We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Save
Share
The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1373)
360
Panoramas (59)
Room & Suite (443)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Updated 09/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere, The Belsfield Hotel is the perfect place from which to enjoy a break in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens, the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere. The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views of Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Elegantly decorated meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your event in the Lake District.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian and 1 more
2056Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,112
  • 511
  • 247
  • 113
  • 74
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joanna C wrote a review Yesterday
Blackpool, United Kingdom90 contributions23 helpful votes
Really looked forward to our afternoon tea here. Staff not interested, when any available. Had to ask if we could eat outside as it was a lovely day-would have expected to be asked. We sat outside - not seated just sent out. Ages before anyone came over to us, in fact I had to wave him over. Very offhand. I asked for a substitute on 2 items. When the tea arrived he didn't tell me what I had got instead. Only asked if we wanted more tea after we had asked for the bill. One other tea stand collapsed and nobody came over to the poor couple. Took them ages to clean it up. What we saw of the public areas was uninspiring. Will not return
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Jane B wrote a review Jun 18
Southport, United Kingdom19 contributions30 helpful votes
Nice location and view. Although we had booked and asked for an outside table there were none available or reserved for us on arrival. It took a member of the public to offer their table as they were about to leave shortly. We were seated inside until the table was available and told they would come to take a drink order. We eventually stopped a passing waiter for drinks as no one came to take it. The waitress with long blonde hair tied back did not make us feel at all welcome. In fact we felt rather a nuisance. When we were seated outside with our drinks and had ordered our afternoon tea the hot drink and food was served quickly. The teapot was sooooo heavy! I’m surprised some of the older visitors can manage them! When our afternoon tea arrived - one traditional and one vegetarian - the waitress (a different one) did not ask who the vegetarian one was for and they were put the wrong way round - when I politely asked her to swap them she actually tutted!! The food was good and very plentiful. I couldn’t eat it all. Some butter for the scones would have been welcome - they were rather too big and a bit dry - more delicate scones would have been better. The Eton mess was refreshing. I asked to take my cakes home and the waiter was very obliging with a box. Overall appearance was of an average hotel. Nice views but the inside decor looked quite bland. It doesn’t stand out as a fine Lakeland hotel. I’m not inspired to stay there on future visits although I can’t comment on the rooms. The menu for main meals looked very limited. Far better places to eat in Bowness.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Good parking, nice location. Staff training on courtesy needed
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Steve Dowdeswell wrote a review Jun 18
Worthing, United Kingdom34 contributions38 helpful votes
When you arrive in Bowness by boat on lake windermere, the biggest and grandest building you see is the Belsfield Hotel, it looks out across the bay making it the best placed hotel in the area, we stayed here 4 nights and had the best time. The staff are all very friendly and efficient, the food is excellent, although dissapointingly the fine dining experience isnt available at the moment due to covid, you can tell there are some staff shortages and you may have to wait a little while to get in the dining room, but when you do its well worth it! I had a broken ankle during my stay and hobbled around the hotel but our room was changed to one a bit more easier to walk to, made life much easier, it was our first time in the lake district and would love to come back to the Belsfield, Highly Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Helgu wrote a review Jun 15
New York City, New York42 contributions8 helpful votes
A cut above and a real luxury hotel. fabulous position and great afternoon tea. Biggest quibble was they gave us a one hour late checkout but canceled all our room keys at the usual checkout time. Outrageous motel-like behaviour for such a grand hotel!! Don't they know at a luxury hotel to be more gentle in turfing out guests? Short of staff I guess after Covid because they had nine full tables on a a terrace that could easily have held twice as many - and they were turning away hotel guests who needed drinks and food in the evening. They lost out on money and it was not luxurious to be told one couldn't get food except room service. But breakfast was lovely and the hotel is right by the Bowness piers. Staff were all trying really hard to accommodate us. Kudos to them. Lovely spot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Lake view rooms not necessarily bigger but the view is really special.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Aman B wrote a review Jun 10
1 contribution
On a positive note to start I’d like to say majority of the staff have been polite and welcoming considering that they are struggling with staff shortages. The food was really good and the location is one of the best. I would not recommend this hotel if you are a family or if you of a non white background. The clientele are of a elder age and often when a non white walks through the door the uneducated part of them cannot help but stare. We also had an uncomfortable moment at breakfast when a Muslim mother with a child had left there table after breakfast and the child had dropped some food but this elderly white women (who should not be allowed to be in public) next to us could not help but mention to a staff member named Shaun (wears his glasses on the top of his head mid 50s of age incase management are not sure of who he is) I believe that there was a mess and be careful when picking the food up like it was a tainted or diseased ridden and the staff member just laughed and encouraged this uneducated thought. Shaun also continued to ignore my family table and spoke to every other white person table throughout the restaurant and did not acknowledge us at all. He could not have made it more clear that he is did not want to talk to us due to the colour of our skin. I’ve never left a review anywhere but I would definitely not recommend this hotel if you are educated and do not feel that you are entitled. Really disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bartosz Kowalski, Guest Services / Front Office at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Responded 1 week ago
Dear amanb532 Thank you for your review and kind words about our staff, food and location. I am sorry however to read that you left disappointed based on the breakfast experience. I have looked into described situation and I really believe that your observation was not the true reflection of what happened. Our hotel welcomes all nations from every corner of the globe and we strive to welcome everyone equally. I can only apologize for the impression you had, and I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Bartosz Kowalski Deputy General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
belsfield hotel bowness on windermere, belsfield bowness on windermere
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictBowness-on-Windermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Which popular attractions are close to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Nearby attractions include Lake Windermere (0.2 miles), The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction (0.3 miles), and The Albert Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dr Brews Coffee, Graze, and Folk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Bowness-on-Windermere.
Are any cleaning services offered at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Townend (3.5 miles), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (1.3 miles), and Hill Top, Beatrix Potter's House (2.1 miles).