We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Garden Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairfield Garden Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely location at the end of The Dales Way, but disappointing service from the owners. As guests we felt that we were not welcome, as they had so many rules and strange requests, we couldn't chill out here at all, at the end of the Dales Walk. Any reasonable request was seemingly met with a reluctant shrug of the shoulders.... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephentK1887EE
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1. Either we or our tour company made a mistake and booked the wrong type of room. The owner, Tony, immediately worked out a solution that was perfect. It wasn't even his fault and he made it work in peak season. That doesn't happen in most establishments. 2. Staying here is like a treasure hunt. Every day you notice some... More 

Helpful?
Thank dunning134
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Wow - Thanks. And thanks for mentioning the staff they are just as much a part of your experience as we are. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed at the Fairfield for 1 night, it was lovely, friendly staff, Liz & Tony made us & our dog very welcome, the garden is beautiful, the room was lovely, wish we could of stayed longer, we will be going back soon.

Helpful?
Thank barber168
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

I had booked a double room for the long bank holiday weekend. The online booking process was quick and straight forward. It was my first time staying at this hotel so initially I thought that the price was a bit high, however, I can now say that it was totally worth it. Both me and my wife enjoyed our stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank UsRo
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have tried to keep the decor as close to the early 20th century as we can to reflect the historical background of the house. Hope to see you again. More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Made to feel welcome by the hosts Liz & Tony from arrival to departure. Staying there was something to tick off my bucket list as being the home of one of my relatives Annie Garnett. Tony gave me a little more insight to Annie Garnett's life, but also confirmed my investigations. He also let me see one of the apartments... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonpac
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you. The history of our house is one of its strongest assets and we are only to glad to pass on such knowledge as we have and exchange with others who have more than we do. See you again hopefully - oh, and yes, the spa is now working again :-) More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Fairfield for 2 nights on 7 and 8 May. What a hidden gem this hotel is, the owners are very welcoming and friendly and the guy who helps out with breakfasts is lovely. We stayed in the penthouse, which had lovely features such as a Jacuzzi bath and rain shower which we took full advantage of.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DarrenTodd25
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The penthyouse was a little project a while back and has been very popular ever since. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

A lovely guest house with delightful garden. Lovely touches throughout the property, saw some Peony flowers ( my favourites). Friendly, helpful owners, wonderful spread at breakfast, so nice to have fresh fruit, the cooked breakfast was delicious as well! Bedrooms & bathrooms spotless with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries and a good range of tea/coffee on hospitality tray -... More 

Helpful?
Thank stp1602
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your words. Now that th ebetter weather is here the garden is coming into its own. Its nice to be able to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine on a warm evening. May there be plenty of them! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

We chose this guest house without much thought , as it is located Very close to the town . A five minute walk finds you right in the heart of Bowness on Windermere , near all the pubs and restaurants. A positive we noticed about the guest house was that it was VERY quiet during both the day and night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellis3000
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you. We get a few comments about the hill but it is nice to recognise that it keeps the busy village down in the village! :-) Tony More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Booked very last minute for a single nights stay over the weekend for my Birthday and was far from disappointed! The website states they normally don't allow for single night bookings at weekends however I thought id chance it and sent an email! Tony replied to me within hours and after a quick phone confirmation we were booked! We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank LewisTonner
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you. Tony More 

Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We stayed there for our Anniversary weekend and had the rooftop Bedroom which was superbly equipped, I managed to avoid most of the beams. Its a long haul up the stairs, my wife was struggling a bit, so be aware if you have an issue with climbing. The hill going to town was steep, but we coped. Parking was fine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eddie T
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do try to point out that the penthouse is in the roofspace and so is up stairs. However we do understand and hope that the views made it all worthwhile. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#21 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#25 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#3 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#38 of 56 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $128 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay