We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dome House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Dome House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

The owner completely ignored us after taking £800 of our hard earned money. The surprise 60th get away we had planned was not possible after he told us he had been burgled. Never heard from him again. We are currently taking legal advise to try and track the conman down! The poor families that you have ripped off! How do... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank Sarahmcdonald1985
DomeHouse, Manager at Dome House, responded to this review

Further to your review, all bookings have either taken place or refunded, if this is a genuine review please could you contact dome house via the email on the booking confirmation, as there has been no intention to keep payment for any booking, to note we have checked the booking system and have no note of a booking made in... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

This house is HUGE, everything is on a grand scale. The children loved the pool, hot tub and sauna were good, all the rooms are huge with en-suite. The accommodation was brilliant as well as the location. There are a few little thing's that could be improved on, there's no tumble dryer, bits aren't finished to a high standard but... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamesshar
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2016

Have just returned from a week at Dome House. Property was spectacular, immaculate, clean & warm...facilities; hottub, sauna and pool were a real treat. House is much bigger in the flesh than it looks on photographs and the original design by Robert Gaukroger has blended in so well to the Cumbrian landscape. It is an amazing design...The views are breathtaking... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank emilygreerson
Midlothian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Just back from a wonderful week at The Dome House. 4 families celebrating my mother in laws 70th birthday. The house was simply exquisite, we all felt truly privelaged to be in this property. The views are stunning and the design of the house meant that there was always plenty of space despite the large numbers. The house was clean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2016

We spent Last week at Dome House (June 2016), and it was Spectacular in Every respect. The views are Breathtaking, the house is Simply Stunning and has mellowed in to its surroundings Beautifully. We all feel Very privileged to have been able to enjoy this slice of Heaven for a week. Robert the Owner could not have done more to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank AdamandLois
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Just received an email (a no-reply) telling us our holiday has been cancelled & to contact PayPal for a refund 3 weeks before we'red ue to go. Disappointed! is the milder term I'm going to use. This was a family holiday, 6 adults & 3 children. Not sure how I tell the children.

Helpful?
11 Thank LindyLou82
DomeHouse, Manager at Dome House, responded to this review

Dear Lindylou82, sorry we cannot match your TA call sign to a guest name although we believe you are the booking near the end of June, please email us to discuss, although we know these reviews can take time to go live and believe we have already spoken over the phone and discussed that we have now made plans to... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Dome House was a total disappointment. We were not pre warned about there being no heating or hot water in half the house. The pool was not working so we had to pay for alternate spa at nearby hotel. There was a leaking radiator in one bedroom. Missing light fitting in the living area and a faulty freezer. We were... More 

Helpful?
39 Thank Polly H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2016

Dome house was booked as a birthday surprise for my partner, along with 4 other couples. Although the house is potentially an amazing property, it had its faults that's for sure. It certainly did not meet our expections or fulfil its advertised status. The facilities we had paid for were not in working use, ie the hot tub did not... More 

Helpful?
19 Thank Iphone86
DomeHouse, Dome house accomodation at Dome House, responded to this review

This is the same person who has already reviewed there stay as a different user , these people trashed the place and without been to graphic are scum. response from the other review they also left;- Unfortunately the terms of not using the house as a party venue were not respected by this guest and their friends and they left... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2016

This is my second visit to Dome House. My first visit was with my family. I returned with my husband and two young grandsons. We found Dome House to be immaculately clean and tidy. Its a wonderful place to recharge your batteries! The magnificent view over Lake Windermere is priceless, All the beds are very comfortable and if you are... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Skianne
Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately, Dome Boutique did not fulfil our expectations. We were provided with an incorrect code to access the house, leaving us sat outside for a few hours, as the contact numbers provided were out of use, and our emails ignored. The swimming pool and hot tub did not work for the entirety of our stay and the freezers not working... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank Bethgreenham
DomeHouse, Dome House self catering house at Dome House, responded to this review

Unfortunately the terms of not using the house as a party venue were not respected by this guest and their friends and they left the property in the following condition;- Dome living area and kitchen floor was littered with food, party glitter, Party items. Four full black bins liners containing empty alcohol bottles, beer, lager; wine and spirits had to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Church Suites by The Cranleigh Boutique
Church Suites by The Cranleigh B...
#18 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#22 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Minutes from Lake Windermere ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dome House

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Also Known As:
Dome House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dome House staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Dome House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are great as you get whole house”
 of 5 bubbles emilygreerson, Aug 6, 2016 | Read review
“No Need, You get the Pleasure of the Whole House!!!”
 of 5 bubbles AdamandLois, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
“The green room is the best suite”
 of 5 bubbles Iphone86, Feb 24, 2016 | Read review
“The Green Suite is much larger than the others, would recommend.”
 of 5 bubbles DamienandDen, Oct 27, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms seem to have great views”
 of 5 bubbles pragmatopian, Oct 3, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question