We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newbegin House

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Newbegin House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 234: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had expectations of high-class accommodation from reading other reviews.Somewhat disappointed to find a property in rather less than top-notch condition, though our room was comfortable enough, whilst somewhat overdressed. Comfortable bed, acceptable bathroom, though no shower. Good central location, it must be said, and good breakfast, though not rave-worthy. This may be enough to persuade many travellers to book. You... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank christine s
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed in the condition of Newbegin House. I estimate we have spent around £500,000 on renovations and improvements. It will never be like new, as it is a 270 years old listed Georgian house. We would welcome ideas on how it could be further improved. You stayed in the Iveson... More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were warmly welcomed and helped by Kayleigh. Walter and Nuala are charming hosts who ensure your stay is as comfortable as is possible. The very large drawing room was spacious and comfortable with some delightful finishing touches (sherry decanter, biscuits, chocolate sweets and various toiletries. Breakfast was delightful with a good selection of hot - cooked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank chuff2
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind and appreciative review. It was a pleasure to have you staying at Newbegin House. Regards, Walter and Nuala More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the finest breakfasts you will be likely to experience. The porridge - with a splash of fine Malt Whisky, if you wish - will set you up for the day. Comfortable beds, an interesting Georgian house, within walking distance of excellent restaurants and places of interest, on site parking. What more do you want?

Helpful?
Thank De-novo
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you for your eulogistic comments about our B&B, despite which we note that you decided to give us only 4 stars overall. Regards, Walter and |Nuala More 

South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Newbegin house overnight when going to Beverley races. The guesthouse is about a 20 min walk from the racecourse itself. We had a great night, the rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was a delight.

Helpful?
Thank lozza020
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your pithy review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Newbegin House while attending Beverley Races. Regards, Walter and Nuala More 

Lancashire England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a long weekend in this rather grand Georgian house which is so full of character. We were made very welcome by our hosts Walter and Nuala. And yes, as other guests have already mentioned the breakfasts are something special. Walter takes great pride in championing local producers. It all makes for a friendly relaxed stay in a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ludworth
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Beverley and your stay at Newbegin House. Regards, Walter and Nuala More 

Cuffley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights in the Iveson Room at this lovely B&B, which must have the best location in Beverley, being only a minute’s walk from all the shops, restaurants & pubs. It also has plenty of off-street and easily accessible parking – a great boon in Beverley. My husband knows Beverley well, as he went to school there, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank suanro
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your generous and comprehensive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Beverley. We get a lot of visitors who went to school here, and it is great to see them coming back. Regards, Walter and Nuala More 

Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

It's often quite difficult to enjoy an evening out when one of you has to drive home so we opted for a stay in one of our favourite towns - Beverley. We know Beverley quite well and we have passed Newbegin House many times as we have walked from the westwood back into the centre of town. It seemed the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz E
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and for your appreciative comments. Regards, Walter and Nuala More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Two important elements of a b&b are of course the "bed" and the "breakfast". The bed - big, clean, fresh, most comfortable bed i have ever slept in. The breakfast - well thought out extensive choice, cooked and presented to perfection. In my opinion the breakfast could not be improved on, and i think i know why. It is of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your humorous and astute comments. We agree that the essence of a good B&B is a very comfortable bed and a top notch breakfast. The other two essential qualities we look for when we go away are a friendly welcome and first class ablutions. Anything else is a bonus. Regards, Walter and Nuala More 

derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

A friendly welcome when we arrived. Huge, comfortable bed in a large bedroom in this Georgian house in the centre of Beverley with modern ensuite and power shower. Everything had been thought of from fresh milk in the mini-fridge for tea making, to wine glasses and bottleopener, a decanter of port by the bed, and a torch in case of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScotsLassDerby
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your appreciative and detailed comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Regards, Walter and Nuala More 

Stamford UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

My second visit to stay and Newbegin House and just as good as my first a year ago. You experience such a warm and considerate welcome from Walter and Nuala that makes you feel as ease from the moment you step inside this wonderful old house. My mother and I were greeted with locally made fruit cake and a pot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ADH58
Walter S, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review, which is much appreciated. Thank you also for staying with us again. I am delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your stay in Beverley. Regards, Walter More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 17 in Beverley
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Price Range: $66 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing