We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$171
View deal
Only 4 left at
$171
View deal
Priceline
Hotels.com$171
Agoda.com$180
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1551)
360
Panoramas (59)
Room & Suite (392)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Belsfield Hotel
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
3.8
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere, The Belsfield Hotel is the perfect place from which to enjoy a break in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens, the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere. The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views of Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Elegantly decorated meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your event in the Lake District.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian and 1 more
2242Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,190
  • 545
  • 276
  • 138
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BriandKaz wrote a review Sep 27
3 contributions7 helpful votes
Our views on our visit to The Belsfield Hotel are rather mixed. It is an imposing and impressive building in a fantastic location overlooking the lake. Check in was good with all required information provided. Unfortunately upon entering our room ( room 30 ) we were disappointed as it was not as I expected. I had booked a suite as we have done several times at other hotels . Previously we have found a suite has consisted of a separate room for relaxing with the bedroom attached. On this occasion it was a larger bedroom with a sitting area and small table for two. The hotel’s website does state that a suite may , or may not , have a separate lounge area and so on this occasion I accepted we had drawn the short straw . No issues there . However the website also states the suites offer stunning views and a roll top bath . There was no roll top bath as promised, only an older standard plastic panelled bath. As we are planning on restyling our bathroom assessing a roll top bath in practice was one of the features that swayed our decision to stay here . With regard to the stunning views . When sitting at the table in our room having a coffee before breakfast our view was what appeared to be an old , derelict greenhouse / storage building . Not exactly an appealing view to begin your day . When I mentioned this at check out I was told by the member of staff that another company deals with the website description and so nothing to do with him . A rather strange and dismissive response and not the lasting impression you want when leaving the hotel . Overall the hotel is a very enjoyable place to visit with several areas to relax on the ground floor . Sitting on the terrace overlooking the lake was fantastic and would thoroughly recommend it . A special mention for Lucien who did a fantastic job of providing cocktails and was very knowledgeable and proficient in this . A credit to the hotel . The hotel has so many good points that may , for some , outweigh the negatives around the room but unsure if we would return or recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tom wrote a review Sep 27
17 contributions
We were looking to stay locally for just one night and had already found the Angel Inn but, due to the lack of parking, decided to stay at the slightly more expensive 'Belsfield Hotel'. Another reason being, my late younger brother Simon Ainsworth, had worked there some 30yrs ago and I used to give him a lift there before returning to my job in London. I thought we'd take the opportunity of seeing his old workplace! The building itself is majestic and is well known in the area. The entrance is very easy on the eyes, as is the interior of the main building. If staying here, the 'lift' will amuse, especially if you have luggage! The staff are helpful and pleasant, as you would expect from such an establishment. The grounds are extremely well kept and a pleasure to walk through/sit in, The lake view....breathtaking. Now every positive has a negative. The room we were given, albeit with a good view of the lake (obscured by a large amount of Seagull droppings....It must have felt better after that!), was a lot smaller than I would have expected for the price paid. The bed gave me the worst nights sleep I've ever had at any Hotel of that standard, the mattress being far too hard by half. For some reason two part used bottles of water had been left in the room, so we had to disturb room service and request replacements. However, it must be said that everything was clean. We had a night out at the local 'Tapas bar' and ordered breakfast to our room for 9.30am (using a very handy door card). It arrived promptly. Unfortunately only part of the breakfast arrived and the poor room service waiter had to run down for the rest. By the time this had been done, the rest was stone cold. You live and learn as they say. All good fun I suppose. Would we stay again? I just don't know, is the simple answer. I just expected better if I'm honest. I'm personally not massively disappointed, I just think the issues we had would possibly be enough to have us consider alternatives first. It's just not what it used to be since my brother worked there. 😉😁. RIP Simon (Our kid) Ainsworth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Barbara M wrote a review Sep 26
4 contributions
We had to confirm this Accessible room before we booked places on our group train holiday staying at this hotel for 5 nights in Sept. As commonly found there was only one accessible room/ bathroom in the hotel so wherever we stay we are used to booking months ahead. Room 1 was one of 6 ground floor rooms — and with the future planned renovations at this hotel it would make sense to create 3 fully accessible bedrooms with wet rooms to suit the ever growing elderly population who struggle with steps, unsafe flooring and showers inside baths. Our room was excellent: large with a partial lake view. The large surface area of the bedside cupboards were very welcome. In the large bathroom & wet room area there was a tiny basin next to the raised toilet for washing hands. The modern large wash basin with a cupboard beneath needs to be replaced with a barrier free basin as my husband could not wash or shave unless he positioned himself sideways on - sitting on his rollator! The tiling around the wet room floor area also requires attention. We pointed these areas of improvement out to the hotel staff. We enjoyed the spacious dining areas and helpful staff. It was easy for my husband to get around in his wheelchair and to sit outside enjoying the wonderful views. We had to use a local taxi to reach the lakeside for the boat trips as the garden path and street access to the boats were steep and not wheelchair safe. We enjoyed our stay at The Belsfield and the accessible room was one of the best ones we have used on our travels. Ps. *** Please advertise the Accessible room on your website*** - and a Hotel Access Statement would save a lot of check phone calls before arrival! Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 1 : Ground floor - wheelchair accessible, with large wet room. Quiet with a lovely view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Yevvone wrote a review Sep 15
6 contributions37 helpful votes
Lake is next to this grand hotel. The walls are paper thin. You will hear everything the room next to you is up to. We did not like that. We also did not like the food. Breakfast was not bad but other meals tasted like microwaved. All in all, we might return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Belsfield Hotel. I read you review and only can apologise for the short falls you felt was not up to standard. I will review the comments with the team and see were we can improve. Thank you again for the review. Kind regards Guest relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joshua B wrote a review Sep 14
Penrith, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Writing the review for my parents who visited the hotel earlier this month on my recommendation. They were extremely happy with the visit, the restaurant staff was super helpful and friendly, food was very good and the room was amazing! Special mention however has to go the head house keeper, my parents couldn’t tell me enough about how well she looked after them and how helpful she was making sure that their stay is as comfortable as can be. I can’t thank the hotel and the staff enough for looking after them, my parents being an elderly couple need a little bit of extra support and that’s exactly what was provided. And again a big thank you to majena ( apologise if I misspelled it) for taking care of them so well. One of the best hotels we ever visited.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Belsfield Hotel. I read your review with great pleasure and so pleased the team made your visit. Thank you Kind regards Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simone wrote a review Sep 10
10 contributions
Lovely stay but slightly disappointed. The surrounding are beautiful and it’s somewhere I’ve always wanted to stay. We arrived earlier than you stated check in time. Asked if an earlier check it was available. The receptionist was not very welcoming and a little miserable. I learnt that she was new and didn’t have great knowledge. This is fine but a little enthusiasm would be better to match the surroundings. We did get checked in an hour early which was full appreciated. The room cost £325 which included breakfast and a 12pm checkout. I was initially disappointed when we entered the room. It’s didn’t have that luxury feeling and felt quite regular 😞 Small and a little tried. The view however was beautiful but you need to clean the windows as they where covered in bird poo. The bed was very comfortable and furnishings where actually a high standard on inspection. Loved the shower and it’s body jets. I just had this expectation of ‘Wow’ but didn’t get is sadly. I think you are paying for the lake side view only. We where very impressed with the rest of the hotel and yes that had the wow factor. Was made to feel welcome and important by the booth table at breakfast and the food was excellent. I’m not sure if we would stay again overnight just purely on value for money on the room but would definitely visit the restaurant again and lounges again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Would reconsider looking for a lake view as you pay too much for it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Belsfield Hotel. I read you review and only can apologise for the short falls you felt was not up to standard. I will review the comments with the team and see were we can improve. Thank you again for the review. Kind regards Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aslan wrote a review Sep 7
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The Belsfield held a Wedding Inspiration Day on 4 Sept 2022, the day that we arrived. Our check in should have been 3pm but the hotel were giving tours of bedrooms until 4pm so we had to leave our luggage in the car and wait for them to let us have our room. At 4.45 I asked again when our room would be available and was told it was ready but they'd been too busy to tell us! I can't believe they prevented a paying guest from checking in because they were giving tours of our room to others. They were more interested in signing couples up for future wedding events than looking after those who had paid a lot of money to stay there. We weren't even offered a beverage while we waited. Our room was ok, had a great view out over the lake (which we paid for - over £500 for a 2 night stay B&B) and the bath was fantastic for a soak (but, if you get the roll-top bath, be careful as I cut my finger on one of the edges near the tap as it was sharp). Tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, iron, ironing board were all available. Breakfast was a disaster. On our first morning, I ordered a gluten free full English with eggs over easy and GF toast. The full English was only just warm, the bacon looked very suspicious and the egg had raw egg white as it hadn't been turned over so I wouldn't eat it. On our second and last morning, we shared a booth with 4 friends (all guests) for breakfast. I ordered GF toast and a pot of tea and nothing else at 8.55am. Two of the group ordered kippers but they weren't cooked properly and were not hot. Others ordered other hot breakfast meals and tea/coffee. All of these were served quickly but I was still waiting for tea and GF toast. At 9.40, 2 of our friends left and I was still waiting for tea and toast. I asked about it again but still waited a while longer. When the toast arrived, I was adding butter etc. and a waitress came to the table and leaned over my plate to reach something on the other side of the table, preventing me from continuing, until I pointed out what she was doing. In reality, I paid £37 for 2 pots of tea and 6 slices of GF toast/marmalade over the 2 night stay. I've marked Service as average as some staff were phenomenal, going above and beyond. Some staff cover multiple duties (e.g. breakfast service and bar) from morning until night. The hotel has only one lift, which relies on guests closing the grill doors properly otherwise it will not move when needed by guests on a different floor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Mobility issues - let them know when you book as the hotel is a bit of a warren with multiple...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon, my team and I are so sorry your stay with us on Sunday wasn't great and I'm so sorry I never had the chance to discuss your stay with you personally before you departed. Please could you email us your contact number and when would be a good time to call you Kind regards gm@thebelsfieldhotelc.oom
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan G wrote a review Sep 4
14 contributions10 helpful votes
On a recent two night stay, to attend a friends wedding, the accommodation and attitude of the staff was absolutely appalling. The wedding itself was well catered for but beyond wedding events this hotel seems to have little to no interest in their guests or providing any sort of quality of experience for their customers. Boasting a beautiful location and view of the lake, this overpriced hotel offered us a room that stank of damp to an extremely uncomfortable level. There was mould in the bathroom and a very noisy yet redundant humidistat fan that kept going on in the middle of the night on full power, keeping us awake with its vibrating sound, while not managing to provide and positive impact on the uncomfortable odour. We could have put up with the fan if the room didn't stink but knowing this was a redundant exercise it only added to the frustration and negative experiences caused by this multi-sensory assault on the senses! I raised this issue with the hotel reception staff, via phone on our first morning, as we initially thought it may have been the drains, but no action was taken and we again had an extremely unpleasant second nights stay in the hotel. Breakfast on both mornings was poor with rude service, slow restocks on continental items and overcooked hot items on offer. On the second morning an exceptionally rude female member of the service team stood and stared when we advised that she had got our breakfast orders wrong. She held the plates with an expectant stare, following a shrug of her shoulders that somehow implied we should take what was being offered and be happy. Being seated with the bride and groom from the previous day's wedding I found this attitude disgusting and an extremely unfortunate example of some of the worst customer service I had ever seen. Fortunately another more helpful of staff came to our aid but this was not the only example of such behaviour we witnessed during our stay with other guests. As a regular traveller I felt it was worth taking the time to share our extremely negative experience, to hopefully prevent others from having the same poor experience. Please avoid!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good morning, First of all I'm so sorry we didn't get to speak to you before you left and secondly I would like to say how sorry we are that your stay wasn't perfect Please could you email me your contact number and when would be a good time to call you Kind regards 'Team Belsfield' gm@thebelsfieldhotel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LJR wrote a review Sep 2
Formby, United Kingdom21 contributions12 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel with a beautiful view of Lake Windermere Friendly and courteous staff, nice clean rooms, but recommend you. Ask for a room with a view of the lake. Grossly overpriced, so I would recommend looking around before you decide. Reakfast comes at a charge of £18.50p and I would give this a miss. Breakfast is very poor, overcooked and very small. Not very tasty. I would buy my breakfast in the village cafes which are only 5 minutes away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Leslie first of all thank you for your feedback and secondly we are so sorry your stay wasn't perfect from arrival to departure. I will of course follow up with the team in regards to your breakfast feedback, we really hope you will give us another try in the future Kind regards 'Team Belsfield'
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zimmer32 wrote a review Sep 1
Halifax, United Kingdom19 contributions13 helpful votes
Stayed two nights for silver wedding anniversary in August bank holiday week. First floor suite with stunning views overlooking lake. It is an old, historic building that has been modernised & enhanced tastefully in many areas (reception, bathrooms etc). We enjoyed great service throughout our stay including top banter with the entertaining bar staff! Good breakfast with old school formal service. Room was spacious & luxurious with a large, modern en suite bathroom for two. We paid more than we normally would as it was a special occasion, but it was worth it for the suite & views. A special mention to the restaurant staff who could not have been more helpful & who remained professional & patient when dealing with one or two "entitled" (shall we say) parties who wanted to squeeze five people around a window table for two! Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at The Belsfield Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good morning, thank you for your feedback and we really look forward to seeing you again Kind regards 'Team Belsfield'
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$184 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
belsfield hotel bowness on windermere, belsfield bowness on windermere
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictBowness-on-Windermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Belsfield Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Belsfield Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lake Windermere (0.2 miles), The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction (0.3 miles), and The Albert Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Belsfield Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Belsfield Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Belsfield Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Belsfield Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dr Brews Coffee, Graze, and Boardwalk Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Belsfield Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Belsfield Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Bowness-on-Windermere.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Belsfield Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Belsfield Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Belsfield Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to The Belsfield Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Townend (3.5 miles), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (1.3 miles), and Claife Viewing Station (1.1 miles).