We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Linthwaite House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Linthwaite House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,350: English reviews
Burley In Wharfedale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed with an extended family gathering (significant wedding anniversary). Lovely rooms, great views from terraces, and fine garden to walk around. The private dining room was an ideal room for an excellent meal, very well-paced with staff flexible about timings of courses to accommodate speeches etc. The whole weekend worked superbly for ages between babe-in-arms and 60+.

Helpful?
Thank Derek T
Formby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a lovely setting, where else could one find its own tarn with carefully and sympathetically landscaped grounds. The decor of the hotel and our particular room has been well chosen, it is clear that management maintain very high standards of refurbishment. Unfortunately, though the staff complete with impressive French service titles, do occasionally slip up, such... More 

Helpful?
Thank MikeCFormby
Andrew N, General Manager at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. You have not experienced Linthwaite House at its best for which we sincerely apologise. Your feedback is appreciated and please be assured that we have taken action to ensure our service standards remain consistently high. I hope we can welcome you back to... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our fourth visit to Linthwaite and it's so good that every time you go back there's a slight trepidation it's never as good as it was before! Every time though that proves unfounded as every time it is. The welcome is always brilliant - you don't feel like you're entering a hotel but someone's home and when you're... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

we were so fortunate to get a lovely room at this gorgeous hotel in the month of august. Linthwaite sits on 14 acres of pure beauty with magnificent views on Lake Windermere. A most hospitable manager met us and checked us in and showed us to our room and made sure we had all we needed. He arranged reservations for... More 

Helpful?
Thank barbara1960
annafromuk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We initially chose this hotel because it had electric car chargers (and whilst we were there we were the only users of the chargers). The hotel is a small, luxurious hotel located in the countryside just outside Bowness-on-Windermere. We booked a deal which included evening meals. The meals were not the sort of food we normal eat - they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank annafromuk
Amanda S, Marketing Co-ordinator at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thank you for comprehensive review, and we are really pleased you found our Tesla charge points useful. The gardens are looking particularly stunning at the moment. Hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary by revisiting the hotel where we stayed for our honeymoon. The hotel is much changed and has moved considerably up market since our visit forty years ago. The hotel was excellent, particularly the food which was better than a Michelin star hotel recently visited. This despite the fact that Linthwaite were currently... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnW55186364
Amanda S, Marketing Co-ordinator at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Congratulations on your Ruby Wedding Anniversary. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Linthwaite. Our new Head Chef has now joined us and once he has completed his induction will be busy creating more wonderful dishes. More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at Linthwaite House, I thoroughly enjoyed the first visit and my birthday gave me the excuse to return. The gardens, including a private tarn are stunning and beautifully kept with outstanding views of Lake Windermere and the hills beyond. The staff are genuinely pleased to see you and offer a warm, polite... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shnuff
Amanda S, Marketing Co-ordinator at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

First of all happy birthday, we are so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive review and for your kind comments. Hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has lovely gardens and a wonderful view . Staff are pleasant and friendly. The hotel lacks a certain class and could be so much better- eg a requested extension cable was never delivered to the room, promised directions for a route were also forgotten about. The carpets are tired and our cosy double room lacked finesse. There is... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine B
Amanda S, Marketing Co-ordinator at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and constructive comments, which please be assured we will act upon. More 

blackpool
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nightmare of a journey to the lakes and had to move the bookings about 3 times, but they have been so understanding and helpful, thank you. The conservatory area where they serve the afternoon tea is beautiful itself and with the added bonus of garden and lake view. We get to relax totally with cakes for 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank blkman1
Amanda S, Marketing Co-ordinator at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were given some vouchers for a stay at this Hotel. So we decided to stay (D.B.B.) for my 65th birthday. The reception was good although they did miscount the vouchers by £200. The room, a 'Cosy King Size', was very comfortable and clean. When we came down for Dinner we were presented with a canapé which was a shop... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank y2mark
Amanda S, Marketing Co-ordinator at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. As you can see from the other reviews on this page you have not experienced Linthwaite at its best for which we apologise. We have taken action on your feedback to ensure our service standards remain consistently high. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

819 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (494)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (288)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Fifth Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room (17)
Viewed
Second Room (25)
Viewed
Suite (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)
Viewed
Third Room (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $221 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay