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Slight delay in booking and answering queries via email (largely down to training new staff which I do understand). The staff on arrival were helpful and very friendly. The room in the castle definitely had a lovely snug feel (albeit with some need of updating/repair - not easy I’m guessing with a grade I listing). The rest of the castle was still as charming ever. The thing that let it down for us was the breakfast.. it was merely average. We were the first couple in for breakfast that morning and they had run out of beans (not great when you only get a small portion of everything else too (especially with a vegetarian in tow).. plus you had to ask for toast extra as the main breakfast didn’t come with any. The price of breakfast really is above what I think it is worth, and whilst the dining room itself is beautifully laid out the area we were seated in smelt strongly of damp which meant we couldn’t wait to eat and get out. We would still recommend Lumley to anyone thinking of staying local, but judging by our experience and other reviews we’ve seen I think maybe the dining side of the operation could do with some tweaking.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay in a castle room for the extra wow
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$81 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lumley castle durham, hotel lumley castle, castle hotel lumley, castle lumley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lumley Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Holmside Park (4.3 miles), Herrington Country Park (3.1 miles), and WWT Washington Wetland Centre (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Guiseppe's Italian Bistro, Il Cancello Italian Restaurant, and Le Raaj.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lumley Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Crook Hall & Gardens (5.0 miles), Washington Old Hall (3.7 miles), and Houghton Hillside Cemetery (3.4 miles).
Does Lumley Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Lumley Castle Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.