We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a lovely clean and comfortable room with a bath, which is always good after a long day walking. The village pub doesn't serve food on a Monday, so Wendy very kindly gave us a lift to a pub in Appleby and picked us up later. Very good breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank SoftSouthernJessies
Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you. Glad you enjoy your time with us. More 

the moon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

Horrible, the bedding smelt, the mattress was very sunken, the room was covered in dust, and the toilet had not been cleaned. We let ourselves in as no one there when we arrived. I believe that this is the only B&B in Dufton beside the Youth Hostel which may explain the lack of any care taken. The cooked breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Spacehopper9
Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I do find your comments very rude and upsetting. Re: not being here when you arrived. I left a note on the door explaining I had to go and pick my son up from work (who isn't old enough to drive yet) and that I would be back by 5.45pm, which I was and I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Appleby-in-Westmorland hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

Hair in sink, cobwebs in window, literally years of dust behind the beds, floor not cleaned. Front of draw fell apart when opened. Location lovely, can't complain about other things but the room made an impression. I wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
Thank ronshe
Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

You have obviously been at another B&B as we cannot find a broken draw in any of the rooms. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016

We just stayed the one night. Someone was there to meet us and we were allowed to put out bags in the room early in the day before going on our walk. The room was clean and well presented with all the amenities we required. The view from the room was stunning. The room itself was warm, the bed comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanPP
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was nice to meet you and hopefully see you again some day :) More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Arrived after a long days walking to a less than warm welcome, a less than spotless room and left the following morning with a very mediocre packed lunch. Would plump for the Youth Hostel in the Village if staying in this area again

Helpful?
Thank Julian S
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with your room. At no point during your visit did you come to tell me you were not happy, like most people who like to complain about everything they wait till they get home and use trip advisor - which is very unfair on small businesses like ours. As for the "very mediocre... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

I stayed there as a part of a group of six on a coast to coast cycle-although I was driving the bus ! I had a single room. The room was clean and tidy but very small. Ok you don't expect luxury at those prices. There was, however, a nasty reek of oil fumes from the oil fired central heating... More 

Helpful?
Thank leedscruiser
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We did explain that there had been an oil leak in the boiler a while back but this had been fixed and the boiler had been serviced, but it had still left a smell of oil (which is disappearing). The boiler is serviced annually by a qualified plumber and had only been done two weeks... More 

manchester uk
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We were lucky to get the last room available for a Saturday night stay over the Bank Holiday weekend. Really nice comfortable clean B&B with standard but well-cooked breakfast, guest sitting room with TV and lost of magazines a bonus.

Helpful?
Thank Neilmcc
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments - much appreciated. More 

staffs
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Celebrating 50 years of the Pennine way my friend and I decided we would stop over after our 5 hour trek in Dufton . Not much choice in Dufton but we have no complaints about this b&b . Basic but clean and decent brekky to send us on our way . Why some of the comments are negative is beyond... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I do appreciate you saying about the negatives comments. We try our best to provide a good Bed and Breakfast for a reasonable price but it goes to show you can't please everyone every time. I have had many verbal positive comments of the accommodation and the reasonable cost we charge and the majority of... More 

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Set in beautiful idylic surroundings in the village of Dufton. Excellent accommodation provided by Wendy. Delicious traditional English breakfast served. Other breakfasts are available of course. The views out the back are breath-taking. Scrolling hills. Very quiet and peaceful. I loved the village pub - The Stag Inn We would definitely return here at some point in the future. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartinWilton
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have been staying at Brow Farm at least once a year since Wendy opened the B&B, and always enjoy our visits. Wendy & Chris make us feel very welcome, & the rooms are very clean, well equipped & comfortable. The views from the farm are stunning too.

Helpful?
Thank Moss727
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is always nice to welcome guests back to Brow Farm More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
2.9 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#6 of 16 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 16 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Dufton
YHA Dufton
#2 of 4 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#3 of 16 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Dufton, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $93 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing