We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oakbank House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oakbank House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 245: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for a 3 day break and booked this hotel because it was close to the town centre... That turned to out to be only one of this hotels fantastic features! Looked seconds from shops and minutes from the lake front this hotel is outstanding! The owner is welcoming and very accommodating. He couldn't do enough! We had our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig W
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this Bed and Breakfast because it was in a very good location. It is up a short steep hill. It is very close to the shops, restaurants and lake. It has parking, although spaces are a bit tight. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean although a bit dated and the door did not close... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allison P
Newtownards
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Property located at the end of Helm Road ,Crag Brow Junction, there is a hill to climb out of Bowness to consider. It is convenient to shops and eateries. It is obviously popular as it was fully booked Parking is provided, spaces are are tight, especially at the side of the property. The house itself is a period property, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank greekirelander
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is priced around £100 per room per night and whilst that is not expensive for Bowness it certainly wasn't worth it, the room was nothing like the photos or description, it was accessed from outside, there were no windows it was very dark and felt very damp the shower was small and grim with dirty grout, the wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charles S
Management response:

Thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback on your stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with your choice of room however I can assure you the room you stayed in is clearly represented on our web site and on those of the booking agency you booked through. The area of repair that was unpainted was as... More 

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely welcome. Nice room(Room 9), with an even better view! Breakfast was nice and well presented. Oak Bank, very central to most attractions within the town & free parking for residents. Ideal for couples wanting a short break. Room was very clean, but could do with a little lick of paint and the WIFI was shocking, but that's me being... More 

Helpful?
Thank P37ER
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we booked we were told room 14 was ground floor level with own private entrance but was not told the only window in the room was the bathroom and glass front door . The room was dark and smelled musky the bathroom was small and just had a window replaced which left the decorating in a very poor state... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
Management response:

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay particularly given that as a result of your complaint you were not charged at all. I am disappointed that you have conveniently omitted some salient points in order to make us look bad. When you checked in you were advised that there was an area of plaster that was drying... More 

Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 night when we went to the Rock on Winderemere in June 2016. Lovely place, management excellent, rooms perfect and immaculately clean. If you go to Bowness this place is a must. Dedicated parking a massive bonus and very reasonable for a weekend stay

Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
Bellshill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Stayed here last year. I enjoyed the location of this B&B but the standard of the public areas I found disappointed and drab. The limited time allocated for breakfast was not conducive to a relaxing weekend. I found the quality of what was served to be good but had to ask for a top up of tea & coffee both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bell322
Management response:

I too am perplexed. Your comments lead me to think you may be mixing us up with somewhere else that you may have stayed. Why have you waited over a year to post this review? We do not limit the time you can take in breakfast. You may sit there all day if you wish. We do not limit the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

We had room 11 and could not have asked for any better. Very clean and comfortable with an amazing view. Staff were very friendly and helpful sadly had to leave early due to family sick at home. Will visit again

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
East Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

This hotel is a great place to stay, as it is a stone throw from the town centre.It is within walking distance to all restaurants and bars, also the lake tours. What we most like about it is the breakfast as it has a great variety of choices for you to choose.The rooms were clean and spacious and tidied daily.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank colin w
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#22 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#30 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#28 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $106 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay