We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Russell Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Russell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 492: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel many times with no complaints. At my most recent stay on the 6th August I was very unhappy with the size of the room. The single room was charged at a supplement and although I was happy to pay this, the room did not meet the basic standard. There was no room to move... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. I am disappointed to read of the issues you found and hope that you mentioned them to the reception so that they could put things right for you while you were there. We are pleased to hear that despite the issues you had an enjoyable stay in Weymouth... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just arrived back from the Russell hotel' stayed 14th-18th ,after finding the carpark' ( it has not got a sign to say it is the Russell's carpark '??) Booked in quickly' went to room ' very dark' ( it was a lovely sunny day ) looked out window' just a brick wall !!! Did ask for another room' but was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank irenerhodes
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the position of this room and that we were unable to find you an alternative room at the time, however with the hotel being full it would have been impossible to move you. I apologise for the issue... More 

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A last minute booking to the Russell. Thank you for allocating us to a sea-view room on the second floor, excellent quality, comfortable, clean and well serviced. Food in the restaurant was good with the usual choices. Quality and quantity were fine, Katie our waitress was super.. Entertainment was good, especially as you could sample both hotels (the Russell and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mjp5
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your marvellous review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday despite the heat. I will certainly pass your suggestion onto our Operations Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Russell numerous times. Why do I keep going back ? An hotel room on the Weymouth sea front, half board, middle of August, How much ? look up the price of the Russell and you will not believe your eyes. Try booking even B & B in the same area and see what it would... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank john_cadwell
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your marvellous review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent five days at Russell Hotel Weymouth 2nd of August brilliant break great food entertainment and all staff very helpful we would also like mention the cleanliness of the Hotel and how everything turned out right.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken E
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your marvellous review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I will start by saying that all the staff at this hotel were lovely they will do as much as they can for you the parking is very tight at the back of the hotel but you can get help a lovely man helped us with our bags . parking at the front is not easy as you do not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank roda_girl
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. I am disappointed to read of the issues you found and hope that you mentioned them to the reception so that they could put things right for you while you were there. We do have an on-going refurbishment program that we are working through to bring the hotel... More 

Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great time at the Russell. The room and bathroom were both clean and in very good condition. The service was friendly and pretty good. The bar was reasonable, breakfast was excellent and dinner for the price was good. All in all excellent value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cliffp934
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff couldn't do enough for us especially David never without a smile on his face ( ooh those eyes ) good selection with meals,we hired scooters as both disabled they were taken by the staff to charge up ready for next day we couldn't have had better treatment any were

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T8308WOmaryb
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your marvellous review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. More 

Weston-super-Mare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay Clean and tidy rooms food was very good Restaurant staff were very helpful One in particular A young man called River couldn't do enough for us Will definitely go back looking forward to coming back Christmas

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your marvellous review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again for Christmas. More 

Faversham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Could do with a little loving care and attention. Food was very good and service excellent. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Beautiful position on sea front. Only down side was parking. Attendant available to move cars if necessary.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#4 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#9 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: $96 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay