We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Oakbank House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oakbank House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 251: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

A warm welcome to a great place in a perfect location. The room was spacious, very clean and well cleaned during my three day stay. Free parking too. A little tight but not really an issue. The location is ideal for getting around all of the wonderful attractions, bars and restaurants. The free use of the leisure facilities at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gally3
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had a short break in the Lake District with a short stay at the Oakbank House. The bed was comfortable and the room was great. We had a lovely hearty breakfast too. The host was even very gracious when my husband accidentally broke our door key. 😊 The spa facilities at the nearby hotel that guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele K
Management response:

Thank you for leaving feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Looking at the pics on trip advisor and reading some of the reviews we were looking forward to a one nights break here. The inside of the b and b was very dark and dated inside, we paid a £110 for our room which was disappointing ,there was damp underneath the window, the duvet cover was already stained, the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann K
Management response:

I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay here. I am very concerned to read your comments about the bed linen and I have advised our Housekeeper to be more vigilant when making the beds however I can assure you the bed size is a standard double as advertised. You are right we have made a repair to the... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in room 2 it was very small not what I expected for 110 pound a night ..had breakfast 2 mornings had to leave early 3rd morning ..not even offered sandwich even though paid £110 a night won't be returning only good thing the breakfast was ok

Helpful?
Thank _susanpark456
Management response:

I am sorry that you were disappointed with some elements of your stay. We do not offer a take away service for breakfast however if we had been made aware you were leaving before breakfast we would have provided you with some fresh fruit for your room. If you planned to leave early why didn't you book the room only... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location in the heart of Bowness, plenty of choice for an amazing breakfast. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room 4 was aLovely big room and great bathroom. Car park tight but adequate.

Helpful?
1 Thank 007-Bas-UK
Management response:

Thank you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just got back from three days in the lakes. We stayed in room 8 on the top floor which was spacious and clean. Breakfast was very nice and the servers were very chirpy and friendly. The hosts were also very accommodating and welcoming. Very close to pubs, restaurants and shops plus the lake. A faultless stay and would definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
Management response:

Thank you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a 3 day break and booked this hotel because it was close to the town centre... That turned to out to be only one of this hotels fantastic features! Looked seconds from shops and minutes from the lake front this hotel is outstanding! The owner is welcoming and very accommodating. He couldn't do enough! We had our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
Management response:

Thank you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

We chose this Bed and Breakfast because it was in a very good location. It is up a short steep hill. It is very close to the shops, restaurants and lake. It has parking, although spaces are a bit tight. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean although a bit dated and the door did not close... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allison P
Management response:

Thank you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Newtownards
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

Property located at the end of Helm Road ,Crag Brow Junction, there is a hill to climb out of Bowness to consider. It is convenient to shops and eateries. It is obviously popular as it was fully booked Parking is provided, spaces are are tight, especially at the side of the property. The house itself is a period property, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank greekirelander
Management response:

Thank you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

This hotel is priced around £100 per room per night and whilst that is not expensive for Bowness it certainly wasn't worth it, the room was nothing like the photos or description, it was accessed from outside, there were no windows it was very dark and felt very damp the shower was small and grim with dirty grout, the wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charles S
Management response:

Thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback on your stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with your choice of room however I can assure you the room you stayed in is clearly represented on our web site and on those of the booking agency you booked through. The area of repair that was unpainted was as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#21 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#32 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#28 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $106 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay